The eight planets of our Solar System

The eight planets of our Solar System
Download this image: Hi-Res JPEG (2.96 MB) Hi-Res TIFF (7.71 MB)
This picture shows the eight classical planets and the three dwarf planets in the Solar System. Since the resolution at the 26th plenary meeting of the International Astronomical Union (IAU), Pluto is now 'only' a dwarf planet.

Credit: The International Astronomical Union/Martin Kornmesser/DLR.
URL for this article
Related Links
Related News
Why aren't all celestial bodies spherical? (
And then there were eight: astronomers no longer count Pluto as a planet (