Great Barrier Reef Mapped for the First Time in High Resolution – a Development with EOC Roots

11 December 2013

 

 
 Great Barrier Reef Bathymetry
zum Bild Great Barrier Reef Bathymetry
  First high resolution map of the entire reef from the World's biggest high resolution satellite bathymetry survey
   
 
 Great Barrier Reef Bathymetry
zum Bild Great Barrier Reef Bathymetry
  Very high (2m) resolution mapping of bathymetry and seaflor

For the first time the Great Barrier Reef has been completely mapped in high resolution. Earth’s largest coral reef extends for more than 2000 kilometres along the east coast of Australia and covers an area of ca. 350,000 square kilometres. The initial high resolution bathymetric measurements of this enormous area were made by EOMAP with the help of satellite data. The groundwork for this technology was laid at EOC. EOMAP is an EOC spin-off fostered by DLR.

The relevant research at DLR began in 1998 as part of German Research Foundation’s Collaborative Research Centre 454: ‘Lake Constance Shallow Water Zone’. In the first few years, efforts focused on mapping the lake bed with multispectral and hyperspectral sensors mounted on aircraft. Mapping water depth was originally only a by-product of this work. After EOMAP was founded as a DLR spin-off in 2006, the company further developed and optimized the optical methodology for mapping water depth, partly in cooperation with EOC. These methods are being employed today in diverse commercial projects related to coastal mapping.

For the Great Barrier Reef project, EOMAP employed the technology for the first time for routine mapping of very large areas. Data from the upcoming Sentinel satellite will provide a basis for worldwide mapping of water depth. EOC is currently establishing a satellite data infrastructure and processing environment to produce such geoinformation products. This will mean rapid access to data and their efficient processing for both the industrial and science sectors.

EOC cooperates toward this end with EOMAP in the context of tests with pilot processors integrated in the ground segment. The concept of operational data processing in a cloud environment for worldwide mapping of water depth was awarded a prize in the Copernicus Masters competition in November 2013.




Contact
Nils Sparwasser
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Science Communication and Visualization
Tel: +49 8153 28-1316

Fax: +49 8153 28-1313

E-Mail: Nils.Sparwasser@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8297/14218_read-38921/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.eomap.com/
http://www.copernicus-masters.com/index.php?kat=winners.html&anzeige=winner_t-systems2013.html

Great-Barrier-Reef erstmals in hoher Auflösung kartiert –
eine Entwicklung mit EOC-Wurzeln



 
 Great-Barrier-Reef Bathymetrie
zum Bild Great-Barrier-Reef Bathymetrie
  Erste hochauflösende bathymetrische Kartierung des gesamten australischen Great Barrier Reefs.
   
 
 Great-Barrier-Reef Bathymetrie
zum Bild Great-Barrier-Reef Bathymetrie
  Die satellitengestützte Kartierung zeigt das Riff und den Meeresboden in einer Auflösung von 2 Metern.

Erstmals ist das Great-Barrier-Reef in hoher Auflösung vollständig kartiert worden. Das größte Korallenriff der Erde erstreckt sich über mehr als 2000 Kilometer an der Ostküste Australiens und umfasst eine Fläche von ca. 350 000 Quadratkilometern. EOMAP hat diese enorme Fläche erstmals bathymetrisch mit der Hilfe von Satellitendaten in hoher Auflösung erfasst. Die Grundlage für die verwendete Technik ist am EOC entstanden. EOMAP ist eine vom DLR geförderte Ausgründung aus dem EOC.
 
Die Forschungsarbeiten am DLR begannen 1998 im Rahmen des Sonderforschungsbereichs 454 'Flachwasserzone Bodensee'. In den Anfangsjahren fokussierten die Arbeiten auf die Kartierung des Seegrundes mit flugzeuggestützten multi- und hyperspektralen Sensoren.  Die Kartierung der Wassertiefe war zunächst nur ein Nebenprodukt dieser Entwicklungen. Seit der Ausgründung aus dem DLR im Jahr 2006 hat EOMAP dann, teils in Kooperation mit dem EOC, die optischen Verfahren zur Wassertiefenkartierung weiterentwickelt und optimiert. Heute werden diese in diversen kommerziellen Projekten zur Küstenkartierung eingesetzt.
Mit dem Great-Barrier-Reef hat EOMAP die Technologie erstmals für sehr große Flächen in der Off-the-Shelf-Kartierung eingesetzt. Die Daten der kommenden Sentinel-Satelliten werden künftig die Basis für eine weltweite Kartierung der Wassertiefe liefern. Das EOC baut für derartige Geoinformationsprodukte derzeit eine Satellitendateninfrastruktur und Prozessierungsumgebung auf, die Industrie und Wissenschaft gleichermaßen einen schnellen Zugriff auf Daten und deren effiziente Prozessierung erlaubt.
Das EOC kooperiert hierzu mit EOMAP im Rahmen von Tests mit Pilot-Prozessoren im Ground-Segment. Für die weltweite Kartierung der Wassertiefe wurde das Konzept der operationellen Prozessierung in Cloud-Umgebungen im November 2013 mit dem Copernicus-Masters-Preis gewürdigt.
 


Kontakt
Nils Sparwasser
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Wissenschaftskommunikation und Visualisierung
Tel: +49 8153 28-1316

Fax: +49 8153 28-1313

E-Mail: Nils.Sparwasser@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8297/14218_read-38921/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.eomap.com/
http://www.copernicus-masters.com/index.php?kat=winners.html&anzeige=winner_t-systems2013.html