DLR Infrared Wildlife Finder: High-Tech to protect animals



Fig. 1: A fawn hidden in high grass
.
Fig. 2: The portable Infrared Wildlife Finder in use
.
Fig. 3: A first prototype of a tractor-mounted unit in use
.
Fig. 4: Flying Wildlife Finder

Rescue from mowers

Every year in Germany, several hundred thousand wild animals are hit, mutilated or killed when meadows are first mowed in springtime: fawns, baby hares, pheasants, partridges or other ground nesters. For a long time, all attempts failed to spare animals this fate. But since 1999 equipment developed by the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in Oberpfaffenhofen has being successfully employed in ever increasing numbers by farmers and hunters. It uses infrared sensors to detect wild animals during springtime mowing, keep them from bodily harm, and assure their survival (Fig. 1). This so-called Infrared Wildlife Finder is marketed by isa industrieelektronik GmbH in Weiden.

Progress from continuing research

The portable Infrared Wildlife Finder (Fig. 2) is especially handy for locating fawns, but it is only partially suited for use with a tractor. This is because mowing usually takes place during warm and sunny weather, when the meadow itself has already become quite warm in places. Since the Infrared Wildlife Finder reacts to temperature differences, these warm locations in the grass are also detected, leading to false alarms. Frequent, short-notice false alarms are, however, not acceptable for a farmer busy at work. For this reason, a research project started in April 2008 funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research. Besides DLR, the project team includes the companies CLAAS and isa industrieelektronik as industrial partners, plus TU Munich, Hohenheim University, and the Bavarian hunters’ association Jagdverband Bayern as associated partners. The project goal is to develop an infrared wildlife finder which can be mounted on a mower and reliably detect only wild animals. One of the options being investigated involves mounting various types of sensors on a mower boom (Fig. 3). This constellation would be used to check the next strip in line for mowing. Then, if an alarm sounds, there would be enough time to safely remove the animal before that strip is mowed. In addition to the well-tested infrared detectors, a radar system and different kinds of intelligent camera systems (reacting to the visible spectrum and to the thermal infrared range) are being studied, among other possibilities. Combining several sensor technologies significantly increases the chances of detection.

Air Rescue also for Fawns: A Flying “Wildlife Finder”

The rapid technological progress of recent years in the area of small, unmanned aerial vehicles has also made these aircraft attractive as a platform for wildlife rescue systems. IMF is testing a so-called octocopter, a rotary wing aircraft with eight rotors which can carry a payload weighing up to 0.5 kg on remotely controlled flights lasting about 16 minutes (see photo). During this time the wildlife finder can search an area of about 4 ha from an altitude of 50 m. It is equipped with infrared and video cameras whose images are transmitted to a ground station in real time. Initial trials with the octocopter have confirmed the basic feasibility of the system: during testing in various regions of Bavaria and Austria it detected 16 fawns.

The next steps should reveal whether this concept and the prototype can be turned into a marketable system.

The problems associated with rescuing wildlife during springtime mowing and a survey of the approaches tested to date are presented in the video “Wildretter - Für Tierschutz und Landwirtschaft” (in German only, see link at right)

Awards and Prizes

The work being carried out by the Remote Sensing Technology Institute and its partners in the area of wildlife rescue has received several awards:


Jahr Prize/Award Object
July 2013 Innovation Prize 2013 of the Society of Friends of DLR „Flying Wildlife Finder“
April 2012 Nature Conservation Prize 2012 (Jägervereinigung Oberhessen e.V.) Development and testing of a rack system with sensor technology for locating wildlife when mowing agricultural fields
Jan. 2012 „Featured Location 2012” in the competition „365 locations in a country with ideas” „Flying Wildlife Finder″
April 2011 Innovation Award at SIMA2011, Paris (international trade fair for suppliers to the agricultural sector) „Technical sensor system for finding wild animals while mowing agricultural land”
Nov. 2000 DLR Innovation Prize 2000 Successful technology transfer for a portable infrared wildlife finder


Contact
Dr.-Ing. Peter Haschberger
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Remote Sensing Technology Institute
, Experimental Methods
Tel: +49 8153 28-1336

