Data Management



Data management handles the data flow from acquisition, processing and archiving to user access inside the payload data ground segment of an Earth observation mission. It ensures a smooth flow of orders and requests throughout the system and provides monitoring and reporting functionalities.

At the EOC Earth observation data and products from missions and scientific projects are managed inside the "German Satellite Data Archive" D-SDA. D-SDA handles all aspects of managing large volumes of diverse data sets - its key services being data archiving, data administration, and data access. It incorporates the data management capabilities of a mission payload data ground segment with those of an Earth observation data center.

As the central EOC archiving infrastructure, D-SDA is currently hosting over 2.5 petabyte of Earth observation data and value-added products - distributed across two locations, Oberpfaffenhofen and Neustrelitz.

D-SDA uses high-capacity robotic tape libraries for data storage and high-performance servers for data archiving, cataloging, order management, and data retrieval. With a capacity of over 50 petabytes, the D-SDA robotic tape libraries are well-equipped for handling the data volumes of current and future satellite missions. Approximately 170 terabytes of disk cache ensure swift data transfers between archive and processing systems.

The "Data and Information Management System" DIMS is the data management software backbone of the D-SDA. DIMS software components are constantly evolving in collaboration with an industrial partner. Being highly configurable and scalable for a wide range of  data management  facilities  DIMS components are also used for example within the ESA Sentinel payload data ground segments.

Earth observation data are unique snapshots of the condition of Earth or atmosphere at a specific point in time. The EOC therefore puts particular emphasis on long-term data preservation with the objective to keep the valuable data and products accessible and useable for future generations.


Contact
Eberhard Mikusch
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Information Technology
Tel: +49 8153 28-2721

Fax: +49 8153 28-1448
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8804/15199_read-37552/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Department: Information Technology (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5288/10195_read-21913/usetemplate-print/)

Data Management



Das Datenmanagement hat im Bodensegment einer Erdbeobachtungsmission  die Aufgabe, den gesamten Fluss der Nutzlastdaten zu verwalten - vom Datenempfang über Prozessierung und Archivierung bis zum Datenzugang. Es stellt die reibungslose Abfolge von Bestellungen und Anfragen durch das Gesamtsystem sicher und ermöglicht ein systematisches Monitoring und die statistische Auswertung sämtlicher Vorgänge.

Im EOC werden die Erdbeobachtungsdaten der Missionen und wissenschaftlichen Projekte im deutschen Satellitendatenarchiv D-SDA verwaltet. Die Funktionen des D-SDA umfassen sämtliche Aspekte, die zur Verwaltung großvolumiger, jedoch höchst unterschiedlicher Datensätze notwendig sind. Archivierung, Datenadministration und Datenzugang sind die zentralen Aufgaben.  Das D-SDA vereint Datenmanagement-Funktionen eines Nutzlastbodensegmentes mit denen eines Erdbeobachtungsdatenzentrums.

Als zentrale Archivinfrastruktur des EOC verwaltet das D-SDA - verteilt über die beiden Standorte Oberpfaffenhofen und Neustrelitz - momentan über 2,5 Petabyte an Erdbeobachtungsdaten und höherwertigen Geoinformationsprodukten.

Auf der Hardwareseite wird das Datenmanagement des D-SDA durch Bandroboter mit hoher Speicherkapazität sowie hochperformante Server unterstützt. Mit einer Speicherkapazität von 50 Petabyte sind die Bandroboter des D-SDA gut gerüstet, um die großen Datenmengen derzeitiger und zukünftiger Satellitenmission zu verarbeiten. Zusätzlich sorgen ca. 170 Terabyte an Festplattenspeicher für einen schnellen Datentransfer zwischen  Archiv und Prozessierungssystemen.

Sofwareseitig ist das Daten- und Informationsmanagementsystem DIMS das Rückgrat des Datenmanagements im D-SDA. Die DIMS Software-Komponenten werden in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Industriepartner fortwährend weiterentwickelt. DIMS ist konfigurierbar und skalierbar, kommt   daher auch in anderen Einrichtungen - z.B. in den Bodensegmenten der ESA Sentinel-Missionen - zum Einsatz.

Erdbeobachtungsdaten sind einzigartige Momentaufnahmen des Zustandes der Erdoberfläche oder der Atmosphäre. Das EOC legt daher besonderen Wert auf die Langzeitarchivierung, damit der wertvolle Datenschatz für zukünfitge Generationen zugreifbar und nutzbar bleibt.



Kontakt
Eberhard Mikusch
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Informationstechnik
Tel: +49 8153 28-2721

Fax: +49 8153 28-1448
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8804/15199_read-37552/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Abteilung: Informationstechnik (http://www.dlr.de/eoc/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-5288/10195_read-21913/usetemplate-print/)