Dr. Robert Backhaus retires



After 27 years of dedicated service to DLR, Dr. Robert Backhaus was given an official farewell on the occasion of his well-deserved retirement. After a lecture by Dr. Backhaus on the UN-SPIDER program, Prof. Stefan Dech, director of the German Remote Sensing Data Center, paid tribute to Dr. Backhaus’ systems analysis approach to applying remote sensing to issues of environmental protection and planning and to his exceptional commitment to the UN-SPIDER program as a national remote sensing expert.

Robert Backhaus was employed by DLR since 1986, first as a science associate for an ESA study on using the microgravitation environment for investigations in the biological sciences. Later activities included coordinating the incorporation of space activities in program planning, and serving as interim head of the DFD branch in Köln. Since 2008 he has represented DLR as a senior expert for the United Nations in a program to promote the exploitation of aerospace opportunities for disaster management, particularly in developing countries.

From left to right: Dr. Stefan Voigt, Dr. Harald Mehl, Dr. Robert Backhaus, Prof. Stefan Dech, Dr. Konstanze Lechner, Dr. Monika Gähler, Prof. Günter Strunz, Hans Voss, Gunter Schreier und Dr. Joachim Post


 


Contact
Dr.rer.nat. Harald Mehl
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Geo-Risks and Civil Security
Tel: +49 8153 28-1137

Fax: +49 8153 28-1445

E-Mail: Harald.Mehl@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8297/14218_read-37324/

Verabschiedung von Dr. Robert Backhaus



Nach 27 Jahren Einsatz für das DLR wurde Dr. Robert Backhaus in den verdienten Ruhestand verabschiedet. Nach einem Vortrag von Dr. Backhaus über das UN-SPIDER Programm würdigte der Direktor des Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrums Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech dessen systemanalytische Arbeit zur Nutzung der Fernerkundung im Bereich des Umweltschutzes und der Umweltplanung und sein hohes Engagement als nationaler Fernerkundungsexperte im UN-SPIDER Programm.

Robert Backhaus war seit 1986 beim DLR tätig, zunächst als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Rahmen  einer ESA-Studie zur biowissenschaftlichen Nutzung der Mikrogravitation. Später folgten Tätigkeiten u.a. als Koordinator Raumfahrtnutzung in der Programmplanung, als kommissarischer Leiter der Hauptabteilung Systemanalyse Raumfahrt und als Leiter der DFD Außenstelle Köln. Seit 2008 vertrat er das DLR als Senior Expert bei den Vereinten Nationen in einem Programm, das die  Förderung der Raumfahrtnutzung für  das Katastrophenmanagement insbesondere in den Entwicklungsländern zum Ziel hat.

Von links: Dr. Stefan Voigt, Dr. Harald Mehl, Dr. Robert Backhaus, Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech, Dr. Konstanze Lechner, Dr. Monika Gähler, Prof. Dr. Günter Strunz, Hans Voss, Gunter Schreier und Dr. Joachim Post


 


Kontakt
Dr.rer.nat. Harald Mehl
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Georisiken und Zivile Sicherheit
Tel: +49 8153 28-1137

Fax: +49 8153 28-1445

E-Mail: Harald.Mehl@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8297/14218_read-37324/