GRIPS



Figure 1: Limb view on the airglow layer as seen by the U.S. Clementine spacecraft (false color image, courtesy of U.S. Naval Research Laboratory).
.
Figure 2: The GRIPS 3 instrument at the Environmental Research Station Schneefernerhaus (UFS) on the Zugspitze mountain.
.
Figure 3: The GRIPS 6 instrument installed at DLR-DFD in Oberpfaffenhofen.
.
Figure 5: Typical temperature time series for one night. Measurements in near-real-time are available at the NDMC website
Infrared spectroscopy of airglow in the near infrared using GRIPS

Since 2005 the German Remote Sensing Data Center (DLR-DFD) has operated the infrared spectrometer GRIPS (Ground-based Infrared P-branch Spectrometer) in order to monitor airglow in the mesopause region (80-100 km height) (Fig. 1). The origin of most airglow luminescence is a rather narrow layer of excited hydroxyl (OH) molecules from about 83-90 km height peaking at about 87 km.

The excitation is caused by the exothermic reaction of ozone (O3) and atomic hydrogen (H). Chemically excited OH molecules emit near-infrared radiation from several rotational-vibrational transitions. These emissions can be measured with high temporal resolution by the GRIPS instrument during nighttime. The rotational OH temperatures derived from the emission spectra are good proxies for the atmospheric kinetic temperatures at 87 km altitude.


Importance of airglow observations

The atmosphere exhibits nearly the same mixing ratio within this height regime as on the ground. However, the density is about five orders of magnitude lower. Therefore, this region responds very sensitively to minor changes in any atmospheric chemical or physical parameter. Furthermore, radiative cooling into space is very efficient at this height, in particular the 15 µm emission of CO2, which is the main cause for this cooling. Consequently, the global increase of CO2 in the atmosphere is expected to have a large impact on the temperature observed at this altitude. In contrast to the troposphere, however, decreasing temperatures are expected within the next decades. Therefore continuous assessment of mesopause temperatures constitutes a major aspect of climate change research.

But also on shorter time scales, the temperature of the mesopause region is characterized by complex dynamics, and especially atmospheric waves play a key role in this context. Their influence ranges from a few seconds to several weeks. They can be classified as follows:

  • Infrasonic waves are waves with periods under five minutes and spatial scales of a few hundred meters to a couple of kilometers; their restoring force is caused by the pressure gradient,
  • Atmospheric gravity waves have periods longer than five minutes and up to a few hours, with a spatial extent from a few to several hundreds of kilometers; their restoring force is the buoyancy force,
  • Planetary waves have periods ranging from several days to a few weeks and exhibit spatial scales of several thousands of kilometers; the Coriolis force is their restoring force.


Instrumentation

Measurements are derived using different grating spectrometers (GRIPS) covering the near infrared wavelength range. In the early years since 2003, DLR-DFD operated the instruments GRIPS 3 and GRIPS 4 (Fig. 2). They are based on a development at the University of Wuppertal in the 1980s, which is still operating the first two instruments of this type. GRIPS 3 and GRIPS 4 are equipped with highly sensitive germanium detectors cooled with liquid nitrogen down to -196°C for achieving the optimal signal-to-noise ratio. Using a moveable diffraction grating the OH emission from 1.52 to 1.55 µm is scanned within three minutes.

In 2008, DLR-DFD designed a completely new type of GRIPS instrument. It is presently one of the most advanced OH instruments equipped with an InGaAs photodiode detector array that is specifically utilized for the observation of bright OH airglow emissions between 1.5 and 1.6 µm. The high temporal resolution of only 15 (in special mode even 10) seconds per spectrum is significantly higher than the atmospheric Brunt-Väisälä frequency. This is notably better than the temporal resolution achieved by most scanning grating spectrometers, making it well suited for the study of short periodic atmospheric waves, such as gravity and even infrasonic waves. Furthermore, the precision of the instrument was also increased by one order of magnitude. All newly designed instruments are operated automatically and send their data on a routine basis to the World Data Center for Remote Sensing of the Atmosphere (WDC-RSAT), a service provided by DFD to support the data and communication platform of the Network for the Detection of Mesopause Change (NDMC – see link at right).


