Institute of Flight Guidance



Air traffic plays a crucial role in ensuring the mobility of people and goods around the globe. Environmental impact, aircraft noise and resistance to disruptions must be balanced with sufficient capacity in the air and on the ground. Decisive steps towards achieving this are efficient air traffic management and the optimisation of airport processes.

The Institute of Flight Guidance is working on the development and application of future processes and technologies for the integrated airborne and ground-based guidance of aircraft. This means using airspace more flexibly and efficiently and enabling airports to optimise throughput, while minimising fuel consumption and environmental impact. To this end, the Institute examines all technical and operational processes on board aircraft and on the ground (air navigation services and airports). Special attention is paid to the changing role of the human operator.

The Institute uses interdisciplinary research teams and an integrated test infrastructure to conduct basic and applied research starting with the idea through to application. The staff regularly cooperate with partners from universities, institutions and industry on German and international research projects. Such partnerships result in comprehensive ways to keep air traffic safe in the future, while also making it more efficient and robust.

 

Eckdaten des Instituts  
Site Research Airport Braunschweig-Wolfsburg
Director Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dirk Kügler
Staff 139
Departments 6
Key research areas

Airport and Ground Traffic Management
Air Traffic Management
Unmanned Aircraft Systems
Human-centered Automation
Validation Methodology and Tools


Contact
Prof. Dr. Dirk Kügler
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Flight Guidance

Tel: +49 531 295-2500

Fax: +49 531 295-2550

E-Mail: dirk.kuegler@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/fl/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1122/1578_read-2982/

Institut für Flugführung



Für die weltweite Mobilität von Menschen und Gütern spielt der Luftverkehr eine entscheidende Rolle. Umwelteinträge, Fluglärm und Robustheit gegenüber Störungen müssen mit ausreichenden Kapazitäten in der Luft und am Boden in Einklang gebracht werden. Entscheidende Schritte dazu sind ein effizientes Luftverkehrsmanagement und die Optimierung der Flughafenprozesse.

Das Institut für Flugführung arbeitet an der Entwicklung und Anwendung von zukünftigen Prozessen und Technologien für eine integrierte bord- und bodenseitige Führung von Luftfahrzeugen. Dies bedeutet, den Luftraum flexibler und effizienter zu nutzen und Flughäfen auf ein Optimum an Durchsatz bei einem Minimum an Treibstoffverbrauch und Umweltbelastung auszurichten. Dabei untersucht das Institut alle technischen und operationellen Prozesse an Bord von Flugzeugen und am Boden (Flugsicherung und Flughäfen). Der sich ändernden Rolle des menschlichen Operateurs wird hier eine besondere Bedeutung beigemessen.

In interdisziplinären Forscherteams und mittels einer integrierten Versuchsinfrastruktur führt das Institut grundlagenorientierte und anwendungsnahe Forschung von der Idee bis zur Anwendung durch. Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter arbeiten regelmäßig mit universitären, institutionellen und industriellen Partnern in nationalen und internationalen Forschungsprojekten zusammen. So entstehen übergreifende Beiträge, um den Luftverkehr der Zukunft weiterhin sicher, aber auch leistungsfähiger und robuster zu gestalten.

 

Eckdaten des Instituts  
Standort Forschungsflughafen Braunschweig-Wolfsburg
Leitung Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dirk Kügler
Mitarbeiter 142
Abteilungen 6
Forschungsschwerpunkte

Flughafen und Bodenverkehrsmanagement
Luftverkehrsmanagement
Unbemannte Luftfahrtsysteme
Menschzentrierte Automatisierung
Validierungsmethodik und -werkzeuge


Kontakt
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dirk Kügler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Flugführung

Tel: +49 531 295-2500

Fax: +49 531 295-2550

E-Mail: dirk.kuegler@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/fl/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1122/1578_read-2982/