Team: Math and Physical Principals



 Earth radiance from the UV to the IR range showing the absorption spectrum for the most important atmospheric trace gases.
zum Bild Earth radiance from the UV to the IR range showing the absorption spectrum for the most important atmospheric trace gases.
.
Satellite remote sensing is an important tool for investigating the atmosphere, climate and environment. It provides a global view which can be combined with regional measurements, for example at ground stations, to obtain an overall picture. Typical products resulting from remote sensing of the atmosphere are forecasts about the composition and characteristics of the atmosphere. Deriving geophysical quantities from remote sensing measurement data on the atmosphere for such purposes has two aspects. These relate to the fundamental functional relationship between the thermodynamic characteristics of the medium (such as temperature, pressure, density and composition) and the spectral optical characteristics (such as absorption and scattering) of the species involved (such as molecules and aerosols):

  • Direct or forward problem: efficient and precise modeling of radiative transfer in the atmosphere, whereby the goal is to determine the absorption or emission spectrum from given atmospheric characteristics
  • Inverse problem: finding numerically stable methods for estimating the desired geophysical values based on the measured spectra.

In forward modeling the requirements placed on the radiative transfer model are primarily determined by the measurement conditions, such as, especially, the spectral range, measurement geometry, and sensor type. Modeling a spectrum using the forward modeling approach can always only be regarded as an approximation, since many physical effects can merely be described in a simplified way in order to optimize the use of computer time. The main challenge in the ultraviolet and visible spectral range (UV/VIS) is, in particular, modeling multiple scattering as a radiation source. For instruments with high spectral resolution in the microwave and infrared range, by contrast, so-called line-by-line (LbL) radiative transport models are usually essential. Although in this case scatter can usually be ignored, this limits the relevance of the forward model to atmospheres which are almost free of clouds and aerosols.

Besides modeling actual atmospheric radiative transport, the forward model also has to be able to take into account modifications to the spectrum caused by the instrument, especially the sensor’s spectral and spatial influence. In addition, a precondition is complete familiarity with the spectroscopic molecule and aerosol data.

Inversion (or retrieval), in other words ascertaining the desired atmospheric parameters from the remote sensing measurement data, is usually accomplished with the help of numerical optimization methodologies. In practice this is accomplished by comparing the measurement data with simulated data generated by a suitable model of the measurement process (forward model) and an estimated parameter complement. Since the spectrum is usually a nonlinear function of the desired state variables, the analysis usually requires iterative refinement methods (least-squares). Beginning with an assumed atmospheric state vector, a spectrum is simulated with forward calculation and then compared with the measured spectrum. After suitable adjustment of the state vector, this procedure is repeated until the simulated and measured spectra sufficiently agree. Particularly in UV/VIS, differential methods without forward modeling have also become established (DOAS – Differential Optical Absorption Spectroscopy). Lately, neuronal networks are also being used, such as for processing data from the GOME sensor. Most inversion algorithms have to be supplied with a multitude of parameters. Besides selecting the measurement data (and in some cases also suitable spectral microwindows) and determining the quantities to be derived, this approach also requires the provision of additional parameters for the inversion program and the radiative transport program. And so, in the end, the process already begins when the inversion algorithm is designed, for example when mathematical routines are selected.

Precise dealing with radiative transfer must take into account the scattering of electromagnetic radiation caused by molecules and aerosols in the atmosphere. Looked at physically, it is a question of the interaction of a plane electromagnetic wave with a three-dimensional structure characterized by its geometry as well as by its dielectric properties. A theoretical description of this process must relate the wave’s degrees of freedom before and after the interaction so that measurements relevant for the scatter can be derived. In atmospheric remote sensing the scattering of electromagnetic waves caused by their impact with nonspherical particles is increasingly gaining in importance. Modeling this problem is considerably more complex than is the case of spherical scatter particles with application of the Mie theory. This is due both to the computational effort and to the significantly more complex convergence behavior of the available procedures. Scatter data banks for precisely defined nonspherical particles can be an aid here since they reduce the computational effort as well as free the user of remote sensing data from having to assess the underlying scatter models.


