Flight Experiments



 

Flotte_OP

Head of Flight Experiments Facility:

Dipl.-Ing. Jürgen Fütterer

The DLR Facility Flight Experiments provides support to internal and external customers during planning and operational phases of flight test. Those flight experiments either use the aircraft as a carrier platform for scientific equipment or as a research object itself in aeronautical research. To fulfill such tasks, DLR Flight Experiments operates the largest fleet of civil research aeroplanes and helicopters in Europe. In times of tight budgets, besides competent and safe conduction of flight test, the efficiency of operation has grown in importance, too.

In order to achieve a high level of efficiency in planning and execution of flight experiments for each specific mission, highly motivated and specialized personnel is available at the facility. These persons include test pilots, flight test engineers, design engineers, maintenance personnel and mission planners. Continuous skill enhancement and training keeps their know-how up to date. Besides modern airborne test-bed technologies, the highly skilled personnel are the facility´s key to success in flight experiments.

The DLR Flight Experiments Facility is located at two sites within Germany. Whereas the Flight Department in Braunschweig has a focus on research that includes the aircraft itself, such as aerodynamics or air traffic management, the Flight Department Oberpfaffenhofen concentrates on flight experiments utilizing the aircraft as a sensor carrier, e.g. in atmospheric research or earth observation. As most of the DLR Institutes that are involved in airborne research are located either in Braunschweig or Oberpfaffenhofen, continuous access to the flying test-beds is assured, especially during the preparation phases of missions and campaigns.

In the scope of several investments over the last years, such as the acquirement of the Airbus A320 ATRA or the Gulfstream G550 HALO, an impressing infrastructure has been established in Braunschweig, as well as in Oberpfaffenhofen, strongly enhancing the abilities of DLR Flight Experiments. This includes hangars, operator laboratories, storage capacities, climate chambers, workshops and office rooms. Thanks to this new infrastructural potential, the quality of the work, both of the staff and of the scientists, has been enormously improved.


Contact
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Cord-Christian Rossow
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology
, Management
Tel: +49 531 295-2400

Fax: +49 531 295-2320

E-Mail: Cord.Rossow@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/fb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-3672/5727_read-8347/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Organigram (http://www.dlr.de/fb/en/Portaldata/51/Resources/dokumente/Organigr_FX_2012_de.pdf)

Flugexperimente



 

Flotte_OP

Einrichtungsleiter:

Dipl.-Ing. Jürgen Fütterer

Die Einrichtung Flugexperimente des DLR unterstützt die internen und externen Nutzer bei der Planung und Durchführung ihrer Flugexperimente. Diese Flugexperimente nutzen entweder das Luftfahrzeug als Träger für die Forschung mit dem Flugzeug oder Betrachten das Luftfahrtzeug als Objekt der Forschung im Rahmen der Forschung am Flugzeug. Für diese Aufgaben stehen der Einrichtung Flugexperimente die größte zivile Flotte von Forschungsflugzeugen und Hubschraubern zur Verfügung.In Zeiten knapper Budgets kommt neben der kompetenten und sichereren Durchführung der Flugexperimente zunehmend auch der Effizienz ihrer Durchführung steigende Bedeutung zu.

Zur missionsspezifisch und effizienten Planung und Durchführung der Flugexperimente verfügt die Einrichtung über hoch spezialisiertes und motiviertes Personal. Es handelt sich u.a. um Testpiloten, Flugversuchsingenieure, Entwicklungsingenieure, Wartungsspezialisten und Kampagnenplaner. Das Know-how dieser Spezialisten wird durch gezielte Fortbildung und Training immer auf dem aktuellen Stand gehalten. Neben den modernen Flugversuchsträgern mit ihren Modifikationen bildet das hoch qualifizierte Personal den wesentlichen Erfolgsfaktor für die Einrichtung Flugexperimente.

Entsprechend der Schwerpunktsetzung auf die Forschung am Flugzeug und Forschung mit dem Flugzeug siedelt sich die Einrichtung Flugexperimente an den Standorten Braunschweig und Oberpfaffenhofen an. Dort sind die wesentlichen Nutzerinstitute beheimatet und dadurch ist ein kontinuierlicher Zugang zu den Versuchsträgern sichergestellt, vor allem in den Vorbereitungsphasen zu den Kampagnen und Missionen.

An den beiden Standorten Braunschweig und Oberpfaffenhofen wurden in den letzten Jahren im Rahmen der Großinvestitionen Airbus A320 ATRA und Gulfstream G550 HALO beindruckende Infrastrukturen geschaffen, welche die technischen Fähigkeiten der Einrichtung Flugexperimente erheblich erweitert haben. Hierzu zählen Hangars, Nutzerlabore, Lager, Klimakammern, Werkstätten und Büroräume. Dank der neu errichteten Infrastrukturen wurde die Qualität der Arbeiten der nutzenden Wissenschaftler und der Mitarbeiter der Einrichtung Flugexperimente enorm gesteigert.


Kontakt
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Cord-Christian Rossow
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik
, Institutsleitung
Tel: +49 531 295-2400

Fax: +49 531 295-2320

E-Mail: Cord.Rossow@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/fb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-3672/5727_read-8347/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Organigramm (http://www.dlr.de/fb/Portaldata/51/Resources/dokumente/Organigr_FX__2013_deutsch.pdf)