Department: Atmosphere



 

Research and Development

The Atmosphere department (DFD-ATM) specializes in the development and generation of innovative data and information products and services, and in geoscience research. The spectrum of activities ranges from basic and applied research to the demonstration of pioneering applications and prototypes of marketable products. This work is primarily based on satellite measurements in the atmosphere to ascertain important climate variables, to provide data for Copernicus products, to support climate and atmosphere research, and to address socially relevant topics such as energy, air quality and health, extreme events, and convention monitoring.

DFD-ATM uses a multitude of freely available satellite data from different sources and with different levels of processing. It generates unique, integrated variables by applying its own retrieval methodologies, assimilating satellite measurements in chemical transport models, and combining the latter with other types of data, information, atmosphere models, and mathematical analytic procedures.

In addition, DFD-ATM develops and makes use of ground-based infrared spectrometers (primarily GRIPS) and imaging infrared cameras to monitor the upper mesosphere and lower thermosphere. This work is prompted by issues relating to climate change and variability, early detection of extreme events, and validation of climate models and variables determined using satellite data, and includes early demonstration of future satellite-based methodologies.

DFD-ATM has established a standing for itself through its own geoscience research using the data it collects and processes and by participating in the public discussion as a neutral authority (for example, relating to the subject of global warming). An important means to this end are acclaimed, peer-reviewed publications that document the expertise of its scientists.

Its own research and development efforts on such subjects as aerosols, clouds, irradiance, trace gases and dynamics have many aspects in common with other DLR institutes, especially the Institute of Atmospheric Physics, the Institute of Technical Thermodynamics, the Institute of Communication and Navigation, and not least EOC’s Remote Sensing Technology Institute. Work on topics of common interest is coordinated and carried out in cooperation whenever possible and realistic.

World Data Center for Remote Sensing of the Atmosphere (WDC-RSAT)

WDC is an archive with a data portal providing access to internationally available satellite data, information and services. The data are not all centrally provided by WDC or stored in DFD’s long-term archive. Instead, WDC functions as a central information node.

As a certified and accredited “Data Collection and Processing Center” of the German Weather Service, WDC has an information technology link to the WMO Information System, which gives it access to WMO data worldwide. As a data publication agent accredited by the German National Library of Science and Technology (Technischen Informationsbibliothek Hannover) and by DataCite, and with the support of the DFG (German Research Foundation), WDC assigns persistent digital object identifiers (DOI) to its data sets according to international standards, thereby contributing to the quality assurance of products for international research.

WDC is a showcase for DFD and EOC, featuring the products it has developed as well as serving as a platform for operational services developed by DFD-ATM, for example, to validate satellite-based measurements or to combine various information levels using OGC-compatible utilities.

WDC is managed by DFD as a service to the international science community and operates under international mandates from WMO, ICSU and NASA. It is intended to use WDC as infrastructure for operating an EU around-the-clock Copernicus service. There are also plans to establish WDC as a portal for atmosphere data for ESA’s CCI programme.

WDC functions are financed as part of DLR’s programme, and internally as a continuously renewed project. From 2015 it will again be advised by a steering committee.

In the future WDC’s technical functions will increasingly be handled by D-SDA.

WDC and its mandate are to be inherently expanded to include global change variables determined with the help of remote sensing technologies, with a focus on regional and global products.

NDMC

NDMC is an international network of ground-based systems (IR and VIS spectrometers and radiometers, LIDAR, radar) for monitoring the mesosphere and lower thermosphere. It was initiated by DFD.

Data from space systems and global circulation models are also included. DFD-ATM contributes its GRIPS systems and jointly coordinates activities with other network partners. Each partner supplies the funding for purchasing and operating the infrastructure it makes available to the network.

NDMC contributes to the UN World Climate Research Programme. All data generated by NDMC are on principle accessible free of charge through WDC.

Schneefernerhaus Environmental Research Station UFS

For DFD-ATM, UFS is an important location for its GRIPS and infrared camera systems because of the lack of disturbing light pollution there. The GRIPS system at UFS will in the future represent the relevant international measurement standard. The connection to the national calibration standard is handled by Germany’s national metrology institute, the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt, on its own behalf and for the EU.

Through WDC, DFD-ATM is currently establishing and operating a data analysis centre, AlpDAZ, for an association of alpine high-altitude research stations (Virtual Alpine Observatory, VAO). WDC will facilitate VAO access to satellite data, information and services.

Long-term, VAO will be put on a permanent footing as EU European research infrastructure (ESFRI).

