Gateway to the Antarctic - Science symposium in Punta Arenas commemorates the 20th anniversary of GARS O’Higgins



 Workshop: 20 Years GARS – Conference Center
zum Bild Workshop: 20 Years GARS – Conference Center
.
 Workshop: 20 Years GARS
zum Bild Workshop: 20 Years GARS
.
 Receiving Station O'Higgens
zum Bild Receiving Station O'Higgens
.
 Punta Arenas
zum Bild Punta Arenas

Some 80 scientists from nine countries met November 13-15 in Punta Arenas in Chile for a symposium commemorating the 20th anniversary of the establishment of DLR’s German Antarctic Ground Station.

Since 1991 the German Antarctic Receiving Station GARS O‘Higgins has been operated by DLR’s German Remote Sensing Data Center. Its construction became necessary with the launch of the first European radar satellite in the early 1990s so that high-resolution remote sensing data on the Antarctic could be made available to scientists. In addition to the reception of earth observation data, the station is also used by DLR’s partner, the Federal Agency for Cartography and Geodesy (BKG), to measure the tectonic displacement of the Antarctic Peninsula.

The station is located at the tip of the Antarctic Peninsula, adjacent to the Chilean military base General Bernado O’Higgins. Operation of the station at this extremely remote location would not be possible without the assistance of Chile’s navy, air force and army. DLR is also supported by the Instituto Antarctico Chileno (INACH), Chile’s Antarctic research institute.

At the symposium in Punta Arenas scientists from the fields of geodesy, geophysics, astronomy and earth system research presented their most significant findings and discussed the potential of the station and how it could be used in the future. At present, it is being operated year round by DLR primarily for the current TanDEM-X mission.

“Punta Arenas was always the gateway to the Antarctic, and our most important partners are located here. This event emphasizes the significance of our cooperation with Chile, which we hope to intensify. Besides polar research there is interest here in the areas of early warning of natural disasters and maritime services. In both Santiago de Chile and Punta Arenas we held pertinent discussions which are very promising,” reported Professor Stefan Dech, Director of the German Remote Sensing Data Center.

 Workshop: 20 Years GARS - Participants
zum Bild Workshop: 20 Years GARS - Participants
 
 Workshop: 20 Years GARS - All Participants
zum Bild Workshop: 20 Years GARS - All Participants

Contact
Nils Sparwasser
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Science Communication and Visualization
Tel: +49 8153 28-1316

Fax: +49 8153 28-1313

E-Mail: Nils.Sparwasser@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7218/12014_read-32762/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.gars-ohiggins.info

Das Tor zur Antarktis - Wissenschaftliches Symposium zum 20-jährigen Jubiläum von GARS O’Higgins in Punta Arenas



 

 Workshop 20 Jahre GARS - Konferenzgebäude
zum Bild Workshop 20 Jahre GARS - Konferenzgebäude
 
.
 Workshop 20 Jahre GARS
zum Bild Workshop 20 Jahre GARS
 
.
 Empfangsstation O'Higgens
zum Bild Empfangsstation O'Higgens
 
.
 Punta Arenas
zum Bild Punta Arenas
                                                                         
 

Rund 80 Wissenschaftler aus neun Ländern treffen sich vom 13.-15. November in Punta Arenas in Chile anlässlich eines Symposiums zum 20-jährigen Jubiläum der deutschen Antarktis-Bodenstation des DLR.

Seit 1991 wird die German Antarctic Receiving Station GARS O‘Higgins vom Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum des DLR betrieben. Mit dem Start der ersten europäischen Radarsatelliten Anfang der 1990er Jahre wurde der Aufbau der Station erforderlich. Nur so konnten auch hochaufgelöste Fernerkundungsdaten über der Antarktis für die Forschung gewonnen werden. Neben dem Empfang von Erdbeobachtungsdaten dient die Station auch zur Messung tektonischer Verschiebungen der antarktischen Halbinsel. Kooperationspartner des DLR ist das Bundesamt für Kartographie und Geodäsie, BKG, das die diesbezüglichen Messungen verantwortet.

Die Station befindet sich auf der Spitze der Antarktischen Halbinsel, in enger Nachbarschaft zu der chilenischen Militärbasis General Bernado O’Higgins. Ohne die Hilfe der chilenischen Partner von Marine, Luftwaffe und Heer, wäre der Betrieb der Station an diesem sehr schwer zugänglichen Ort nicht möglich. Zusätzliche wird das DLR durch das chilenische Antarktisforschungsinstitut INACH unterstützt.

Auf dem Symposium in Punta Arenas stellen Wissenschaftler aus Geodäsie, Geophysik, Astronomie und Erdsystemforschung ihre wichtigsten Forschungsergebnisse vor und diskutieren über die zukünftigen Perspektiven und Nutzungsmöglichkeiten der Station. Derzeit wird die Station vom DLR hauptsächlich für die aktuelle TanDEM-X Mission genutzt und ganzjährig betrieben.

„Punta Arenas war schon immer das Tor in die Antarktis, hier sind unsere wichtigsten Partner. Die Veranstaltung unterstreicht die Bedeutung unserer Kooperation mit Chile, die wir in Zukunft weiter ausbauen wollen. Neben der Polarforschung besteht hier Interesse auf dem Gebiet der Frühwarnung bei Naturkatastrophen und für maritime Dienste. Hierzu haben wir in Santiago de Chile als auch in Punta Arenas vielversprechende Gespräche führen können“, sagt Professor Stefan Dech, Direktor des Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrums.
 

 Workshop 20 Jahre GARS - Gruppenbild
zum Bild Workshop 20 Jahre GARS - Gruppenbild
                                                                                                      
 
 Workshop 20 Jahre GARS - Großes Gruppenbild
zum Bild Workshop 20 Jahre GARS - Großes Gruppenbild
                                                                                                     

 


Kontakt
Nils Sparwasser
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Wissenschaftskommunikation und Visualisierung
Tel: +49 8153 28-1316

Fax: +49 8153 28-1313

E-Mail: Nils.Sparwasser@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7218/12014_read-32762/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.gars-ohiggins.info