Fax: +49 8153 28-1337

E-Mail: Peter.Haschberger@dlr.de
Martin Israel
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Remote Sensing Technology Institute
, Experimental Methods
Tel: +49 8153 28-3562

Fax: +49 8153 28-1337

E-Mail: Martin.Israel@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5294/8937_read-22072/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.land-der-ideen.de/365-orte/preistraeger/fliegender-wildretter-deutschen-zentrums-fuer-luft-und-raumfahrt
http://www.bauernzeitung.at/?id=2500%2C115829%2C%
http://www.jagd-bayern.de/fileadmin/_BJV/Jagd_In_Bayern/jib_2011_07/JiB_7_11_kitzrettung.pdf
http://www.wildretter.de
http://www.wildretter.de/forschung
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Flying Wildlife Finder: Experiences 2012 (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/Portaldata/60/Resources/dokumente/3_imf_ev/Wimmer_Rehkitzrettung.pdf)
Wildlife Finder, Status 04/2012 (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/Portaldata/60/Resources/dokumente/3_imf_ev/Wildretter_Projektinfo_2012.pdf)
Video: Wildlife Finder (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/Portaldata/60/Resources/videos/Wildretter_DLR-Logo_320x180.wmv)

Der DLR-Wildretter: High-Tech für den Tierschutz



Abb. 1: Ein Rehkitz, versteckt im hohen Gras
.
Abb. 2: Der tragbare Wildretter im Einsatz
.
Abb. 3:Testaufbau für Wildrettersysteme am Traktor
.
Abb. 4:Fliegender Wildretter bei der Suche

Rettung vor dem Mähwerk

Jährlich werden in Deutschland mehrere hunderttausend Wildtiere bei der Frühjahrmahd von Mähwerken erfasst, verstümmelt oder getötet - Rehkitze, Junghasen, Fasane, Rebhühner und andere Bodenbrüter gleichermaßen. Lange Zeit waren alle Versuche gescheitert, den Tieren dieses Leid zu ersparen. Seit 1999 wird ein vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Oberpfaffenhofen entwickeltes Gerät in stetig steigender Zahl von Landwirten und Jägern mit Erfolg eingesetzt. Es spürt bei der Frühjahrsmahd mit Infrarot-Sensoren das Wild auf und sichert ihm Überleben und Unversehrtheit (Abb. 1). Dieser sogenannte Infrarot-Wildretter wird von der Firma isa industrieelektronik GmbH in Weiden vertrieben.

Die Forschungsarbeit schreitet voran

Der Infrarot-Wildretter (Abb. 2) ist als tragbare Variante äußert hilfreich bei der Suche von Rehkitzen. Für den Einsatz am Traktor ist er allerdings nur bedingt geeignet. Denn gemäht wird meist bei warmem, sonnigem Wetter. Dann aber hat sich die Wiese bereits an manchen Stellen stark erwärmt. Da der Infrarotwildretter auf Temperaturunterschiede reagiert, werden diese warmen Stellen im Gras ebenfalls gemeldet. Für den Landwirt bei der Arbeit sind häufige Fehlalarme aber nicht zumutbar. Aus diesem Grund startete im April 2008 ein vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördertes Forschungsprojekt. Das Projektteam umfasst neben dem DLR die Industriepartner Fa. CLAAS und Fa. isa industrieelektronik, sowie als assoziierte Partner die TU München, die Uni Hohenheim sowie den Jagdverband Bayern. Projektziel ist es, einen am Mähwerk montierten Wildretter zu entwickeln, der während der Mahd sehr zuverlässig nur Wild detektiert. Eine der zu untersuchenden Varianten sieht die Montage verschiedener Sensoren an einem Auslegerarm am Mähwerk vor (Abb. 3). Damit wird der nächste Mahdstreifen untersucht. Bei einem Alarm bleibt somit genügend Zeit, die Tiere in Sicherheit zu bringen, bevor dieser Streifen gemäht wird. Neben den bewährten Infrarotdetektoren wird u.a. an einem Radarsystem und an verschiedenen intelligenten Kamerasystemen (im sichtbaren Spektrum und im thermischen Infrarotbereich) gearbeitet. Die Kombination mehrerer Sensortechnologien verspricht eine deutlich höhere Erkennungswahrscheinlichkeit.

