Help from Space - TerraSAR-X maps pack ice



 
 Position des russischen Forschungsschiffs
zum Bild Position des russischen Forschungsschiffs

For ten days, 74 scientists and tourists were firmly stuck in the Antarctic on board the Russian research vessel Akademik Shokalskiy. Strong winds had driven ice floes into a bay and blocked the ship. Near-real-time data from EOC helped those on the spot to evaluate the situation.

The pack ice situation can rapidly change because of shifting wind directions. So scientists at DLR use high resolution data from the TerraSAR-X (TSX) satellite to provide ship crews with up-to-date information about ice conditions. Over a 30 km swath with resolutions down to 3 metres, this German radar satellite can constantly survey the ocean and sea ice through the clouds, day and night, from an altitude of some 500 km.

In the case of Akademik Shokalskiy, TSX images were processed in so-called near-real-time mode at the DFD ground station in Neustrelitz—just one hour after the scene was recorded over the Antarctic. Researchers at the DLR Microwaves and Radar Institute arranged to have the trapped research vessel recorded by TSX on 1 January 2014. The ship was detected with the help of software from DLR’s maritime research team in Bremen. Sea ice researchers from the Alfred Wegener Institute and EOC analysed the images and forwarded the results to the Emergency Response Division of the Australian Maritime Safety Authority.

The radar images show new ice (dark area) in the west, strongly deformed around the Akademik Shokalskiy (in the bright area). Large floes of less deformed ice can also be seen west of the ship. There is open water to the northeast.

The Chinese icebreaker Xue Long eventually arrived to help the Akademik Shokalskiy. But it only came within view of the immovable ship before it too was held fast by the ice. On 3 January 2014 the passengers on the Russian research vessel were flown out with a helicopter from the Xue Long to the Australian icebreaker Aurora Australis, which awaited them in open water. The two immovable icebreakers were left to wait until improved weather and wind conditions allowed them to free themselves from the pack ice.

 


Contact
Dr.rer.nat. Susanne Lehner
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Remote Sensing Technology Institute
, SAR Signal Processing
Tel: +49 421 24420-1850

Fax: +49 421 5970-2421

E-Mail: Susanne.Lehner@dlr.de
Nils Sparwasser
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Science Communication and Visualization
Tel: +49 8153 28-1316

Fax: +49 8153 28-1313

E-Mail: Nils.Sparwasser@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5258/15811_read-39066/

Hilfe aus dem All - TerraSAR-X kartiert Packeis



 
 Position des russischen Forschungsschiffs
zum Bild Position des russischen Forschungsschiffs

Zehn Tage steckten 74 Wissenschaftler und Touristen an Bord des russischen Forschungsschiffs Akademik Shokalskiy in der Antarktis fest. Starker Wind hatte Eisschollen in eine Bucht getrieben und das Schiff blockiert. Near-Realtime Daten des EOC halfen bei der Beurteilung der Eissituation vor Ort.
Die Verhältnisse können sich im Packeis durch drehende Winde rasch verändern. Deshalb nutzen Wissenschaftler des DLR hochauflösende Aufnahmen des TerraSAR-X (TSX) Satelliten, um Schiffsbesatzungen aktuelle Informationen über Eisverhältnisse zu liefern. Der deutsche Radarsatellit kann aus einer Höhe von etwa 500 km den Ozean und das Meereis durch Wolken und bei Dunkelheit mit einer Streifenbreite von 30 km und einer Auflösung von bis zu 3 Metern operationell erkunden.

Im Fall der Akademik Shokalskiy wurden im sogenannten Near Real Time Mode TSX-Bilder in naher Echtzeit an der Bodenstation des DFD in Neustrelitz prozessiert – nur eine Stunde nach Aufnahme der Szene über der Antarktis. Forscher des Instituts für Hochfrequenztechnik des DLR hatten das festsitzende Forschungsschiff am 01.01.2014 von TSX aufnehmen lassen. Die Schiffe wurden mit der Software der maritimen Forschungsstelle des DLR in Bremen detektiert. Meereisforscher des AWI und des EOC analysierten die Bilder und leiteten die Ergebnisse an die Emergency Response Division der Australian Maritime Safety Authority weiter.

Radaraufnahmen zeigen im Westen einjähriges Eis (dunklere Fläche), welches rund um die Akademik Shokalskiy stark deformiert (helle Area) ist, außerdem sieht man größeren Schollen weniger deformierten Eises westlich vom Schiff. Im Nordosten befindet sich offenes Wasser.

Der Akademik Shokalskiy kam schließlich der chinesische Eisbrecher, Xue Long, zur Hilfe. Doch das Schiff kam nur bis auf Sichtweite an das festsitzende Schiff heran. Dann wurde auch dieser Eisbrecher vom Eis eingeschlossen. Die Passagiere des russischen Forschungsschiffs wurden am 3.1.2014 mit einem Helikopter der Xue Long zu dem australischem Eisbrecher Aurora Australis ausgeflogen, der auf dem offenen Meer wartete. Die festsitzenden Eisbrecher warten nun auf günstigere Wetter- und Wind-Bedingungen, um sich aus dem Packeis zu befreien.


Kontakt
Dr.rer.nat. Susanne Lehner
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung
, SAR-Signalverarbeitung
Tel: +49 421 24420-1850

Fax: +49 421 5970-2421

E-Mail: Susanne.Lehner@dlr.de
Nils Sparwasser
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Wissenschaftskommunikation und Visualisierung
Tel: +49 8153 28-1316

Fax: +49 8153 28-1313

E-Mail: Nils.Sparwasser@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5258/15811_read-39066/