Joint Topic: Geomatics



Processing geodata and using geographical information systems have for many years been main items of interest in the DFD departments concerned with applications for remote sensing data. Dealing with geodata has become almost a matter of course worldwide and a permanent part of many Internet applications, and is now incorporated in traditional IT infrastructures.

In day-to-day project work, these new circumstances have led to an increased need for expertise and tools and to calls for even more rapid and reliable availability of data and information as well as timely distribution of results and data products.

The Geomatics project team in the Civil Crisis Information and Geo-Risks department develops concepts and approaches for homogenizing and coordinating work processes and supports the department in developing data and information products, methodologies, services and prototypes.

Because of the multidisciplinary nature of this topic, there is close cooperation in design and implementation efforts between the Geomatics project team and colleagues in the Information Technology Department as well as in other DFD departments concerned with applications for remote sensing data.


Contact
Ralph Kiefl
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Geo-Risks and Civil Security
Tel: +49 8153 28-1423

Fax: +49 8153 28-1445

E-Mail: Ralph.Kiefl@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6458/10538_read-23365/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Team: Information Systems and Geomatics (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5413/10560_read-23461/usetemplate-print/)

Querschnittsthema: Geomatik



Die Verarbeitung von Geodaten und die Anwendung Geographischer Informationssysteme ist seit vielen Jahren ein Kernthema in den Anwendungsabteilungen des DFD. Weltweit ist der Umgang mit Geodaten mittlerweile fast alltäglich und ein fester Bestandteil vieler Internetanwendungen geworden und hat auch in klassische IT-Infrastrukturen Einzug gehalten.

In der täglichen Projektarbeit führen die geänderten Rahmenbedingungen zu einem zunehmenden Bedarf an Fachwissen und Werkzeugen, sowie zu einer Forderung nach schneller und zuverlässiger Verfügbarkeit von Daten und Informationen und einer zeitnahen Verbreitung von Ergebnissen und Produkten.

Die Arbeitsgruppe Geomatik der Abteilung „Zivile Kriseninformation und GeoRisiken“ entwickelt Konzepte und Lösungen für die Homogenisierung und Koordinierung von Arbeitsprozessen und bietet innerhalb der Abteilung Unterstützung bei der Entwicklung von Daten- und Informationsprodukten sowie von Verfahren, Diensten und Prototypen an.

Aufgrund des fachübergreifenden Charakters dieses Querschnittsthemas besteht bei der Konzeption und Umsetzung eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Arbeitsgruppe Geomatik und Kollegen der Abteilung Informationstechnik (DFD-INF) sowie den übrigen Anwendungsabteilungen des DFD.


Kontakt
Ralph Kiefl
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Georisiken und Zivile Sicherheit
Tel: +49 8153 28-1423

Fax: +49 8153 28-1445

E-Mail: Ralph.Kiefl@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-6458/10538_read-23365/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Team: Informationssysteme und Geomatik (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5413/10560_read-23461/usetemplate-print/)