Traffic Tower



DLR Traffic Tower
With the establishment of the Traffic Tower, the DLR develops a virtual traffic management centre. Whether traffic monitoring at big events or the evaluation of traffic control algorithms - the Traffic Tower supports the institute’s research efforts with virtual reproduction and simulation of road traffic control systems.

Equipment and Application

The Traffic Tower is equipped with systems and features for traffic simulation, estimation of traffic demand and display of traffic situations. The simulation software SUMO displays road traffic virtually and includes traffic demand as well as traffic control infrastructure. Real traffic situations are modelled in the simulation considering motorways and urban roads. By use of this technology the quality of control measures can be evaluated objectively and new methods of data fusion can be tested.

During online operation, actual measured values of real sensors can be integrated, enabling a prognosis of the monitored traffic. By modification of traffic demand, road infrastructure or control measures the traffic situations can be analysed according to different scenarios. Appropriate measures can then be optimised.

In order to set up and parameterise a simulation for a certain region, the Traffic Tower offers different methods and systems. A basic demand of a certain region can be calculated from a Germany-wide traffic demand matrix in combination with local matrices or traffic counts. Traffic assignment models will help creating trip lists from the given matrices which are being processed by the simulation as initial data. Algorithms for data fusion adapt the pre-calculated routes in the simulation according to actual measured values. This results in an areawide reproduction of the current traffic situation in the investigated a region.

Municipal as well as federal traffic centres can be linked with the Traffic Tower which can support them in their decisions by providing traffic simulations. Different hard- and software systems supporting connections to different systems e.g. corresponding to the standard of the federal basic software for traffic control centres (“Datenverteiler”).

The Traffic Tower has been designed like actual traffic- and other control centres with a wide screen, operator workstations and computer and server infrastructure.

Outlook

During the next steps the Traffic Tower will be expanded with systems mostly from the field of traffic control. Actually systems for the use during disasters and major events are being developed and made available. The focus is on decision support for traffic authorities and emergency forces. It is the aim to optimise traffic management during and after crises by the use of the developed applications.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/fs/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1237/5441_read-12154/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Traffic Management (http://www.dlr.de/fs/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1237/5441_read-7889/usetemplate-print/)

Traffic Tower



Mit dem Traffic Tower entwickelt das DLR eine virtuelle Verkehrsmanagementzentrale. Ob Verkehrsmonitoring bei Großveranstaltungen oder Evaluation von Verkehrssteuerungsalgorithmen – der Traffic Tower unterstützt die Forschung des Instituts durch die virtuelle Abbildung und die Simulation von Straßenverkehr und Verkehrsbeeinflussungsanlagen.

 

Ausstattung und Anwendung

Der Traffic Tower ist mit Systemen und Funktionen zur Simulation, Nachfrageberechnung und Verkehrslagedarstellung ausgestattet.

Die Simulationssoftware SUMO bildet den Straßenverkehr virtuell ab und bezieht dabei auch Verkehrsnachfrage und Verkehrssteuerungsinfrastruktur ein. Es entsteht eine virtuelle Abbildung realer Situationen und Gegebenheiten in der Simulation, die sowohl Autobahnen als auch Stadtstraßen berücksichtigt. Damit können beispielsweise die Qualität von Steuerungsverfahren objektiv bewertet oder neue Verfahren zur Datenfusion getestet werden.

Im Onlinebetrieb können aktuelle Messwerte realer Sensoren integriert werden, um die Entwicklung des Verkehrs in Echtzeit zu prognostizieren. Durch Änderung von Verkehrsnachfrage, Infrastruktur oder Steuerungsmaßnahmen in der Simulation können Verkehrssituationen szenarienbasiert analysiert und Maßnahmen optimiert werden.

Für die Simulation des Verkehrs einer Region verfügt der Traffic Tower über verschiedene Methoden und Systeme. Aus einer Verkehrsnachfragematrix für Deutschland wird in Kombination mit lokalen Matrizen oder statistischen Verkehrszählungen eine Grundnachfrage für die betreffende Region berechnet. Umlegungsmodelle erzeugen aus den Matrizen Fahrtenlisten, die als Eingangswerte Eingangswerte in die Simulation einfließen. Algorithmen zur Datenfusion passen in der Simulation die vorberechneten Routen den gemessenen Werten an, so dass eine flächige Abbildung der aktuellen Verkehrssituation einer Region entsteht.

Kommunale wie auch Verkehrsrechnerzentralen für Bundesautobahnen können mit dem Traffic Tower gekoppelt werden, um diese mit Verkehrssimulationen in ihren Entscheidungen zu unterstützen. Das ermöglichen diverse Hard- und Softwaresysteme, z.B. nach dem Standard des bundeseinheitlichen Software-Basissystems für Verkehrsrechnerzentralen („Datenverteiler“).

Die Räumlichkeiten des Traffic Towers sind realen Verkehrs- und Leitzentralen nachempfunden und ausgestattet mit Großbildleinwand, Operatorarbeitsplätzen, PC- und Serverinfrastruktur.

Ausblick

In den kommenden Entwicklungsstufen wird der Traffic Tower um Systeme vor allem im Bereich Verkehrssteuerung erweitert. Derzeit werden Systeme zur Anwendung im Katastrophen- und Ereignisfall entwickelt und im Traffic Tower verfügbar gemacht. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Entscheidungsunterstützung von Verkehrsbehörden und Einsatzkräften. Ziel ist es, das Verkehrsmanagement im Ereignisfall durch die entwickelten Anwendungen zu optimieren.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/fs/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1237/5441_read-12154/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Verkehrsmanagement (http://www.dlr.de/fs/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1237/5441_read-7889/usetemplate-print/)