Department: National Ground Segment



 

German Remote Sensing Data Center, Neustrelitz

The acquisition, processing and archiving of payload data from remote sensing and small-satellite science missions is handled by DFD’s National Ground Segment department in Neustrelitz. This work is undertaken as part of the German space program, commissioned by ESA or industry, or carried out in cooperation with international space agencies. In addition, the ground segment supports the German Space Operations Center by providing satellite command services, and it functions as a backup station for selected missions. Other responsibilities include the near-real-time processing of acquired data, which includes generating and distributing thematic information products, and operating the Calibration and Validation Test Site DEMMIN.
The Neustrelitz ground segment department employs engineers, physicists, mathematicians and technicians, most of whom are engaged in research and development. During more than 45 years of ground station operations the range of activity could be continuously expanded and further developed. Work focuses on the following areas:

  • A permanent acquisition station for small earth observation and science satellites
  • Automated round-the-clock operation of mission processing and archiving centres, (PAC), including near-real-time processing and data distribution
  • Development of hardware components and software tools for acquiring, processing and archiving satellite data

Mastery of the entire chain from data acquisition to processing and final distribution makes high quality, homogenised data sets, free of systems artefacts and with high information content, quickly available to users through streamlined access procedures. User consultations and training play a large role. The National Ground Segment Department currently participates in over 10 national and international missions, including functioning as an ESA Earthnet receiving station for European earth observations missions, and it cooperates closely with a multitude of science and commercial partners and public authorities. Close cooperation among various DLR institutes and locations is also cultivated. For example, together with the Institute of Communication and Navigation in Neustrelitz the National Ground Segment operates the space weather service SWACI and works with the Neustrelitz Maritime Safety Research Department to facilitate safe maritime traffic and to protect the oceans. Also in the area of maritime safety there is close cooperation with the Remote Sensing Technology Institute team at the Bremen Maritime Safety Research Department.

Core expertise

  • Designing and configuring components and processing chains for data reception
  • Developing station software for monitoring and controlling tasks
  • Designing and implementing test and simulation systems
  • Planning and assembling real-time processing systems
  • Constant operation of a real-time data centre in a multi-mission scenario 365 days/year, 24 hours/day
  • Validation campaigns for terrestrial and maritime applications
  • Management of earth observation data and long-term data archiving in the German Satellite Data Archive, a distributed system located at DFD in Oberpfaffenhofen and Neustrelitz

Teams

  • Ground Stations
  • Data Management
  • Real-time Systems Operations
  • DEMMIN Calibration and Validation Facility
  • Maritime Safety Research Department

 


Contact
Holger Maass
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center
, National Ground Segment
Tel: +49 3981 480-111

Fax: +49 3981 480-299

E-Mail: Holger.Maass@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5287/10253_read-21996/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10260/370_read-8240#gallery/12329
http://www.d-gmes.de/
http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth/Copernicus
http://www.copernicus.eu/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Copernicus. The European Earth Observation Programme
Global Monitoring for Environment and Security (GMES) (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5367/9013_read-16792/usetemplate-print/)

Abteilung: Nationales Bodensegment



 

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum, Neustrelitz

In der Abteilung Nationales Bodensegment in Neustrelitz wird der Datenempfang, die Prozessierung sowie die Archivierung für Nutzlastdaten von Fernerkundungsmissionen und wissenschaftlichen Kleinsatellitenmissionen durchgeführt. Dies erfolgt zum Teil im nationalen Auftrag, aber auch im Auftrag der ESA, der Industrie und in Kooperation mit internationalen Raumfahrt-Agenturen. Darüber hinaus unterstützt das Bodensegment das Raumfahrtkontrollzentrum bei der Kommandierung von Satelliten und steht als Backup-Station für weitere Missionen zur Verfügung. Weitere Aufgaben umfassen die NRT (nahe Echtzeit)-Prozessierung der empfangenen Daten einschließlich der Erstellung und Verteilung von thematischen Informationsprodukten sowie der Betrieb des Kalibrations- und Validationsstandortes DEMMIN.