GRIPS measurement stations

After the first GRIPS instrument at the Environmental Research Station Schneefernerhaus (UFS) on the Zugspitze mountain (47.42°N, 10.98°E) was commissioned in 2005 (Fig. 2), DLR services in Oberpfaffenhofen (48.08°N, 11.27°E) became operational in January 2009 (Fig. 3). In addition, since November 2010 a GRIPS instrument has been operated during the winter seasons at the ALOMAR Observatory in northern Norway (69.28°N, 16.01°E).

Using the mobile GRIPS 4 instrument, a measurement campaign took place on board the German research vessel “Polarstern” from Bremerhaven to Cape Point, South Africa, on behalf of the European Space Agency (ESA) with the main objective to validate satellite-based temperature derived from ENVISAT-SCIAMACHY (see link at right).

Each GRIPS measurement site is part of the international global NDMC network, a global program with the mission to promote international cooperation among research groups investigating the mesopause region (80-100 km) with the goal of early identification of changing climate signals. NDMC is currently composed of 50 high-quality, remote-sensing research stations for observing and understanding the physical and chemical state of the mesosphere, with initial emphasis on airglow observation in the mesopause (see Fig. 4 or the NDMC website at right). NDMC network operations officially started in 2007 based on a founding initiative of DLR-DFD. They are jointly coordinated by DLR-DFD and the Argentinean organization CONICET; coordination center is the Environmental Research Station Schneefernerhaus (UFS). NDMC is continuously evolving and plans new observing sites and facilities (e.g., in Europe or Africa) in the next years to obtain a well-balanced global coverage of its stations for adequately and reliably assessing global issues. It is also planned—and partly already realized—to extend the current focus of airglow measurements to other measurement techniques such as lidar, radar, satellites or modeling. This also includes an extension to cover the entire mesosphere. WDC-RSAT acts as the NDMC data center, provides the communication and information platform for NDMC, and also handles all aspects of data management and web hosting. Some of the measurements collected in NDMC, for example, the GRIPS measurements, are available at the NDMC website in near real time (Fig. 5 or NDMC link at right).

 

 NDMC measurement stations
zum Bild NDMC measurement stations
Figure 4: Geographical distribution of the 50 measurement stations of the NDMC (status as of December 2010).

Contact
Dr. Sabine Wüst
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Atmosphere
Tel: +49 8153 28-1325

Fax: +49 8153 28-1363

E-Mail: Sabine.Wuest@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5380/10669_read-24062/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://wdc.dlr.de/ndmc
http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1278/1749_read-2315/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Virtual Alpine Observatory: Unique Climate Research Network (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5258/15811_read-39545/usetemplate-print/)

GRIPS



Bild 1: Airglow-Schicht, aufgenommen mit dem US-Satelliten Clementine (Falschfarbenbild, courtesy of U.S. Naval Research Laboratory).
.
Bild 2: Das GRIPS 3 Instrument in der Umweltforschungsstation Schneefernerhaus (UFS) auf der Zugspitze.
.
Bild 3: Das GRIPS 6 Instrument im DLR-DFD in Oberpfaffenhofen.
.
Bild 5: Typischer Temperatur- und Intensitätsverlauf in einer Messnacht. Aktuelle Messungen sind in naher Echtzeit über die NDMC-Webseite abrufbar.
Infrarotspektroskopie des atmosphärischen Luftleuchtens im nahen Infrarot mit GRIPS

Seit 2005 betreibt das Deutsche Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum die Infrarot-Spektrometer GRIPS (Ground-based Infrared P-branch Spectrometer) zur Vermessung des atmosphärischen Luftleuchtens (engl.: airglow) in der Mesopausenregion (80-100 km) (Bild 1). Hauptsächlich rührt es aus einer exothermen chemischen Reaktion her, bei der in 87±4 km Höhe Ozon (O3) mit atomarem Wasserstoff (H) reagiert und molekularen Sauerstoff (O2) sowie Hydroxyl-Moleküle (OH) produziert.

