Department: Information Technology



Developing and operating complex information technology infrastructure is a key skill essential for the success of sophisticated remote sensing missions and application projects. The Information Technology department (DFD-INF) makes an important contribution by providing software and systems engineering, systems operations, and quality management. The focus is on providing basic services central to the achievements of diverse projects and departments:

  • Data and information management and long-term archiving of remote sensing data
  • User information services and geodata access
  • IT management and engineering
  • Quality management

The department assumes responsibility for the development, integration, and systems operation of the entire order management process and product flow, from data reception to delivery, for national satellite projects. It also performs functions required in common by the entire ground segment, such as IT engineering for subsystems and quality management. TerraSAR-X, TanDEM-X and EnMAP are current examples illustrating this role in satellite missions.

The Data Information and Management System (DIMS), originally developed for national missions, is now also being used in other ground segments and data centers, for example at seven European Space Agency (ESA) locations. This development is a consequence of participation in international projects and is being realized together with a development partner, Werum Software & Systems. In the context of cooperation with EUMETSAT, the European Organization for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites, the Earth Observation Center (EOC) provides ozone maps making use of DIMS technology. The systems are characterized by near-real-time functionality and high availability.

DIMS thus is the software basis for the data management inside the German Satellite Data Archive (D-SDA) - also being operated by the Information Technology department. Looking beyond mission lifetimes the D-SDA ensures sustainable long-term availability and usability of the archived Earth observation data and derived geospatial products.

The core topics addressed by the Information Technology team follow common development lines in order to create sustainable systems solutions. In this development work, particular attention is paid to abstraction, generalization, and reuse.

 


Contact
Eberhard Mikusch
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Information Technology
Tel: +49 8153 28-2721

Fax: +49 8153 28-1448
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5288/10195_read-21913/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Data Management (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8804/15199_read-37552/usetemplate-print/)

Abteilung: Informationstechnik



Die Entwicklung und der Betrieb komplexer informationstechnischer Infrastruktur ist eine Schlüsselkompetenz für die Durchführung anspruchsvoller Fernerkundungsmissionen und Anwendungsprojekte. Die Abteilung Informationstechnik (DFD-INF) leistet hierfür einen wesentlichen Beitrag im Software- und System-Engineering, dem Systembetrieb sowie im Qualitätsmanagement. Dabei liegt der Schwerpunkt auf Kernthemen, die projekt- und abteilungsübergreifend in Wert gesetzt werden:

  • Daten- und Informationsmanagement für Fernerkundungsdaten inkl. Langzeitarchivierung
  • Nutzerinformationsservices und Geodatenzugang
  • IT-Management und IT-Engineering
  • Qualitätsmanagement

So übernimmt die Abteilung Informationstechnik in den nationalen Satellitenprojekten die Verantwortung für die Entwicklung, die Integration und den Systembetrieb der gesamten Bestellverwaltung und des Produktflusses vom Datenempfang bis zur Auslieferung. Zusätzlich werden die Querschnittsfunktionen IT-Engineering für Teilsysteme und das Qualitätsmanagement für das gesamte Bodensegment durchgeführt. TerraSAR-X, TanDEM-X und EnMAP sind aktuelle Beispiele dieser Beteiligungen an Satellitenmissionen.

Das ursprünglich für nationale Missionen etablierte Daten- und Informationsmanagementsystem (DIMS) ist aufgrund von internationalen Projektbeteiligungen zusammen mit dem Entwicklungspartner Werum Software & Systems in weiteren Bodensegmenten und Datenzentren im Einsatz, so z.B. an sieben Standorten der Europäischen Raumfahrtagentur ESA. Im Rahmen der Kooperation mit EUMETSAT, der Europäischen Organisation zur Nutzung von meteorologischen Satelliten, stellt das Earth Observation Center (EOC) auf Basis der DIMS-Technologie Ozonkarten zur Verfügung. Die Systeme zeichnen sich durch Nahe-Echtzeit-Fähigkeit und hohe Verfügbarkeit aus.

DIMS stellt damit die Software-Basis des in der Abteilung Informationstechnik betriebenen Deutschen Satellitendatenarchivs (D-SDA) dar. Mit einem weit über eine Missions- bzw. Projektdauer hinausgehenden Zeithorizont sichert das D-SDA die langfristige Verfügbarkeit und Nutzbarkeit der archivierten Erdbeobachtungsdaten und abgeleiteten Geoinformationsprodukte.

Die Kernthemen der Abteilung Informationstechnik sind dadurch gekennzeichnet, dass zentrale Entwicklungslinien verfolgt werden, um nachhaltige Systemlösungen zu schaffen. Auf Abstraktion, Generalisierung und Wiederverwendbarkeit wird bei der Entwicklung ein spezielles Augenmerk gelegt.

 


Kontakt
Eberhard Mikusch
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Informationstechnik
Tel: +49 8153 28-2721

Fax: +49 8153 28-1448
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5288/10195_read-21913/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Data Management (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8804/15199_read-37552/usetemplate-print/)