On call: Satellite Data for Emergency Response

January 22, 2013

 Cooperation Agreement for the Center for Satellite Based Crisis Information
zum Bild Cooperation Agreement for the Center for Satellite Based Crisis Information
.
 State Secretary Rogall-Grothe
zum Bild State Secretary Rogall-Grothe
.
 Refugee Camp JORDAN Al Zaatari
zum Bild Refugee Camp JORDAN Al Zaatari
From the research stage to full operation – The Center for Satellite Based Crisis Information (ZKI) is now on call around the clock. This service facility established in 2004 provides up-to-the minute satellite-based maps for activities related to natural and environmental disasters, humanitarian aid, and civil security worldwide. On 22 January 2013 the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in cooperation with the Federal Ministry of the Interior (BMI) officially launched regular ZKI operations.

“Civilian earth observation satellites, like our TerraSAR-X and TanDEM-X radar satellites, continuously supply data of a quality which makes possible entirely new applications. For example, oil films on the ocean, flooded areas, slope collapse and damage to buildings can be mapped from space. ZKI provides these services for institutions like the Federal Office of Civil Protection and Disaster Assistance, Germany's disaster aid organization THW, and the German Red Cross”, according to Prof. Johann-Dietrich Wörner, chairman of the DLR executive board.

In this way, ZKI meets long term the growing need of public authorities for timely geoinformation, especially in the areas of civil protection and emergency services. The satellite-based maps generated for these purposes are made available to the public free of charge.

The first map of a refugee camp in Jordan

“Satellite-based maps can show where risks lurk, simplify logistic planning and thus facilitate rapid response by helpers. Precise planning is vital for the affected population, because timely action is of utmost importance during a crisis. By cooperating with ZKI we want to save time for our rapid response teams as well as support efficient, state-of-the-art planning of emergency operations”, explained BMI State Secretary Cornelia Rogall-Grothe.

The first request under the framework of the cooperation agreement has already been met by ZKI. Because of the continuing conflict in Syria, over 40,000 refugees have now arrived at Jordan’s Al Zaatari refugee camp and this number grows every day. In early January, heavy rainfall caused flooding and destruction in the camp. In order to precisely document the situation, ZKI immediately prepared on behalf of THW a damage assessment and satellite images for the purpose of optimally coordinating the work of the emergency response teams.


The latest research results

“ZKI is a service of DLR’s German Remote Sensing Data Center. We are the only institution in Germany capable of receiving earth observation data from a wide variety of sources and immediately turning them into information products. That saves valuable time. Since ZKI is embedded in our research environment it is also able to immediately apply our latest developments”, said Prof. Stefan Dech, Director of the German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD) and spokesman for DLR’s Earth Observation Center, which encompasses DFD and the Remote Sensing Technology Institute.

ZKI staff are ready around the clock to obtain, process and analyze satellite data – not only to assist emergency response efforts after civil disasters, but also to prevent and follow-up disasters and to support public administrative duties, like preparing for major events. ZKI also offers training courses and develops remote-sensing-based services tailored to specific needs.

Benefitters of the current framework agreement are national level political decision makers, situation centers and aid organizations. Services can however be made available to other organizations as well, and the first institution has already joined, namely the German Red Cross.

 ZKI Service Lab
zum Bild ZKI Service Lab




Contact
Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Director DFD
Tel: +49 8153 28-2885

Fax: +49 8153 28-3444

E-Mail: Stefan.Dech@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8297/14218_read-36091/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.zki.dlr.de/article/2268
http://www.bmi.bund.de/EN/Home/startseite_node.html
http://www.zki.dlr.de/

