Department SAR Technology (Priv.-Doz. Dr. Andreas Reigber)



F-SAR aboard the aircraft Do-228, P-band antenna mounted underneath the cockpit, (c) Renato Burkhart.

The department of SAR Technology in engaged in the operation of the institute’s airborne SAR system E-SAR, the construction of its improved successor F-SAR, as well as in the processing of the data acquired with these two sensors. The main research topics are the development and demonstration of new radar techniques and antennas, SAR processing as well as SAR polarimetry, interferometry and tomography.

The E-SAR system is operated on-board a Do-228 aircraft. E-SAR campaigns are performed for SME companies, universities, research institutes, as well as for European and international agencies. Due to the strong customer demand for high-resolution multimodal SAR data, a new and improved airborne SAR system, the F-SAR, is currently under development. The new system should entirely replace the E-SAR until 2010.

The research work performed with the E-SAR system delivers essential contributions for future space-borne SAR systems. The E-SAR system is used to simulate SAR data of future satellite SAR systems as well as to demonstrate new techniques (e.g. bi-static SAR or SAR tomography). An important research task of the department is the development of sensor-related applications, based e.g. on SAR polarimetry or tomography.

The department is divided into four groups, representing the entire end-to-end system expertise for airborne SAR within DLR. The groups are working closely together and contributing to the development of new concepts and techniques for satellite SAR projects in the other departments of the Institute.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/hr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2326/3445_read-5204/

Abteilung SAR Technologie (Priv.-Doz. Dr. Andreas Reigber)



F-SAR an Bord einer Do-228, P-Band-Antenne unter dem Cockpit montiert, (c) Renato Burkhart

Die Abteilung SAR Technologie beschäftigt sich mit dem operationellen Betrieb des institutseigenen flugzeuggetragenen Radarsystems mit synthetischer Apertur E-SAR, dem Aufbau des verbesserten Nachfolgesystems F-SAR, sowie mit der Verarbeitung der mit diesen beiden Sensoren gewonnenen Daten. Die hauptsächlichen Forschungsthemen sind die Entwicklung und Demonstration neuer Radartechniken und Antennen, SAR-Datenverarbeitung sowie SAR Polarimetrie, Interferometrie und Tomographie.

Das E-SAR System wird an Bord eines DLR Flugzeugs vom Typ Do-228 betrieben. E-SAR-Kampagnen werden für kleine und mittelgroße Unternehmen, Universitäten, Forschungsinstitute sowie europäische und internationale Agenturen geflogen. Infolge der regen Kundennachfrage nach sehr hochauflösenden multimodalen SAR-Daten wird am Institut derzeit ein neues, verbessertes SAR-System, das F-SAR, entwickelt. Das neue System soll das E-SAR bis zum Jahr 2010 vollständig ablösen.

 

Die mit dem E-SAR durchgeführten Forschungsarbeiten liefern einen entscheidenden Beitrag für die Entwicklung zukünftiger, weltraumgestützter SAR-Systeme. Das E-SAR-System wird u.a. dazu genutzt, um SAR-Daten zukünftiger Satellitensysteme zu simulieren und neue Techniken (wie Bi-Statik oder SAR-Tomographie) zu demonstrieren. Eine wichtige Forschungsaufgabe der Abteilung ist dabei, sensorbezogene Anwendungen zu entwickeln, die sich z.B. der SAR Polarimetrie oder der Tomographie bedienen. 

 

Die Abteilung ist in vier Arbeitsgruppen untergliedert und repräsentiert die gesamte 'End-to-End' Expertise für flugzeuggetragenes SAR im DLR. Die Gruppen arbeiten eng zusammen und tragen zur Entwicklung neuer Konzepte und Techniken für satellitengestütztes SAR in den anderen Abteilungen des Instituts bei.

 

 


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/hr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2326/3445_read-5204/