5th TerraSAR-X and 4th TanDEM-X Science Team Meetings

July 08, 2013

 Science Team Meeting, Fig. 1
zum Bild Science Team Meeting, Fig. 1
.
 Science Team Meeting, Fig. 1
zum Bild Science Team Meeting, Fig. 1
.
 Science Team Meeting, Fig. 3
zum Bild Science Team Meeting, Fig. 3
.
 Science Team Meeting, Fig. 4
zum Bild Science Team Meeting, Fig. 4

TerraSAR-X is an innovative earth observation satellite that has been supplying radar images since early 2008 at a level of detail previously unavailable for civilian purposes. With the help of its radar antenna it can monitor Earth’s surface independent of cloud cover and time of day. Since 2010 TerraSAR-X has been flying in close formation with its sister satellite TanDEM-X to record data for a high-resolution global digital elevation model.

The research teams represented at these meetings analyze time series for the questions they are variously investigating. In addition to research on the causes and consequences of global change, the satellite is also used to study geophysical topics.

To monitor volcanos or conduct earthquake research, movements of the earth surface are recorded using an interferometric approach and the resulting measurements are compared with modeling results. The models themselves are then further refined, leading to improve understanding of the ongoing processes. For example, with the help of a TerraSAR-X time series GFZ was for the first time able to study the spatial development of the conduit system and the magma chambers of Colima volcano in Mexico. The high spatial and temporal resolution of TerraSAR-X data is also increasingly being exploited to monitor infrastructure like bridges, dams and buildings.

After the various applications for SAR interferometry, polar research was the focus of the next largest group of participants. TerraSAR-X data are being used to record and tally up ice masses especially in Greenland and the Antarctic. The University of Miami, for example, is investigating the effects of the retreat of ice masses on the surrounding terrain. Uplifts up to several centimeters annually were ascertained near Vatnajökull glacier on Iceland and Barnes glacier on Baffin Island in northern Canada. Both glaciers are experiencing a considerable loss of ice mass. Compared with the last TerraSAR-X science team meetings there were more projects relating to the Himalayas and to changes in permafrost regions.




Contact
Achim Roth
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Land Surface
Tel: +49 8153 28-2706

Fax: +49 8153 28-1445
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8297/14218_read-37295/

5. TerraSAR-X und 4. TanDEM-X Science Team Meetings

08. Juli 2013

 Science Team Meeting, Abb. 1
zum Bild Science Team Meeting, Abb. 1
.
 Science Team Meeting, Abb. 1
zum Bild Science Team Meeting, Abb. 1
.
 Science Team Meeting, Abb. 3
zum Bild Science Team Meeting, Abb. 3
.
 Science Team Meeting, Abb. 4
zum Bild Science Team Meeting, Abb. 4
TerraSAR-X ist ein neuartiger Erdbeobachtungssatellit, der seit Anfang 2008 Radaraufnahmen in einer Detailschärfe liefert, wie sie vorher für zivile Zwecke noch nicht zur Verfügung stand. Mit Hilfe seiner Radarantenne kann er unabhängig von Wolkenbedeckung und Sonnenstand die Erdoberfläche beobachten. Seit 2010 fliegen zusätzlich die beiden Satelliten TerraSAR-X und TanDEM-X in einer engen Formation, um Daten für ein hochauflösendes globales Höhenmodell aufzuzeichnen.
Die vertretenen Forschungsteams analysieren Zeitreihen für ihre jeweiligen Fragestellungen. Neben der Erforschung der Ursachen und Auswirkungen des globalen Wandels wird der Satellit z.B. auch zur Untersuchung geophysikalischer Fragestellungen eingesetzt.

Bei der Beobachtung von Vulkanen oder zur Erdbebenforschung werden interferometrisch Bewegungen der Erdoberfläche erfasst und mit Modellierungsergebnissen verglichen. Die zugrunde liegenden Modelle werden weiterentwickelt und damit das Verständnis über die ablaufenden Prozesse verbessert. So hat z.B. das GFZ anhand einer TerraSAR-X Zeitreihe erstmalig die räumliche Entwicklung des Schlotsystems und der Magmakammern im Colima Vulkan in Mexiko untersuchen können. Die räumlich und zeitlich hohe Auflösung von TerraSAR-X wird zunehmend auch für die Beobachtung von Infrastrukturen wie z.B. Brücken, Dämmen oder Gebäuden verwendet.

Neben den verschiedenen Anwendungen der SAR-Interferometrie stellte die Polarforschung den größten Teilnehmerkreis. TerraSAR-X Daten werden zur Erfassung und Bilanzierung der Eismassen verwendet, besonders in Grönland und der Antarktis. Die University of Miami untersucht z.B. die Auswirkungen des Rückgangs der Eismassen auf das umgebende Gelände. So stellten sie Hebungen von bis zu einigen Zentimetern pro Jahr im Umfeld das Vatnajökull auf Island und des Barnes Gletschers auf Baffin Island in Nordkanada fest. Beide Gletscher verzeichnen einen erheblichen Verlust an Eismasse. Im Vergleich zu den letzten TerraSAR-X Science Team Meetings ist eine Zunahme der Projekte in der Himalaya-Region zu verzeichnen. Gleiches gilt für die Entwicklung des Permafrostbereichs.




Kontakt
Achim Roth
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Landoberfläche
Tel: +49 8153 28-2706

Fax: +49 8153 28-1445
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8297/14218_read-37295/