German-Norwegian Cooperation in Earth Observation

12 February 2014

 Rolf Skatteboe and Prof. Stefan Dech signing the corresponding memorandum
zum Bild Rolf Skatteboe and Prof. Stefan Dech signing the corresponding memorandum

DLR’s German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD) and the Kongsberg Satellite Services (KSAT) company, Norway, will collaborate even more closely in the future. On 10 February 2014 a corresponding memorandum of understanding was signed in Oberpfaffenhofen near Munich.

This formalized cooperation between the two institutions is particularly intended to create synergies in the operation of their respective polar receiving stations. KSAT operates in Spitzbergen the largest and most northerly Arctic ground station facility worldwide for receiving earth observation data, the Svalbard Satellite Station (SvalSat). The DFD ground station in Inuvik, in the Canadian Arctic, can complement SvalSat.

 KSAT Svalbard Satellite Station (SvalSat)
zum Bild KSAT Svalbard Satellite Station (SvalSat)

Working together, the two stations gain access to a considerably increased reception area and additional options for satellite contact. This makes it possible to transfer larger amounts of data, to control the satellites more often, and to employ them with more flexibility.

During his visit to DFD Mr. Rolf Skatteboe, CEO of KSAT, stressed the many areas of activity common to both DFD and KSAT. Professor Stefan Dech, Director of DFD, added, “The possibilities and opportunities arising through cooperation with KSAT are very important for us and open up new prospects for both partners”.

 DFD Ground Station Inuvik
zum Bild DFD Ground Station Inuvik

The DFD and KSAT Antarctic ground stations are also to be jointly used during missions. DFD operates a ground station on the Antarctic Peninsula near Chile’s “General Bernado O’Higgins” station. KSAT’s “Troll” station is located on a Nunatak, an exposed rock breaching an ice sheet, in Queen Maud Land. The European facilities operated by KSAT in Tromsö and DFD in Neustrelitz will also expand their cooperation regarding operational and near real-time services in the context of the Copernicus Earth Observation program.

 KSAT Troll Satellite Station (TrollSat)
zum Bild KSAT Troll Satellite Station (TrollSat)
 DFD Station GARS-O’Higgins
zum Bild DFD Station GARS-O’Higgins

 




Contact
Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Director DFD
Tel: +49 8153 28-2885

Fax: +49 8153 28-3444

E-Mail: Stefan.Dech@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5258/15811_read-39359/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.ksat.no/node/73

Deutsch-Norwegische Erdbeobachtungs-Kooperation

12. Februar 2014

 Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech (rechts) und Rolf Skatteboe (links) bei der Unterzeichnung des Memorandum of Understanding
zum Bild Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech (rechts) und Rolf Skatteboe (links) bei der Unterzeichnung des Memorandum of Understanding

Das Deutsche Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum (DFD) des DLR und die Firma Kongsberg Satellite Services (KSAT), Norwegen, werden zukünftig enger zusammenarbeiten. Am 10.02.2014 wurde in Oberpfaffenhofen bei München ein entsprechendes Memorandum of Understanding unterzeichnet.
Durch die Kooperation der beiden Einrichtungen sollen insbesondere Synergien beim Betrieb der polaren Empfangsstationen geschaffen werden. KSAT betreibt in Spitzbergen (SvalSat) den weltweit größten und am nördlichsten gelegenen Bodenstationskomplex für den Empfang von Erdbeobachtungsdaten. Die Bodenstation des DFD in der kanadischen Arktis, in Inuvik, kann SvalSat ergänzen.

 DFD-Bodenstation Inuvik in der kanadischen Arktis
zum Bild DFD-Bodenstation Inuvik in der kanadischen Arktis

Gemeinsam verfügen die beiden Stationen über einen stark erweiterten Empfangsbereich und zusätzliche Satellitenkontakte. Dadurch können größere Datenmengen übertragen und Satelliten zeitnah gesteuert und flexibler eingesetzt werden.
Der CEO von KSAT, Rolf Skatteboe, betonte bei seinem Besuch im DFD die Vielzahl der Berührungspunkte zwischen dem DFD und KSAT. Professor Stefan Dech, Direktor des DFD, ergänzte: „Die Möglichkeiten und Chancen in der Zusammenarbeit mit KSAT sind für uns von großer Bedeutung und eröffnen für beiden Partner neue Perspektiven“.

Auch die antarktischen Bodenstationen des DFD und von KSAT sollen gemeinsam für Missionen genutzt werden.

 KSAT Svalbard Satellite Station (SvalSat)
zum Bild KSAT Svalbard Satellite Station (SvalSat)

Das DFD betreibt eine Bodenstation auf der antarktischen Halbinsel nahe der chilenischen Station „General Bernado O’Higgins“. Die Station „Troll“ von KSAT liegt auf einer Felsinsel, einem Nunatak, in Königin-Maud-Land. Darüber hinaus werden die von KSAT und DFD betriebenen europäischen Einrichtungen in Tromsö und Neustrelitz für operationelle sowie für Nahe-Echtzeit-Dienste im Rahmen des Erdbeobachtungsprogrammes Copernicus enger zusammenarbeiten.

 DFD - Antarktis Station GARS-O’Higgins
zum Bild DFD - Antarktis Station GARS-O’Higgins
 Die Station „Troll“ von KSAT
zum Bild Die Station „Troll“ von KSAT


 




Kontakt
Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Leitung DFD
Tel: +49 8153 28-2885

Fax: +49 8153 28-3444

E-Mail: Stefan.Dech@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5258/15811_read-39359/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.ksat.no/node/73