Department: Land Surface



The surface of our planet undergoes constant change. From exogenic and endogenic geological processes to global climate fluctuations to regional and local human interventions, processes are continually occurring on the surface of the earth which lead to significant changes in the character and usefulness of particular land segments. Examples are erosion, bushfires, desertification, large-scale ground clearance and urban sprawl.
These changes can be identified and analyzed with the help of remote sensing methodologies.
The Land Surface department of the German Remote Sensing Data Center functions as a link connecting the engineering-related activities of the Earth Observation Center (EOC) with the applied geosciences and their spatially dispersed applications
Remote sensing methodologies based on a wide variety of earth observation systems (spatial resolution, optical, SAR) are customized or newly developed for particular application scenarios. By selecting the right sensor systems and appropriate methodologies, the Land Surface department is in a position to provide the specific information products desired in fields such as geology, soil science, geography, agriculture and forestry.
Close liaison with the technical DFD departments such as the ground segments and information technology makes it possible to promptly process immense quantities of data.
Knowing the user requirements in the various application fields helps the Land Surface department to derive systems and mission requirements for new optical earth observation missions. These can in turn be proposed to ESA or national space agencies and subsequently carried out together with other DLR institutes and industrial partners.

The specific activities of the department can be described as follows:

  • Developing geoinformation products based on remote sensing approaches in close cooperation with users,
  • Developing and implementing operational processing chains to produce these products,
  • Developing information systems which combine these products with other types of information, such as from questionnaires or statistical analyses, to support complex decision-making processes,
  • Defining systems and mission parameters for new optical earth observation missions, mission supervision, and user support.

Contact
Andreas Müller
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Land Surface
Tel: +49 8153 28-1533

Fax: +49 8153 28-1458

E-Mail: Andreas.Mueller@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6205/10524_read-23293/

Abteilung: Landoberfläche



Die Oberfläche unseres Planeten ist ständigen Veränderungen unterworfen. Von den exogenen und endogenen geologischen Prozessen über globale Klimaschwankungen bis hin zu regionalen und lokalen Eingriffen des Menschen laufen ständig Prozesse an der Erdoberfläche ab, die signifikante Änderungen in der Beschaffenheit und Nutzbarkeit von Flächeneinheiten herbeiführen. Beispiele sind Erosion, Buschfeuer, Wüstenbildung, großflächige Rodungen und Urban Sprawl.
Diese Veränderungen können mit Hilfe fernerkundlicher Methoden erfasst und beurteilt werden.
Die Abteilung Landoberfläche des Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrums versteht sich als Bindeglied zwischen der ingenieurtechnisch orientierten Einrichtung des Erdbeobachtungszentrums (EOC) und den angewandten Geowissenschaften und deren räumlich verteilten Anwendungen.
Fernerkundungsmethoden basierend auf den unterschiedlichsten Erdbeobachtungssystemen (räuml. Auflösung, optisch, SAR) werden spezifisch für die jeweiligen Anwendungsszenarien angepasst oder entwickelt. Durch die Wahl der richtigen Sensorik und der adäquaten Methoden ist die Abteilung Landoberfläche in der Lage, die von Geologie, Bodenkunde, Geographie oder Land- und Forstwirtschaft nachgefragten spezifischen Informationsprodukte zu liefern.
Die enge Vernetzung mit den technischen DFD-Abteilungen des Bodensegments und Informationstechnologie erlaubt großen Datendurchsatz sowie zeitnahe Verarbeitung.
Die Kenntnis der Nutzeranforderungen aus den unterschiedlichen Anwendungsbereichen nutzt die Abteilung Landoberfäche zur Ableitung von System- und Missionsanforderungen für neue optische Erdbeobachtungsmissionen, die dann bei der ESA oder nationalen Raumfahrtorganisationen beantragt und in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen DLR-Instituten und Industriepartnern realisiert werden können.

Die Aufgaben der Abteilung sind im Einzelnen:

  • Fernerkundungsbasierte Geo-Informationsprodukte in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Nutzern zu entwickeln,
  • die Entwicklung und Implementierung von operationellen Verarbeitungsketten zur Erstellung dieser Produkte
  • die Entwicklung von Informationssystemen, die durch Kombination und Verschneidung dieser Produkte mit anderen Informationen wie z.B. Zensus oder statistisch erhobenen Daten, komplexe Entscheidungen unterstützen
  • Definition von System- und Missionsparameter neuer Erdbeobachtungsmissionen im optischen Bereich, Missionsbegleitung und Nutzerbetreuung

 


Kontakt
Andreas Müller
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Landoberfläche
Tel: +49 8153 28-1533

Fax: +49 8153 28-1458

E-Mail: Andreas.Mueller@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6205/10524_read-23293/