The Remote Sensing Technology Institute (IMF)



The EOC building in Oberpfaffenhofen

The Remote Sensing Technology Institute (IMF)

The Remote Sensing Technology Institute (IMF) is an institute of the German Aerospace Center DLR. It is located in Oberpfaffenhofen (near Munich), Berlin, and Neustrelitz (Mecklenburg-Vorpommern). IMF and the German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD) together comprise the Earth Observation Center EOC – a center of competence for earth observation in Germany.

Core competence of IMF

Research and development activities at IMF are dedicated to remote sensing technology. Algorithms and methods are developed to configure processors that extract relevant geoinformation from remote sensing data. Operational processors are the prerequisite for optimal utilization of modern sensor systems for advanced scientific purposes and numerous applications. These processors are integrated into the payload ground segments of DFD and industry for national and international earth observation missions.

IMF focuses on:

  • Remote sensing with Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR)
  • Imaging with optical sensors
  • Atmospheric spectrometry.

MF manages the air-based optical sensor suite of the EOC. The capabilities of the IMF calibration and spectrometry labs provide the basis for optimal use of remote sensing data. IMF’s expertise finds its way into the conception of various new sensor systems and earth operation missions.

Organizational structure

IMF is subdivided into five departments:

Atmospheric Processors (ATP) Head: Prof. Thomas Trautmann
Photogrammetry and Image Analysis (PBA)     Head: Prof. Peter Reinartz
Experimental Methods (EXV) Head: Dr. Peter Haschberger
SAR Signal Processing (SAR) Head: Prof. Michael Eineder

The Controlling department (EOC-CON, headed by Dipl.-Forstwirt Hans-Henning Voß) is a central service unit for both IMF and DFD.
The institute is ISO9001:2008 certified.

Education of young academics is a major concern of IMF. In DLR’s School_Lab students are introduced to various aspects of remote sensing. Bachelor and master’s theses can be produced during hands-on participation in ongoing projects, and PhD students can work on attractive scientific problems. IMF scientists lecture at several universities, and the director of the institute holds a chair at Munich Technical University (TUM).


Contact
Prof. Dr. Richard Bamler
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
Remote Sensing Technology Institute
, Director IMF
Tel: +49 8153 28-2673

Fax: +49 8153 28-1420

E-Mail: Richard.Bamler@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5279/8913_read-16239/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
IMF Status Report 2007-2013 (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/Portaldata/60/Resources/dokumente/1_clu/Statusbericht_IMF_2007-2013_Teil_1.pdf)
IMF Institute Brochure (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/Portaldata/60/Resources/dokumente/1_clu/imf_folder_en.pdf)

Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung (IMF)



Das EOC-Gebäude in Oberpfaffenhofen

Das Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung (IMF) ist ein Institut des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) mit Standorten in Oberpfaffenhofen bei München, Berlin-Adlershof und Neustrelitz. Zusammen mit dem Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum (DFD) bildet das IMF das Earth Observation Center EOC – das Kompetenzzentrum für Erdbeobachtung in Deutschland.

 

Kernkompetenzen des IMF

Das IMF betreibt Forschung und Entwicklung auf dem Gebiet der Fernerkundungstechnologien. Wir entwickeln Algorithmen und Methoden, um Software-Prozessoren zu konfigurieren, die relevante Geo-Information aus Fernerkundungsdaten extrahieren. Automatisierte Prozessoren sind die Voraussetzung zur optimalen Nutzung moderner Sensorsysteme für Wissenschaft und Anwendungen. Die Prozessoren werden in Nutzlast-Bodensegmente des DFD und der Industrie für nationale und internationale Erdbeobachtungsmissionen integriert.

Das IMF setzt drei technologische Schwerpunkte:

  • Fernerkundung mit Synthetik-Apertur-Radar (SAR)
  • Abbildende optische Fernerkundung
  • Atmosphärenspektrometrie

Das IMF betreibt die flugzeuggestützte optische Sensorsuite des Erdbeobachtungszentrums. Die Kalibrier- und Spektrometrielabore des IMF liefern die Basis für den bestmöglichen Einsatz von Fernerkundungsdaten. Mit seiner Expertise ist das Institut ein gesuchter Partner bei der Konzeption neuer Sensorsysteme und Erdbeobachtungsmissionen.

Das IMF gliedert sich in folgende Fachabteilungen:

 

Atmosphärenprozessoren (ATP) Leiter: Prof. Dr. Thomas Trautmann
Photogrammetrie und Bildanalyse (PBA)     Leiter: Prof. Dr. Peter Reinartz
Experimentelle Verfahren (EXV) Leiter: Dr. Peter Haschberger
SAR Signalverarbeitung (SAR) Leiter: Prof. Dr. Michael Eineder

Die Abteilung Controlling EOC-CON (Leiter Dipl.-Forstwirt Hans-Henning Voß) ist als Zentralfunktion für beide Institute des EOC tätig.

Ein besonderes Anliegen ist die Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses. Schülerinnen und Schüler werden im DLR_School_Lab an Themen der Erdbeobachtung herangeführt. Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten können hands-on in aktuellen Projekten durchgeführt und attraktive wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen in Doktorarbeiten bearbeitet werden. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des IMF lehren an Hochschulen, der Direktor des Instituts leitet einen Lehrstuhl an der Technischen Universität München.
Das Institut ist nach ISO9001:2008 zertifiziert.


Kontakt
Prof. Dr. Richard Bamler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung
, Leitung IMF
Tel: +49 8153 28-2673

Fax: +49 8153 28-1420

E-Mail: Richard.Bamler@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5279/8913_read-16239/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
IMF-Statusbericht 2007-2013 (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/Portaldata/60/Resources/dokumente/1_clu/Statusbericht_IMF_2007-2013_Teil_1.pdf)
IMF Instituts- Broschüre (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/Portaldata/60/Resources/dokumente/1_clu/imf_folder_ge.pdf)