Die freigesetzte Energie wird dabei überwiegend auf das Hydroxyl-Molekül übertragen, das diese Energie nach kurzer Zeit in Form sichtbarer und infraroter Strahlung wieder abgibt. Dieser kurze Zeitraum reicht jedoch aus, dass die angeregten Moleküle mit der restlichen Atmosphäre lokal ins thermodynamische Gleichgewicht kommen. Aus den mit den GRIPS-Instrumenten registrierten Emissionsspektren kann somit auf die Umgebungstemperatur in 87 km Höhe geschlossen werden.

Bedeutung des Luftleuchtens

Die Atmosphäre weist in dieser Höhe in etwa dasselbe Mischungsverhältnis wie am Boden auf. Jedoch ist die Dichte gegenüber dem Erdboden um etwa fünf Größenordnungen geringer. Deswegen reagiert diese Region der Atmosphäre sehr viel empfindlicher auf Änderungen als andere Höhenschichten. Hinzu kommt, dass in diesem Höhenbereich der Prozess der Strahlungskühlung, d.h. die Abstrahlung von Wärme in den Weltraum besonders durch CO2 bei 15µm, sehr effektiv ist. Dementsprechend wird erwartet, dass sich der Klimawandel aufgrund des CO2-Anstiegs in der Atmosphäre in dieser Höhenregion besonders stark auswirkt. Dabei wird im Gegensatz zur Troposphäre jedoch mit einer Temperaturabnahme in den nächsten Jahrzehnten gerechnet. Die kontinuierliche Messung der Temperatur in der Mesopausenregion stellt somit einen wichtigen Aspekt der Erforschung des Klimawandels dar.

Aber auch auf kürzeren Zeitskalen ist die Temperatur in der Mesopausenregion von einer ausgeprägten Dynamik geprägt. Hier spielen vor allem atmosphärische Wellen eine bedeutende Rolle. Der Einfluss dieser Wellen reicht von Zeitskalen weniger Sekunden bis zu mehreren Wochen. Man unterscheidet im Wesentlichen folgende Wellentypen:

Infraschall: Wellen im Periodenbereich von weniger als fünf Minuten und einer räumlichen Ausdehnung von einigen hundert Metern bis wenigen Kilometern; maßgebliche Rückstellkraft ist die Druckgradientenkraft.

Schwerewellen: Wellen im Periodenbereich von mehr als fünf Minuten bis zu einigen Stunden bei einer räumlichen Ausdehnung von wenigen bis vielen hundert Kilometern; maßgebliche Rückstellkraft stellt hier die Schwerkraft dar.

Planetare Wellen: Wellen im Periodenbereich von wenigen Tagen bis mehreren Wochen bei einer räumlichen Ausdehnung von mehreren tausend Kilometern; maßgebliche Rückstellkraft ist die Corioliskraft.


Instrumentierung

Die Messungen werden mit verschiedenen Gitterspektrometern (GRIPS) im nahen infraroten Wellenlängenbereich durchgeführt. In den ersten Jahren kamen dabei die Geräte GRIPS 3 und GRIPS 4 zum Einsatz (Bild 2). Sie basieren auf einer Entwicklung der Universität Wuppertal aus den 1980er Jahren, die bis heute die ersten beiden Geräte dieser Bauart betreibt. Sie sind ausgestattet mit hochempfindlichen Germaniumphotodioden, die für ein optimales Signal-zu-Rausch-Verhältnis mit flüssigem Stickstoff auf -196°C gekühlt werden. Durch ein bewegliches Beugungsgitter werden dann im Laufe von drei Minuten die OH-Emissionen im Wellenlängenbereich von 1,52µm bis 1,55µm abgescannt.