The head of ATM is the spokesman for the UFS science advisory committee until 2017 and in that capacity also carries considerable responsibility for the research undertaken at UFS.

The activities connected with developing UFS complement the core activities of DFD-ATM and support public policies to safeguard the role of Bavaria as a science hub.

 


Contact
Prof. Dr.rer.nat. Michael Bittner
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Atmosphere
Tel: +49 8153 28-1379

Fax: +49 8153 28-1363

E-Mail: Michael.Bittner@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5289/9001_read-16754/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Doctoral theses in ATM as ideas for future topics (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/Portaldata/60/Resources/dokumente/2_dfd_ka/Doktorarbeiten_DFD-ATM.pdf)
Diploma / Master / Bachelor theses in ATM as ideas for future topics (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/Portaldata/60/Resources/dokumente/2_dfd_ka/Diplom_Master_Bachelor-Arbeiten_DFD-ATM.pdf)

Abteilung: Atmosphäre



 

Forschung und Entwicklung

Die Organisationseinheit "Atmosphäre (DFD-ATM)"  ist tätig auf dem Gebiet der Entwicklung und Erzeugung innovativer Daten- und Informationsprodukte, Services und geowissenschaftlicher Forschung. Das Spektrum der Aktivitäten reicht von der anwendungsorientierten Grundlagenforschung bis hin zur Demonstration innovativer Anwendungen und Vorstufen marktfähiger Produkte. Die Arbeiten finden vornehmlich statt auf der Grundlage satellitengestützter Messungen in der Atmosphäre (essentielle Klimavariablen, Copernicus-Produkte) für die Klima- und Atmosphärenforschung und die Bearbeitung gesellschaftlich relevanter Themen (z. B. Energie, Luftqualität und Gesundheit, Extremereignisse, Konventionsmonitoring).

DFD-ATM stützt sich auf eine Vielzahl frei zugänglicher satellitenbasierter Daten unterschiedlicher Herkunft und Veredelungsgrade. Durch den Einsatz eigener Retrieval-Verfahren, Assimilation satellitenbasierter Messungen in Chemie-Transport-Modelle (CTM) sowie deren Verknüpfung mit nicht-satellitenbasierten Daten, Informationen, weiteren Atmosphärenmodellen und mathematischen Analyseverfahren erzeugt DFD-ATM eigene integrierte Variablen.

Ergänzend entwickelt und nutzt DFD-ATM bodengestützte Infrarotspektrometer (GRIPS) und bildgebende Infrarotkameras zur Beobachtung des Höhenbereichs der oberen Mesosphäre und unteren Thermosphäre. Die Arbeiten finden statt vor dem Hintergrund von Fragen zu Klimawandel und Klimavariabilität, Früherkennung von Extremereignissen, Validation von Klimamodellen sowie satellitengestützter Variablen und zur Vorläuferdemonstration zukünftiger satellitengestützter Verfahren.

DFD-ATM positioniert sich darüber hinaus durch eigene geowissenschaftliche Forschung  mir den erzielten Daten und durch Partizipation an der öffentlichen Diskussion als neutrale Instanz (z. B. Thema Klimaerwärmung). Wesentliche Mittel hierzu sind anerkannte begutachtete Publikationen und die dadurch dokumentierte Fachkompetenz seiner Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter.

Die eigene Forschung und Entwicklung in den Themenbereichen Aerosole, Wolken, Strahlung, Spurengase und Dynamik beinhaltet vielfältige Anknüpfungspunkte auch zu anderen Instituten im DLR, insbesondere zum Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre, Institut für Technische Thermodynamik, Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation und nicht zuletzt zum Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung im EOC. Die Arbeiten werden inhaltlich abgestimmt und kooperativ durchgeführt wo immer dies möglich und sinnvoll ist.

Weltdatenzentrum für Fernerkundung der Atmosphäre (WDC-RSAT)

Das WDC ist ein Archiv mit Datenportal zum Zugriff auf international verfügbare satellitengestützte Daten, Informationen und Services. Nicht alle Daten werden zentral im WDC bzw. im DFD- Langzeitarchiv vorgehalten Das WDC fungiert vielmehr als zentraler Informationsknoten.

Als zertifiziertes und akkreditiertes sogenanntes „Data Collection and Processing Center, DCPC“ des Deutschen Wetterdienstes ist es informationstechnisch in das WMO-Informationssystem (WIS) eingebunden und hat Zugriff auf WMO-Daten weltweit. Als akkreditierter Datenpublikationsagent bei der Technischen Informationsbibliothek Hannover, TIB, sowie bei DataCite und mit Unterstützung durch die DFG, vergibt das WDC nach Maßgabe internationaler Standards sogenannte „persistente digitale Objektidentifikatoren“, DOI, für Datensätze und leistet so einen Beitrag zur Qualitätssicherung von Produkten in der internationalen Forschung.

