Team: Sensor-specific Methods



A basic precondition for obtaining successful measurements of the earth’s atmosphere from remote sensing satellites is being able to convert with high precision the recorded spectral signals into physical quantities and to maintain this process over the entire duration of the satellite mission. Which steps have to be taken into account for this purpose depends on the characteristics of the recording instrument. It can also be necessary to take into account the influence of the platform bearing the instrument. At present the Atmospheric Processors department is exclusively concerned with atmosphere missions supplying data in the UV to SWIR spectral ranges. So-called retrieval is a process by which the desired geophysical parameters are extracted from calibrated spectra (radiation densities), usually by analyzing the recorded absorption characteristics. Therefore, the calibration undertaken by the team is limited to absorption spectrometers, which operate in this spectral range.

On principle, calibration involves the transfer of electronic detector signals, which exist as binary units, into physical quantities. This is accomplished by sequential application of calibration steps as specified in a calibration equation. In general, this equation relates the incoming wavelength-dependent intensity to the measured signal for each spectrometer. The influences of transmission, quantum efficiency, scattered light, dark current and electronic effects need to be taken into account. The calibration task consists in solving this equation for each detector pixel and obtaining by inversion the intensity as a function of wavelength, in other words, the spectrum. The following steps are necessary for calibration:

  • Correction for detector and electronic effects: these can be, for example, nonlinearity, dark signals, and differences in the response behavior of individual pixels
  • Wavelength calibration: a wavelength is assigned to each individual pixel, which is accomplished either by analyzing special calibration lamps on the instrument or with the help of natural light sources, such as the Fraunhofer lines of the sun. The precondition is precise knowledge of the line positions of the light source
  • Correction for light scattered by the optical system: a distinction is made between 
    • Light scattered by reflection(s) within the instrument, which diverts light of specific wavelengths to pixels which should not detect light of this wavelength (spectrally scattered light) and
    • Light scattered from outside the direct field of view into the telescope (spatially scattered light)
  • Correcting for polarization effects: the transmission behavior of optical instruments is also a function of the polarization unless special countermeasures are taken. In order to prevent polarization from distorting the spectrum it is usually measured, analyzed and corrected.
  • Radiometric calibration, which converts the signal received at the detector into physical measurements, such as watts per square meter per wavelength per solid angle, with the help of data from measurements of calibrated light sources.

After all these steps have been taken, the wavelength-dependent reflectance can be calculated, in other words, the quotient of earth’s radiation density and solar radiation (irradiance). Reflectances are the foundation for trace gas retrieval.

The parameters required for calibration are determined during extensive ground testing as the instrument is developed. Thus all the information needed to calibrate the sensor is available at the time of launching. But these calibration parameters do not remain constant throughout the mission. Ambient conditions such as temperature or radiation load vary over the course of an orbit. In addition, optical and electronic components degrade in orbit. It is therefore necessary to carry out regular calibration and monitoring measurements during missions. Their analysis allows conclusions about changes in the calibration parameters and aging effects which have to be taken into account.

The final goal of a complete calibration procedure is to generate highly precise spectra from which geophysical parameters which are as exact as possible can be derived with the help of retrieval algorithms.


Contact
Dr.rer.nat. Günter Lichtenberg
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Remote Sensing Technology Institute
, Atmospheric Processors
Tel: +49 8153 28-1331

Fax: +49 8153 28-1446

E-Mail: Guenter.Lichtenberg@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5419/9376_read-18074/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.iup.physik.uni-bremen.de/sciamachy/LTM/LTM.html
http://earth.esa.int/services/SciaL1C_tool/SciaL1c_SUM_6.0B.pdf

Team: Sensorspezifische Verfahren



Eine der Grundvoraussetzungen für erfolgreiche satellitengestützte Fernerkundungsmessungen der Erdatmosphäre ist die Fähigkeit, das registrierte spektrale Signal mit hoher Genauigkeit in physikalische Größen umzuwandeln und diesen Prozess über die gesamte Dauer der Satellitenmission aufrechtzuerhalten. Welche Schritte hierbei berücksichtigt werden müssen, hängt von den Eigenschaften des Instruments ab. Zusätzlich kann es erforderlich sein, auch Einflüsse der instrumententragenden Plattform mit einzubeziehen. Momentan befasst sich IMF-AP ausschließlich mit Atmosphärenmissionen, die im UV bis SWIR Spektralbereich arbeiten. Das sogenannte Retrieval extrahiert aus kalibrierten Spektren (Strahldichten) die gesuchten geophysikalischen Parameter, meistens durch Auswertung der beobachteten Absorptionsmerkmale. Deshalb umfasst die von uns durchgeführte Kalibrierung ausschließlich Absorptionsspektrometer.