Kitzrettung auch aus der Luft: Der „Fliegende Wildretter“

Der rasante technologische Fortschritt der letzten Jahre im Bereich kleiner unbemannter Fluggeräte macht diese auch als Plattform für Wildrettungssysteme attraktiv. Zum Einsatz kommt beim IMF ein sog. Oktokopter, ein Drehflügler mit acht Rotoren, der ferngesteuert eine Nutzlast von bis zu 0,5 kg über eine Flugzeit von rund 16 Minuten tragen kann (Abb. 4). Ausgerüstet mit einer Infrarot- und einer Videokamera, deren Bilder in Echtzeit zur Bodenstation gefunkt werden, sucht der Wildretter aus einer Höhe von 50 m in dieser Zeit eine Fläche von etwa 4 ha ab. Die ersten Experimente mit dem Oktokopter haben 2011 die grundsätzliche Tauglichkeit des Systems nachgewiesen - bei Einsätzen in verschiedenen Regionen Bayerns und Österreichs wurden damit 16 Rehkitze gefunden.
Die anstehenden Folgearbeiten sollen nun zeigen, ob sich aus der Idee und dem ersten Funktionsmuster ein marktfähiges System entwickeln lässt.

Die Problematik der Wildrettung während der Frühjahrsmahd und eine Zusammenstellung der bisher untersuchten Lösungen zeigt das Video „Wildretter - Für Tierschutz und Landwirtschaft“ (siehe rechte Spalte)

Auszeichnungen und Preise

Die Arbeiten des Instituts für Methodik der Fernerkundung und seiner Partner auf dem Gebiet der Wildrettung wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet:

Jahr Preis/Auszeichnung Gegenstand
07/2013 Innovationspreis 2013 der Gesellschaft von Freunden des DLR „Fliegender Wildretter“
04/2012 Ehrenpreis für Naturschutz 2012 (Jägervereinigung Oberhessen e.V.) Entwicklung und Erprobung eines Trägersystems mit Sensortechnik zur Auffindung wildlebender Tiere beim Mähen landwirtschaftlicher Flächen
01/2012 „Ausgewählter Ort 2012″ im Wettbewerb „365 Orte im Land der Ideen″ „Fliegender Wildretter″
04/2011 Innovation Award der SIMA2011, Paris (internationale Fachmesse für Lieferanten der Landwirtschaft) „sensortechnisches System zur Auffindung wild lebender Tiere beim Mähen landwirtschaftlicher Flächen″
11/2000 Innovationspreis 2000 des DLR Erfolgreicher Technologietransfer für den tragbaren Infrarotwildretter


Kontakt
Dr.-Ing. Peter Haschberger
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung
, Experimentelle Verfahren
Tel: +49 8153 28-1336

Fax: +49 8153 28-1337

E-Mail: Peter.Haschberger@dlr.de
Martin Israel
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung
, Experimentelle Verfahren
Tel: +49 8153 28-3562

Fax: +49 8153 28-1337

E-Mail: Martin.Israel@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5294/8937_read-22072/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.land-der-ideen.de/365-orte/preistraeger/fliegender-wildretter-deutschen-zentrums-fuer-luft-und-raumfahrt
http://www.bauernzeitung.at/?id=2500%2C115829%2C%
http://www.jagd-bayern.de/fileadmin/_BJV/Jagd_In_Bayern/jib_2011_07/JiB_7_11_kitzrettung.pdf
http://www.wildretter.de
http://www.wildretter.de/forschung
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Fliegender Wildretter: Erfahrungen 2012 (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/Portaldata/60/Resources/dokumente/3_imf_ev/Wimmer_Rehkitzrettung.pdf)
Wildretter, Status 04/2012 (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/Portaldata/60/Resources/dokumente/3_imf_ev/Wildretter_Projektinfo_2012.pdf)
Video: Wildretter (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/Portaldata/60/Resources/videos/Wildretter_DLR-Logo_320x180.wmv)