Department: Geo-Risks and Civil Security



The research and development work being undertaken by the Civil Crisis Information and Geo-risks department of the German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD) has the goal of developing thematically relevant information products based on earth observation data, integrating them into IT systems, and operating and continuously optimizing customized user services. The focus is on supporting the entire disaster management cycle in cases of environmental and natural threats, humanitarian crisis situations, and civil security emergencies.

  • The thematic products and services are used to make available timely, crisis-relevant information for
  • Emergency response and mapping in crisis situations,
  • Disaster prevention and evaluating geo-risks,
  • Early warning in cases of natural hazards and technology accidents, and
  • Reconstruction measures.

The technical work includes developing new analytical methodologies for working with remote sensing data, using and further developing geoinformation technologies, developing thematic remote sensing processors and monitoring systems, vulnerability and risk modeling, and designing and establishing crisis information and early warning systems. The department’s activities are integrated into national, European and international cooperative efforts and closely coordinated with the relevant user institutions.

Together with other DFD administrative units and with the Remote Sensing Technology Institute (IMF), the department is responsible for operating the Center for Satellite Based Crisis Information (ZKI). It supports the United Nations information platform for disaster aid (UN-SPIDER) and has a major role in developing and implementing the GMES “Emergency Response” service.


Contact
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Günter Strunz
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Geo-Risks and Civil Security
Tel: +49 8153 28-1314

Fax: +49 8153 28-1445

E-Mail: Guenter.Strunz@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5290/9370_read-18028/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Joint Topic: ZKI Service and Operations (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6826/10523_read-23290/usetemplate-print/)
Joint Topic: Remote Sensing Methodologies (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6419/10532_read-23354/usetemplate-print/)
Joint Topic: Geomatics (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6458/10538_read-23365/usetemplate-print/)
Capacity Building (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5332/10530_read-23349/usetemplate-print/)

Abteilung: Georisiken und zivile Sicherheit



Die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten der Abteilung „GeoRisiken und zivile Sicherheit“ des Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrums (DFD) haben zum Ziel, thematisch relevante Informationsprodukte aus Erdbeobachtungsdaten zu entwickeln, diese in informationstechnische Systemlösungen zu integrieren sowie nutzergerechte Lösungen und Services zu betreiben und kontinuierlich weiter zu entwickeln. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf der Unterstützung des gesamten Desastermanagementszykluses bei Umwelt- und Naturgefahren, bei humanitären Krisensituationen sowie zu Fragen der zivilen Sicherheit.

Die thematische Produkte und Services dienen dazu, aktuelle krisenrelevante Informationen bereitzustellen, die benötigt werden für

  • die unmittelbare Krisenreaktion und Notfallkartierung,
  • die Katastrophenvorsorge und Abschätzung von Georisiken,
  • die Frühwarnung bei Naturgefahren und technischen Unfällen und
  • Wiederaufbaumaßnahmen

Die fachlichen Arbeiten umfassen die Entwicklung von neuen Auswerteverfahren für Fernerkundungsdaten, die Nutzung und Weiterentwicklung von Geoinformationstechnologien, die Entwicklung von thematischen Fernerkundungsprozessoren und Monitoringsystemen, die Vulnerabilitäts- und Risikomodellierung sowie die Konzeption und der Aufbau von Kriseninformations- und Frühwarnsystemen. Die Arbeiten der Abteilung sind in nationale, europäische und internationale Kooperationen eingebunden und erfolgen in enger Abstimmung mit den jeweiligen Nutzereinrichtungen.

Die Abteilung betreibt federführend und in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Einrichtungen des DFD und des IMF das Zentrum für satellitengestützte Kriseninformation (ZKI). Sie unterstützt die Informationsplattform der Vereinten Nationen für Katastrophenhilfe (UN-SPIDER) und ist maßgeblich an der Entwicklung und Implementierung des GMES-Service „Emergency Response“ beteiligt.


Kontakt
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Günter Strunz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Georisiken und Zivile Sicherheit
Tel: +49 8153 28-1314

Fax: +49 8153 28-1445

E-Mail: Guenter.Strunz@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5290/9370_read-18028/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Querschnittsthema: ZKI Service und Betrieb (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6826/10523_read-23290/usetemplate-print/)
Querschnittsthema: Fernerkundungs-Methodik (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6419/10532_read-23354/usetemplate-print/)
Querschnittsthema: Geomatik (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6458/10538_read-23365/usetemplate-print/)
Capacity Building (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5332/10530_read-23349/usetemplate-print/)