Prinzipiell besteht die Aufgabe der Kalibrierung darin, elektronische Detektorsignale, die als Binäreinheiten vorliegen, in physikalische Größen zu transferieren. Dies geschieht durch sequentielle Anwendung von Kalibrierschritten gemäß einer Kalibriergleichung. Im Allgemeinen stellt diese für jedes Spektrometer einen Zusammenhang zwischen der einfallenden wellenlängenabhängigen Intensität und dem gemessenen Signal her. Dabei müssen die Einflüsse von Transmission, Quanteneffizienz, Streulicht, Dunkelstrom sowie elektronischer Effekte berücksichtigt werden. Die Aufgabe der Kalibrierung besteht darin, diese Gleichung für jedes Detektorpixel zu lösen und durch Inversion die Intensität als Funktion der Wellenlänge, d.h. das Spektrum zu erhalten. Folgende Schritte sind für die Kalibrierung nötig:

  • Korrektur von Detektoreffekten und elektronischen Effekten: Das können z. B. Nichtlinearität, Dunkelsignal und den Unterschieden im Antwortverhalten einzelner Pixel sein.
  • Wellenlängenkalibrierung: Sie weist jedem einzelnen Pixel eine Wellenlänge zu. Dies geschieht entweder durch Auswertung von speziellen Eichlampen an Bord des Instrumentes oder mit Hilfe von natürlichen Lichtquellen, z. B. mit Fraunhoferlinien der Sonne. Voraussetzung dafür ist, die Linienpositionen der Lichtquellen sehr gut zu kennen.
  • Korrektur des Streulichtes der Optik: Man unterscheidet zwischen:
    • Streulicht durch Reflektion(en) im Instrument, die Licht bestimmter Wellenlänge auf Pixel lenken, die bei dieser Wellenlänge kein Licht empfangen sollten (spektrales Streulicht) und 
    • Licht, welches von außerhalb des direkten Sichtfeldes in das Teleskop gestreut wird (räumliches Streulicht)
  • Korrektur von Polarisationseffekten: Ohne spezielle Vorkehrungen ist die Transmission optischer Instrumente im Allgemeinen auch abhängig von der Polarisation. Um zu verhindern, dass die Polarisation das Spektrum verfälscht, wird diese üblicherweise gemessen, analysiert und korrigiert.
  • Radiometrische Kalibrierung, welche das Signal am Detektor mit Hilfe von Daten aus Messungen kalibrierter Lichtquellen in physikalische Messeinheiten umwandeln, z. B. Watt pro Quadratmeter pro Wellenlänge pro Raumwinkel.

Sind alle diese Schritte vollzogen, kann man die wellenlängenabhängige Reflektanz berechnen, d.h. den Quotienten aus Erdstrahldichte und solarer Einstrahlung (Irradianz). Reflektanzen bilden die Grundlage für das Spurengasretrieval.
  
Die für die Durchführung der Kalibrierung nötigen Parameter werden in der Entwicklung eines Instruments im Rahmen umfangreicher Bodentests bestimmt. Beim Start liegen damit alle Informationen vor, um den Sensor zu eichen. Jedoch sind die Kalibrierparameter während der Mission nicht konstant. Während eines Erdumlaufs ändern sich die Umgebungsbedingungen wie beispielsweise Temperatur oder Strahlungsbelastung. Zusätzlich degradieren optische und elektronische Komponenten im Orbit. Deshalb ist es erforderlich, während der Mission regelmäßig Kalibrierungs- und Monitoringmessungen auszuführen, deren Analyse Aufschluss gibt über Änderungen der Kalibrierungsparameter sowie zu berücksichtigende Alterungseffekte.
  
Ziel einer vollständigen Kalibrierung ist letztendlich, hochgenaue Spektren zur Verfügung zu stellen, aus denen unter Anwendung von Retrievalalgorithmen geophysikalische Parameter mit maximaler Genauigkeit ableitbar sind.


Kontakt
Dr.rer.nat. Günter Lichtenberg
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung
, Atmosphärenprozessoren
Tel: +49 8153 28-1331

Fax: +49 8153 28-1446

E-Mail: Guenter.Lichtenberg@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5419/9376_read-18074/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.iup.physik.uni-bremen.de/sciamachy/LTM/LTM.html
http://earth.esa.int/services/SciaL1C_tool/SciaL1c_SUM_6.0B.pdf