Contact
Dr.rer.nat. Tom Rother
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Remote Sensing Technology Institute
, Atmospheric Processors
Tel: +49 3981 480-167

Mobile:

Fax: +49 3981 480-299

E-Mail: Tom.Rother@dlr.de
Dr.rer.nat. Franz Schreier
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Remote Sensing Technology Institute
, Atmospheric Processors
Tel: +49 8153 28-1234

Fax: +49 8153 28-1446

E-Mail: Franz.Schreier@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5417/9373_read-18061/

Team: Mathematisch-physikalische Grundlagen



 Radianz der Erde vom UV bis zum IR-Bereich mit den wichtigsten Absorptionen atmosphärischer Spurengase.
zum Bild Radianz der Erde vom UV bis zum IR-Bereich mit den wichtigsten Absorptionen atmosphärischer Spurengase.
.
Die satellitengestützte Fernerkundung stellt ein wichtiges Werkzeug der Atmosphären-, Klima- und Umweltforschung dar. Sie vermittelt den globalen Blick, der zusammen mit regionalen Messungen, z.B. an Bodenstationen, das Gesamtbild ergibt. Typische Produkte der atmosphärischen Fernerkundung sind Aussagen zur Zusammensetzung und zu den Eigenschaften der Atmosphäre. Dabei besteht die Ableitung geophysikalischer Größen aus atmosphärischen Fernerkundungs-Messdaten im Wesentlichen aus zwei Teilproblemen. Sie beziehen sich auf den grundlegenden, den Strahlungstransport in der Atmosphäre bestimmenden funktionalen Zusammenhang zwischen den thermodynamischen Eigenschaften des Mediums (Temperatur, Druck, Dichte und Zusammensetzung etc.) und den spektralen optischen Eigenschaften (Absorption, Streuung etc.) der beteiligten Spezies (Moleküle, Aerosole, etc.):

  • Vorwärtsproblem: effiziente und genaue Modellierung des Strahlungstransfers und der Streuung in der Atmosphäre: Das Ziel ist hier, aus gegebenen Atmosphäreneigenschaften auf das Absorptions- oder Emissionsspektrum zu schließen
  • Inverses Problem: numerisch stabile Verfahren zur Schätzung der gesuchten geophysikalischen Größen aus den gemessenen Spektren

Bei der Vorwärtsmodellierung werden die Anforderungen an das Strahlungstransfermodell weitgehend von den Messbedingungen, also insbesondere Spektralbereich, Messgeometrie, Sensortyp usw. bestimmt. Die Modellierung eines Spektrums in der Vorwärtsrechnung kann immer nur als Näherung aufgefasst werden, da z.B. zur Optimierung der Rechenzeit manche physikalischen Effekte nur vereinfacht beschrieben werden können. Die wesentliche Herausforderung im ultravioletten und sichtbaren Spektralbereich (UV/VIS) liegt vor allem in der Modellierung von Mehrfachstreuung als Strahlungsquelle. Für spektral hochauflösende Instrumente im Mikrowellen- und Infrarot-Spektralbereich sind dagegen in der Regel sogenannte Line-by-Line (LbL) Strahlungstransportmodelle unabdingbar. Hier kann man zwar Streuung meist vernachlässigen, schränkt jedoch dadurch die Anwendbarkeit des Vorwärtsmodells auf nahezu wolken- und aerosolfreie Atmosphären ein. Neben der Modellierung des eigentlichen atmosphärischen Strahlungstransports muss das Vorwärtsmodell auch in der Lage sein, Modifikationen des Spektrums durch das Instrument zu berücksichtigen, insbesondere den spektralen und räumlichen Einfluss des Sensors. Darüber hinaus wird sowohl eine möglichst gute Kenntnis spektroskopischer Molekül- und Aerosoldaten vorausgesetzt.

