Spectrometry



Imaging sensors (cameras) provide spatially-resolved information in two dimensions, and to do so make use of the visible light region of the electromagnetic spectrum. Spectrometers, by contrast, are sounding sensors (without spatial resolution) which split the incoming radiation into its spectral components. With the measured spectrum it is possible to analyze the composition of the surfaces or gases under observation along the instrument’s line of visibility. Systems which measure with spatial as well as spectral resolution are called imaging spectrometers, multispectral or hyperspectral sensors.

The Earth Observation Center (EOC) operates a number of sounding and imaging spectrometers in the spectral range of visible and infrared radiation. They are used in the lab or in situ on the ground as reference systems, and also for the OpAiRS (Optical Airborne Remote Sensing and Calibration Facility) user service for aerial optical remote sensing.

For satellite-borne spectrometers, IMF develops sensor specific algorithms which can be used to derive geophysical parameters from measured spectra.

Spectral ranges (wavelengths) of the spectrometers operated at the Earth Observation Center (EOC), including lab, aerial, and operationally receiving satellite spectrometers (Background: transmission characteristics of the atmosphere)

Contact
Dr.-Ing. Peter Haschberger
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Remote Sensing Technology Institute
, Experimental Methods
Tel: +49 8153 28-1336

Fax: +49 8153 28-1337

E-Mail: Peter.Haschberger@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5350/10493_read-23139/

Spektrometrie



Bildgebende Sensoren (Kameras) liefern Informationen ortsaufgelöst (zweidimensional) und nutzen dabei einen breiten Bereich des elektromagnetischen Spektrums, z.B. den des sichtbaren Lichts. Spektrometer dagegen sind sondierende Sensoren (ohne Ortsauflösung), die die einfallende Strahlung in ihre spektralen Anteile zerlegen. Das gemessene Spektrum erlaubt die Analyse der Stoffzusammensetzung beobachteter Oberflächen oder Gase entlang der Sichtlinie des Instruments. Systeme, die orts- und spektralaufgelöst messen, bezeichnet man als abbildende Spektrometer bzw. Multi- oder Hyperspektralsensoren.

Das Earth Observation Center (EOC) betreibt eine Vielzahl von sondierenden und abbildenden Spektrometern im Spektralbereich der sichtbaren und infraroten Strahlung. Die Geräte dienen im Labor bzw. bodengestützt als Referenzsysteme und sie werden im Rahmen des User Service OpAiRS (Optical Airborne Remote Sensing and Calibration Facility) für die flugzeuggestützte optische Fernerkundung eingesetzt.

Für satellitengetragene Spektrometer entwickelt das IMF sensorspezifische Algorithmen, mit denen aus gemessenen Spektren geophysikalische Parameter abgeleitet werden.

Spektralbereiche (Wellenlänge) der im Earth Observation Center (EOC) betriebenen Labor- und Flugzeugsspektrometer bzw. operationell empfangenen Satellitenspektrometer (Hintergrund: Transmissionsverhalten der Atmosphäre)

Kontakt
Dr.-Ing. Peter Haschberger
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung
, Experimentelle Verfahren
Tel: +49 8153 28-1336

Fax: +49 8153 28-1337

E-Mail: Peter.Haschberger@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5350/10493_read-23139/