Das WDC fungiert als „Schaufenster“ des DFD bzw. des EOC für seine selbst entwickelten Produkte und dient als Plattform für die in DFD-ATM entwickelten operativen Services (z. B. zur Validation satellitenbasierter Messungen oder zur Verschneidung verschiedener Informationsebenen mittels OGC-Funktionalitäten).

Der Betrieb des WDC ist eine Dienstleistung des DFD für die internationale Wissenschaft und stützt sich auf internationale Mandate (WMO, ICSU, NASA). Es ist vorgesehen, das WDC als eine Infrastruktur beim Betrieb des operationellen Copernicus-Dienstes der EU zu nutzen. Darüber hinaus wird angestrebt, das WDC als ein Portal für die atmosphärenbezogenen Daten des ESA-CCI-Programms zu etablieren.

Die Aufgaben des WDC werden DLR-programmatisch als Vorhaben gefördert, intern als kontinuierlich fortgeschriebenes Projekt umgesetzt. Es soll ab 2015 wieder durch einen Lenkungsausschuss beraten werden.

Die technischen Funktionen des WDC sollen zukünftig verstärkt von D-SDA wahrgenommen werden.

Das WDC sollte inhaltlich erweitert werden (inklusive Mandat) für fernerkundungsgestützte Variablen des Globalen Wandels (Schwerpunkt regionale und globale Produkte).

NDMC

Das NDMC ist ein internationales Netzwerk von bodengestützten Systemen (IR-, VIS-Spektro- und Radiometer, LIDAR, Radar) zur Beobachtung der Mesosphäre und unteren Thermosphäre. Es wurde auf Initiative des DFD ins Leben gerufen.

Eingebunden sind auch Daten satellitenbasierter Systeme und globale Zirkulationsmodelle. DFD-ATM bringt sich mit seinen GRIPS-Systemen ein und koordiniert gemeinsam mit Partnern das Netzwerk. Die Mittel für Beschaffung und Betrieb der Infrastrukturen trägt jeder Partner selbst.

NDMC trägt bei zum UN-Weltklimaforschungsprogramm, WCRP. Alle NDMC-gewonnenen Daten sind im Grundsatz frei zugänglich über das WDC.

UFS Schneefernerhaus

DFD-ATM nutzt die UFS als wichtigen Standort für seine GRIPS- und IR-Kamerasysteme (keine störende Lichtverschmutzung). Das GRIPS-System auf der UFS soll zukünftig den internationalen Mess-Standard repräsentieren. Die Rückführung auf den nationalen Eichstandard wird von der Physikalisch Technischen Bundesanstalt, PTB, aus Eigeninteresse und im EU-Rahmen vorgenommen.

Daneben ist DFD-ATM aktuell über das WDC Dienstleister beim Aufbau und Betrieb eines Datenanalysezentrums, AlpDAZ, im Kontext eines Verbunds alpiner Höhenforschungsstationen (Virtuelles Alpenobservatorium, VAO). Das WDC wird dem VAO insbesondere den Zugang zu satellitenbasierten Daten, Informationen und Services ermöglichen.

VAO soll als eine europäische Forschungsinfrastruktur der EU (ESFRI) langfristig verstetigt werden.

Der Leiter ATM ist bis 2017 Sprecher des wissenschaftlichen Lenkungskreises der UFS und trägt damit auch ein hohes Maß an Verantwortung für die Forschung auf der UFS.

Die Aktivitäten an der Ausgestaltung der UFS ergänzen die Kerngeschäftsthemen von DFD-ATM und unterstützen die Politik zur Sicherung des Wissenschaftsstandortes Bayern.

 


Kontakt
Prof. Dr.rer.nat. Michael Bittner
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Atmosphäre
Tel: +49 8153 28-1379

Fax: +49 8153 28-1363

E-Mail: Michael.Bittner@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5289/9001_read-16754/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Doktorarbeiten ATM als Anregung für künftige Themen (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/Portaldata/60/Resources/dokumente/2_dfd_ka/Doktorarbeiten_DFD-ATM.pdf)
Diplom- / Master- / Bachelorarbeiten ATM als Anregung für künftige Themen (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/Portaldata/60/Resources/dokumente/2_dfd_ka/Diplom_Master_Bachelor-Arbeiten_DFD-ATM.pdf)