In der Abteilung Nationales Bodensegment in Neustrelitz sind Ingenieure, Physiker, Mathematiker und Techniker beschäftigt, von denen die meisten in den Bereichen Forschung und Entwicklung tätig sind. Bestehende Arbeitsgebiete konnten in über 45 Jahren Bodenstationsbetrieb kontinuierlich entwickelt werden. Das Aufgabenspektrum umfasst folgende Schwerpunkte:

  • Permanente Empfangsstation für Fernerkundungs- und wissenschaftliche Kleinsatelliten
  • Automatisierter, operationeller Betrieb von Missions-PACs (Prozessier- und Archivzentren) incl. NRT (nahe Echtzeit)- Verarbeitung und Datenauslieferung
  • Entwicklung von Hardware-Komponenten und Software-Tools zum Empfang, zur Verarbeitung und Archivierung von Satellitendaten

Durch die Beherrschung der gesamten Kette von der Datenakquisition über die Datenverarbeitung bis hin zur Verteilung werden dem Nutzer systembereinigte, qualitativ hochwertige, homogenisierte Datensätze mit hohem Informationsgehalt schnell und mittels einfacher Zugriffsprozeduren zugänglich gemacht. Dabei spielt auch die Beratung und Schulung der Nutzer eine große Rolle. Die Abteilung Nationales Bodensegment ist gegenwärtig an mehr als 10 nationalen und internationalen Missionen beteiligt, u.a. als Empfangsstation des ESA Earthnet für europäische Fernerkundungsmissionen, und kooperiert dabei eng mit einer Vielzahl wissenschaftlicher und kommerzieller Partner und Behörden. Auch DLR-intern wird eine enge, instituts- und standortübergreifende Zusammenarbeit gepflegt. Gemeinsam mit dem Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation (IKN) am Standort Neustrelitz betreibt das Nationale Bodensegment z.B. den Weltraumwetter-Service SWACI und arbeitet für eine sichere Schifffahrt und den Schutz der Meere in der Forschungsstelle Maritime Sicherheit Neustrelitz. Ebenfalls im Bereich Maritime Sicherheit besteht eine enge Kooperation mit dem Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung (IMF) an der Forschungsstelle Bremen.

Kernkompetenzen

  • Konzeption und Aufbau von Empfangskomponenten und -ketten
  • Entwicklung von Stationssoftware für Monitor und Control-Aufgaben
  • Design und Implementierung von Test- und Simulationssystemen
  • Konzeption und Aufbau von echtzeitfähigen Prozessierungssystemen
  • Operationeller Betrieb Echtzeitdatenzentrum in einem Multimissionsszenario 365 Tage/Jahr, 24 Stunden/Tag
  • Validationskampagnen für terrestrische und maritime Anwendungen
  • Verwaltung von Erdbeobachtungsdaten und Langzeitarchivierung im Deutschen Satellitendatenarchiv (D-SDA), einem auf die DFD-Standorte Oberpfaffenhofen und Neustrelitz verteilten System

Organisationseinheiten

  • Bodenstationen
  • Datenmanagement
  • Systembetrieb Echtzeitsysteme
  • Kalibrations- und Validationseinrichtung DEMMIN
  • Forschungsstelle Maritime Sicherheit

 


Kontakt
Holger Maass
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Nationales Bodensegment
Tel: +49 3981 480-111

Fax: +49 3981 480-299

E-Mail: Holger.Maass@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5287/10253_read-21996/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10260/370_read-8240#gallery/12329
http://www.d-gmes.de/
http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth/Copernicus
http://www.copernicus.eu/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Copernicus. Das Europäische Erdbeobachtungsprogramm
Global Monitoring for Environment and Security (GMES) (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5367/9013_read-16792/usetemplate-print/)