Die Inversion bzw. das Retrieval, also die Ermittlung der gesuchten atmosphärischen Parameter aus den Fernerkundungsmessdaten, erfolgt meist mit numerischen Optimierungsverfahren. In der Praxis geschieht das durch Vergleich der Messdaten mit den von einem geeigneten Modell des Messprozesses (Vorwärtsmodell) und einem geschätzten Parameter-Satz simulierter Daten. Da das Spektrum in der Regel in nichtlinearer Weise von den gesuchten Zustandsgrößen abhängt, erfordert die Auswertung meist iterative Ausgleichsverfahren (Least-Squares). Ausgehend von einem angenommenen Atmosphärenzustandsvektor wird durch die Vorwärtsrechnung ein Spektrum simuliert und mit dem gemessenen Spektrum verglichen. Nach geeigneter Anpassung des Zustandsvektors wird dies so lange wiederholt, bis das simulierte und gemessene Spektrum hinreichend genau übereinstimmen. Vor allem im UV/VIS haben sich zudem differentielle Methoden ohne Vorwärtsmodellierung (DOAS – Differential Optical Absorption Spectroscopy) etabliert. In neuerer Zeit kommen außerdem Neuronale Netze zum Einsatz, wie beispielsweise bei der GOME-Prozessierung. Die meisten Inversionsalgorithmen müssen mit einer Vielzahl von Parametern versehen werden. Neben der Selektion der Messdaten (gegebenenfalls auch der Auswahl geeigneter spektraler Micro-Windows) und der Festlegung der abzuleitenden Größen beinhaltet dies sowohl die Bereitstellung zusätzlicher Parameter für das Inversionsprogramm und das Strahlungstransport-Programm. Letztlich beginnt der Prozess jedoch bereits beim Design des Inversions-Algorithmus, z.B. bei der Auswahl mathematischer Routinen.

Jede exakte Behandlung des Strahlungstransfers muss die Streuung der elektromagnetischen Strahlung an Molekülen und Aerosolteilchen in der Atmosphäre berücksichtigen. Physikalisch betrachtet, handelt es sich dabei um die Wechselwirkung einer ebenen elektromagnetischen Welle mit einer dreidimensionalen Struktur, die durch ihre Geometrie sowie ihre dielektrischen Eigenschaften charakterisiert ist. Die theoretische Beschreibung dieses Prozesses muss einen Zusammenhang zwischen den Freiheitsgraden der Welle vor und nach der Wechselwirkung herstellen, sodass sich daraus streurelevante Messgrössen ableiten lassen. In der Fernerkundung der Erdatmosphäre gewinnt die Streuung elektromagnetischer Wellen an nichtsphärischen Teilchen zunehmend an Bedeutung. Die Modellierung dieses Problems ist deutlich komplexer als im Fall von sphärischen Streupartikeln im Rahmen der Mie-Theorie. Das betrifft sowohl den rechentechnischen Aufwand als auch das wesentlich komplexere Konvergenzverhalten der zur Verfügung stehenden Verfahren. Streudatenbanken nichtsphärischer Teilchen mit definierter Genauigkeit können hier Abhilfe schaffen, da sie den "fernerkundlichen" Anwender vom rechentechnischen Aufwand als auch von der Beurteilung der zugrundeliegenden Streumodelle entlasten.


Kontakt
Dr.rer.nat. Tom Rother
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung
, Atmosphärenprozessoren
Tel: +49 3981 480-167

Mobil:

Fax: +49 3981 480-299

E-Mail: Tom.Rother@dlr.de
Dr.rer.nat. Franz Schreier
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung
, Atmosphärenprozessoren
Tel: +49 8153 28-1234

Fax: +49 8153 28-1446

E-Mail: Franz.Schreier@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5417/9373_read-18061/