Im Jahr 2008 gelang mit dem GRIPS 5 am DFD eine vollständige Neuentwicklung (Bild 3). Die neueren Geräte sind seitdem mit thermoelektrisch gekühlten InGaAs-Photodiodenzeilen ausgestattet, die ein Abscannen der Wellenlänge überflüssig machen und so die Messgeschwindigkeit deutlich erhöhen. Ein Nebeneffekt dieser neuen Technologie ist die Erhöhung der Präzision. Heute existiert mit dem GRIPS 7, das bei der Vermessung des OH-Leuchtens eine zeitliche Auflösung von 10 Sekunden erreicht, weltweit eines der leistungsfähigsten Infrarotspektrometer in diesem Forschungszweig. Erstmals konnte damit der Periodenbereich des Infraschalls für die Airglow-Wissenschaft erschlossen werden.


Messstationen

Nach der Inbetriebnahme des ersten Instruments in der Umweltforschungsstation „Schneefernhaus“ (47,42°N, 10,98°O) auf der Zugspitze im Jahr 2005 (Bild 2), folgte im Januar 2009 der DLR-Standort Oberpfaffenhofen (48,08°N, 11,27°O) (Bild 3). Zudem wird seit November 2010 auch während der Wintersaison in ALOMAR (69,28°N, 16,01°O), Norwegen, nördlich des Polarkreises gemessen.

Zudem hat das als mobiles Instrument konzipierte GRIPS 4 im Jahr 2005 im Auftrag der ESA mit dem deutschen Forschungsschiff „Polarstern“ eine Messkampagne auf der Fahrt von Bremerhaven nach Kapstadt, Südafrika absolviert (siehe Link).

Jede GRIPS-Messstation ist Teil des internationalen globalen Netzwerkes NDMC (Network for the Detection of Mesopause Change), ein globales Programm zur Förderung der internationalen Zusammenarbeit zwischen Forschungsgruppen, die den Bereich der Mesopause (80-100 km) beobachten, um möglichst frühzeitig die Signale des sich ändernden Klimas zu erfassen. NDMC besteht gegenwärtig aus 50 bodengebundenen Messstationen weltweit, die die Airglow-Schicht beobachten (siehe Bild 4 oder Link NDMC). NDMC ist 2007 auf Initiative des DLR-DFD gegründet worden und wird seitdem von DLR-DFD in Zusammenarbeit mit der argentinischen Organisation CONICET koordiniert; Koordinationszentrum ist die Umweltforschungsstation Schneefernerhaus (UFS). NDMC entwickelt sich kontinuierlich weiter. Es werden in den nächsten Jahren neue NDMC-Messstationen aufgebaut, insbesondere in Europa und Afrika, um eine möglichst ausgewogene geographische Verteilung der Messstationen über den Globus zu erhalten. Darüber hinaus ist die Erweiterung von NDMC um weitere Messtechniken (z.B. Lidar, Radar und Satelliten) und die Ergänzung durch Modellierungsstudien geplant und teilweise bereits umgesetzt. Das bedeutet gleichzeitig eine Ausweitung des Netzwerks auf die gesamte Mesosphäre. Die Datenarchivierung und das Datenmanagement des NDMC werden vom ICSU/WMO Weltdatenzentrum für satellitenbasierte Fernerkundung der Atmosphäre (WDC-RSAT), übernommen, das auch als Kommunikationsplattform für das NDMC dient. Einige der in NDMC erhobenen Messungen, z.B. die der GRIPS-Instrumente, sind in naher Echtzeit über die NDMC-Webseite abrufbar (siehe Bild 5 bzw. Link NDMC).

 NDMC-Messstationen
zum Bild NDMC-Messstationen
Bild 4: Geographische Verteilung der derzeit 50 NDMC-Messstationen weltweit (Stand: Dezember 2010).

Kontakt
Dr. Sabine Wüst
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Atmosphäre
Tel: +49 8153 28-1325

Fax: +49 8153 28-1363

E-Mail: Sabine.Wuest@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5380/10669_read-24062/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://wdc.dlr.de/ndmc
http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1278/1749_read-2315/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Virtuelles Alpenobservatorium: Einzigartiges Netzwerk für Klimaforschung (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5258/15811_read-39545/usetemplate-print/)