Visit of Czech Prime Minister Nečas

February 21, 2013

 Visit of Czech Prime Minister Nečas
zum Bild Visit of Czech Prime Minister Nečas
.
 The Delegation at the Center for Satellite Based Crisis Information (ZKI)
zum Bild The Delegation at the Center for Satellite Based Crisis Information (ZKI)
The European GNSS Agency (GSA) has moved its headquarters from Brussels to Prague. This was an occasion for Petr Nečas, Prime Minister of the Czech Republic, to visit the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in Oberpfaffenhofen on 21 February 2013. DLR Executive Board member Professor Hansjörg Dittus welcomed the delegation, which was complemented by the Bavarian Premier Horst Seehofer and the Bavarian Minister of Economic Affairs, Infrastructure, Transportation and Technology, Martin Zeil.

Prime Minister Nečas took advantage of the visit to DLR to inform himself especially about the latest developments concerning the European satellite navigation system Galileo. A focal point of the program was accordingly the Galileo Control Center.

This control center is responsible for controlling the Galileo satellites and is operated by a DLR subsidiary on behalf of the European Commission, namely the DLR Gesellschaft für Raumfahrtanwendungen (GfR) mbH. Four out of a final total of 30 navigation satellites have been in earth orbit since October 2012. Autonomous position determination based solely on Galileo satellite signals is planned for first demonstration this spring.

In addition, GSA monitors another satellite-based navigation project in Prague – EGNOS (European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service). This augmenting system increases the position accuracy of GPS satellite navigation for European locations and provides integrity information for security applications. Linking EGNOS and Galileo would bring advantages in the areas of operational reliability and cost effectiveness.

Another part of the program in Oberpfaffenhofen dealt with the subject of civil protection at the Center for Satellite Based Crisis Information (ZKI). Experts at ZKI provide on request up-to-date satellite-based maps for natural and environmental disasters, humanitarian aid activities, and civil security needs worldwide. Because it is embedded in a research environment, this EOC service facility can immediately apply the latest research results.

The Czech and Bavarian delegation of ministers was also interested in DLR’s current atmosphere and climate research. The research flight department was able to present Europe’s most modern research airplane, HALO (High Altitude and Long Range Research Aircraft). Based on a business jet, this aircraft has been customized for science missions. HALO makes it possible for scientists to make comprehensive and unique measurements of the atmosphere. Valuable insights for climate and environmental protection can be obtained from these new data sets.




Contact
Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Director DFD
Tel: +49 8153 28-2885

Fax: +49 8153 28-3444

E-Mail: Stefan.Dech@dlr.de
Bernadette Jung
German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Oberpfaffenhofen

Tel: +49 8153 28-2251

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243

E-Mail: Bernadette.Jung@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8297/14218_read-36274/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10293/427_read-6356/year-all/

Besuch des Tschechischen Premierministers Nečas

21. Februar 2013

 Besuch des Tschechischen Premierministers Nečas im ZKI
zum Bild Besuch des Tschechischen Premierministers Nečas im ZKI
.
 Die Delegation im ZKI
zum Bild Die Delegation im ZKI
Die Agentur für das Europäische Globale Satellitennavigationssystem (GSA), hat ihren Sitz von Brüssel nach Prag verlegt. Aus diesem Anlass besuchte Petr Nečas, Premierminister der Tschechischen Republik, am 21. Februar 2013 das Deutsche Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Oberpfaffenhofen. DLR-Vorstandsmitglied Professor Hansjörg Dittus empfing die Delegation, die durch den bayerischen Ministerpräsidenten Horst Seehofer und den bayerischen Staatsminister für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Verkehr und Technologie Martin Zeil vervollständigt wurde.

Premierminister Nečas nutzte den Besuch beim DLR insbesondere, um sich über den neuesten Stand des europäischen Satellitennavigationssystems Galileo zu informieren. Ein Programmschwerpunkt bildete somit das Galileo-Kontrollzentrum.

Das Kontrollzentrum ist für die Steuerung der Galileo-Satelliten zuständig und wird im Auftrag der europäischen Kommission von einem Tochterunternehmen des DLR betrieben, der DLR Gesellschaft für Raumfahrtanwendungen (GfR) mbH. Seit Oktober 2012 befinden sich vier der zukünftig insgesamt 30 Navigationssatelliten in der Erdumlaufbahn. Autonome Ortsbestimmungen nur auf Basis von Galileo-Satellitensignalen können voraussichtlich noch in diesem Frühjahr erstmals durchgeführt werden.

Die GSA in Prag überwacht zudem ein weiteres Projekt zur satellitengestützten Navigation - EGNOS (European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service). Das Erweiterungssystem steigert die Positionsgenauigkeit der GPS-Satellitennavigation für europäische Regionen und liefert Integritätsinformationen für sicherheitskritische Anwendungen. Eine Verknüpfung von EGNOS mit Galileo würde Vorteile in den Bereichen Betriebssicherheit und Wirtschaftlichkeit bringen.

Als weiterer Programmpunkt in Oberpfaffenhofen wurde im Zentrum für satellitengestützte Kriseninformation (ZKI) das Thema Bevölkerungsschutz vertieft. Dort stellen Experten auf Abruf hochaktuelle Satellitenbildkarten bereit – bei Natur- und Umweltkatastrophen, für humanitäre Hilfsaktivitäten und die zivile Sicherheit weltweit. Die Service-Einrichtung des DLR bietet zudem einen besonderen Vorteil: durch ihr Forschungsumfeld kann das ZKI neueste Entwicklungen direkt in die Anwendung bringen.

Darüber hinaus zeigte sich die tschechische und bayerische Ministerdelegation auch an der aktuellen Atmosphären- und Klimaforschung des DLR interessiert. Die Forschungsflugabteilung präsentierte dazu das modernste Forschungsflugzeug Europas: HALO (High Altitude and Long Range Research Aircraft). Basierend auf einem Business Jet und wurde es für wissenschaftliche Einsätze speziell umgebaut. HALO ermöglicht den Wissenschaftlern umfassende und einzigartige Messungen in der Atmosphäre. Aus diesen neuen Datensätzen gewinnen sie wertvolle Erkenntnisse für den Klima- und Umweltschutz.



Kontakt
Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Leitung DFD
Tel: +49 8153 28-2885

Fax: +49 8153 28-3444

E-Mail: Stefan.Dech@dlr.de
Bernadette Jung
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation Oberpfaffenhofen

Tel: +49 8153 28-2251

Fax: +49 8153 28-1243

E-Mail: Bernadette.Jung@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8297/14218_read-36274/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/dlr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-10293/427_read-6356/year-all/