Auf Abruf: Satellitendaten für Notfallmanagement

22. Januar 2013

 Kooperationsvertrag für das Zentrum für satellitengestützte Kriseninformation
zum Bild Kooperationsvertrag für das Zentrum für satellitengestützte Kriseninformation
.
 Frau Staatssekretärin Rogall-Grothe
zum Bild Frau Staatssekretärin Rogall-Grothe
.
 Kartierung: Flüchtlingscamp in Jordanien
zum Bild Kartierung: Flüchtlingscamp in Jordanien
Von der Forschung in den Regelbetrieb – Das Zentrum für satellitengestützte Kriseninformation (ZKI) steht ab sofort im operativen Dienst. Zu den Aufgaben der seit 2004 etablierten Service-Einrichtung gehört die Bereitstellung von hochaktuellen Satellitenbildkarten bei Natur- und Umweltkatastrophen, für humanitäre Hilfsaktivitäten und die zivile Sicherheit weltweit. Am 22. Januar 2013 gaben das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und das Bundesministerium des Innern (BMI) den offiziellen Startschuss für die Kooperation zum Regelbetrieb des ZKI.
„Zivile Erdbeobachtungssatelliten, wie unsere Radarsatelliten TerraSAR-X und TanDEM-X liefern kontinuierlich Daten in einer Qualität, die ganz neue Anwendungen ermöglicht. So lassen sich Ölfilme auf dem Meer, Überflutungsflächen, Hangrutschungen und Gebäudeschäden aus dem All kartieren. Das ZKI erschließt diese Fähigkeiten für Einrichtungen, wie etwa das Bundesamt für Bevölkerungsschutz und Katastrophenhilfe, das Technische Hilfswerk und das Deutsche Rote Kreuz“, so Prof. Dr. Johann-Dietrich Wörner, Vorstandsvorsitzender des DLR.

Das ZKI deckt damit langfristig den steigenden Bedarf an aktuellen Geoinformationen in der öffentlichen Verwaltung, insbesondere in den Bereichen Bevölkerungsschutz und Notfallmanagment. Die dabei erstellten Satellitenbildkarten werden der Öffentlichkeit frei zugänglich gemacht.

Erste Kartierung: Flüchtlingscamp in Jordanien

„Satellitengestützte Karten können Risikoquellen aufzeigen, logistische Planungen vereinfachen und so schnelle Reaktionen der Helfer ermöglichen. Eine passgenaue Planung ist lebenswichtig für die betroffene Bevölkerung, denn im Krisenfall ist Zeit das wichtigste Gut. Durch die Kooperation mit dem ZKI wollen wir für unsere Einsatzkräfte Zeit gewinnen und eine moderne und leistungsfähige Einsatzplanung unterstützen“, sagt BMI-Staatssekretärin Cornelia Rogall-Grothe.

Die erste Anfrage im Rahmen des Kooperationsvertrags hat das ZKI bereits umgesetzt: Aufgrund der anhaltenden Konflikte in Syrien, sind im jordanischen Flüchtlingslager Al Zaatari bereits über 40.000 Flüchtlinge angekommen und täglich werden es mehr. Starke Regenfälle führten Anfang Januar zu Überflutungen und Zerstörungen im Camp. Zur genauen Situationserfassung erstellte das ZKI, im Auftrag des Technischen Hilfswerks, umgehend Schadensanalysen und Satellitenbildkarten – für eine optimale Koordinierung der Notfalleinsatzkräfte.

Neueste Entwicklungen aus der Forschung

„Das ZKI ist ein Service des Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrums im DLR. Als einzige Einrichtung in Deutschland können wir Erdbeobachtungsdaten verschiedenster Herkunft empfangen und unmittelbar zu Datenprodukten veredeln. Das spart wertvolle Zeit. Durch die Einbettung des ZKI in unser Forschungsumfeld bringen wir darüber hinaus die neuesten Entwicklungen direkt in die Anwendung“, erklärt Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech, Direktor des Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrums (DFD) und Sprecher des DLR-Erdbeobachtungszentrums, zu dem neben dem DFD auch das Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung gehört.

Im ZKI stehen Mitarbeiter rund um die Uhr für die Beschaffung, Aufbereitung und Analyse von Satellitendaten bereit – nicht nur zur Unterstützung des Notfallmanagments nach zivilen Krisen, sondern auch für die Vorsorge und die Nachbereitung von Krisenereignissen sowie zur Unterstützung öffentlicher Verwaltungsaufgaben, etwa der Vorbereitung von Großereignissen. Zudem bietet das ZKI Schulungen an und entwickelt auf die Anwender zugeschnittene fernerkundungsbasierte Dienstleistungen.

Nutzer aus dem aktuellen Rahmenvertrag sind nationale politische Entscheidungsträger, Lagezentren sowie Hilfsorganisationen. Die Kooperation ist auch für die Beteiligung weiterer Organisationen offen. So ist als erste Institution bereits das Deutsche Rote Kreuz beigetreten.

 Blick in das ZKI Service Lab
zum Bild Blick in das ZKI Service Lab




Kontakt
Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Leitung DFD
Tel: +49 8153 28-2885

Fax: +49 8153 28-3444

E-Mail: Stefan.Dech@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8297/14218_read-36091/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.zki.dlr.de/de/article/2273
http://www.bmi.bund.de/DE/Home/startseite_node.html
http://www.zki.dlr.de/de