Air Transportation



Research conducted in the department Air Transportation mainly focuses on model- and data-based performance assessments, performance-based airport management and advanced air traffic management concepts. Besides scientific research, methodical development and implementation of operational concepts as well as applied validations, the department also pursues ways to improve system modelling, analysis and assessment.

 

In the department Air Transportation, scientists and application developers work on key current scientific topics, while taking into account operational, technical and legal requirements. Yet the focus is also on the future ecological, economic and social challenges facing air transport.

Given its position between academic research and implementation in operations, the department Air Transportation acts as a fundamental bridge. Graduates of universities and universities of applied sciences are given a favourable environment to conduct their own research, actively pursue projects and present the results in (inter-)national forums. As an active partner in the Air Traffic Validation Center, the department Air Transportation is a major contributor to the success of this ambitious, interdisciplinary project by delivering methodical input (such as concept/scenario development, evaluation metrics and sensitivity analyses) and its comprehensive scientific and applied expertise.

The department Air Transportation is a key driver of applied research and ensures that the results of the research are transferred. A large number of application-oriented solutions have already been developed and implemented thanks to the successful cooperation with scientific research facilities and business enterprises.
 


Contact
Dr.-Ing. Michael Schultz
Institute of Flight Guidance
, Air Transportation
Tel: +49 531 295-2570

Fax: +49 531 295-2899

E-Mail: michael.schultz@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/fl/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1136/1579_read-2983/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://elib.dlr.de/cgi/search/archive/simple?screen=Search&dataset=archive&q_merge=ALL&q=&p_merge=ALL&p=&subjects=fl-lvs&subjects_merge=ANY&date=&satisfyall=ALL&order=-date%2Fcreators_name%2Ftitle&_action_search=Suchen

Luftverkehrssysteme



Der Schwerpunkt der Forschungsarbeiten der Abteilung Luftverkehrssysteme liegt auf den Themenbereichen Modell- und Daten-basierte Leistungsbewertung, Leistungsbasiertes Flughafenmanagement und Fortschrittliche Luftverkehrsmanagementkonzepte. Neben der wissenschaftlichen Forschung, der methodischen Entwicklung und Umsetzung von operationellen Konzepten sowie der anwendungsnahen Validierung wird in der Abteilung an verbesserten Methoden zur Systemmodellierung, -analyse und -bewertung gearbeitet. 

 

In der Abteilung Luftverkehrssysteme arbeiten Wissenschaftler und Anwendungsentwickler an aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunktthemen unter Berücksichtigung operationeller, technischer und rechtlicher Anforderungen. Aber auch die zukünftigen ökologischen, ökonomischen und gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen des Luftverkehrs stehen im Fokus.

Aufgrund der Positionierung zwischen universitärer Forschung und operativer Implementierung erfüllt die Abteilung Luftverkehrssysteme eine grundlegende Brückenfunktion. Absolventen von Universitäten und Fachhochschulen wird ein attraktives Umfeld geboten, um eigene Forschungsarbeiten durchzuführen, aktiv Projekte zu gestalten und die erreichten Ergebnisse auf (inter-) nationalen Foren zu präsentieren. Als aktiver Partner innerhalb des Validierungszentrums Luftverkehr trägt die Abteilung Luftverkehrssysteme durch ihre methodischen Zuarbeiten (bspw. Konzept-/Szenarienentwicklung, Bewertungsmetriken oder Sensitivitätsanalysen) und die umfangreiche wissenschaftliche und anwendungsnahe Expertise wesentlich zum Erfolg dieses ambitionierten, themenübergreifenden Vorhabens bei.

Die Abteilung Luftverkehrssysteme liefert wesentliche Impulse für die anwendungsnahe Forschung und stellt den Transfer der erzielten Forschungsergebnisse sicher. Durch die erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit mit wissenschaftlichen Forschungseinrichtungen und Wirtschaftsunternehmen konnten bereits eine Vielzahl von anwendungsnahen Lösungen entwickelt und umgesetzt werden.


Kontakt
Dr.-Ing. Michael Schultz
Institut für Flugführung
, Luftverkehrssysteme
Tel: +49 531 295-2570

Fax: +49 531 295-2899

E-Mail: michael.schultz@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/fl/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1136/1579_read-2983/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://elib.dlr.de/cgi/search/archive/simple?screen=Search&dataset=archive&q_merge=ALL&q=&p_merge=ALL&p=&subjects=fl-lvs&subjects_merge=ANY&date=&satisfyall=ALL&order=-date%2Fcreators_name%2Ftitle&_action_search=Suchen