Signal Processing



Fully polarimetric E-SAR image of Oberpfaffenhofen, incl. DLR facilities in image center. Composite obtained from 2 dual-polarized
data takes in C-band (HH-green, HV-red, VV-blue)

Synthetic aperture radar systems usually require sophisticated signal processing treatment in order to allow the retrieval of the desired information from the data. Spatial resolution as well as radiometric and interferometric calibration accuracy have direct influence on the potential to measure or infer physical parameters.

The development of new algorithms to provide the required information and to improve the quality of the associated data products is an ongoing process. In addition the increasing amount of the acquired and processed E-SAR data poses strong requirements on efficient algorithm implementation. About 300-400 data takes per year where acquired during the last 4 years, corresponding in average to ca. 1GB of raw data per data take and also about 1 GB per processed data product.

E-SAR processor

The E-SAR processor includes:

  • the Extended Chirp Scaling (ECS) algorithm for image formation (high resolution, phase preserving, accurate motion error correction, no interpolations).
  • standard interferometric processing modules for single- and repeat-pass SAR interrferometry.
  • radiometric and polarimetric calibration.
  • geocoding modules for SAR image data and digital elevation models (DEMs).
  • segmentation & mosaic modules.


Linked to the requirements of high resolution and precise motion compensation together with the high number of flight campaigns abroad, the E-SAR processing software has been extensively adapted to run on individual LINUX-PC’s while assessing common data storage for the raw and processed data. During campaigns outside Europe (India, Indonesia, and Tunisia) this concept allowed on-site data processing and quality check.

E-SAR processing, data products and data archiving strategy
E-SAR data products

The E-SAR processor now provides the following operational products:

  • slant range polarimetric multilook and SLC data (Radar Geometry Images – RGI product).
  • Geocoded Terrain Corrected data (GTC product).
  • Digital Elevation Models (DEM product)
  • Repeat-Pass Interferometric data (RP-InSAR product, consisting of master & slave RGI products)

For archiving purposes, each data product is ingested into the Data Ingestion and Management System DIMS of the German Remote Sensing Data Center (DLR-DFD) allowing also world-wide access via EOWEB.

Recent Developments

  • DEM generation
  • Airborne Repeat-pass SAR Interferometry
  • Topographic motion compensation
  • Traffic Monitoring

Digital elevation model of Lago Maggiore area obtained from single-pass
interferometric E-SAR data in X-band (WGS-84, UTM zone 32)
DEM generation

Digital elevation models are one of the standard E-SAR products. However, large scale mapping is a challenge due to the small swath width of only 3,5 km. Therefore a mosaic procedure is used to generate large area DEMs. With the opportunity of data acquisition near Lago Maggiore (Italy) the mosaic procedure is extended to incorporate iterative topography adaptive compensation of residual motion errors. An elevation model covering an area of 15km by 15km was generated from 15 different tracks. Horizontal posting is 2m and height accuracy is better 2m rms (better 5m rms on steep slopes). Total height variation is about 1500m. Black areas correspond to lake areas (no signal information is available).

Airborne Repeat-pass SAR Interferometry

A dedicated processing chain for repeat-pass SAR interferometry was implemented which demands extremely high complexity in the processing chain. The accurate processing is a precondition to obtain high quality Pol-InSAR data products as input to the model based inversion approaches (more details Link to PolINSAR). The performance of standard airborne SAR processing is limited by the accuracy of the navigation data available to perform the motion compensation (state-of–the art is a combination of inertial and GPS sensors). Although the relative accuracy is very good, enabling well focused data, the absolute performance is limited by the absolute precision of the differential GPS signal which is in the order of 5-10cm (ca. one interferometric phase cycle assuming SAR data at L-band and the two way propagation delay). It is obvious that this accuracy is not sufficient for repeat-pass interferometry. A robust estimation approach was developed based on the so-called multi-squint technique. Residual errors (in horizontal and vertical directions) between the two tracks of the interferometric acquisitions are computed from the processed interferometric SAR data. An example is shown below:

Residual track errors measured and corrected by repeat-pass processing approach.
Almost perfect compensation is reached after 3-4 iterations, corresponding to a correction
of the residual motions errors with millimeter accuracy

The original residual track errors are in the order of 3-5cm and are in accordance with the accuracy of the navigation system based on differential GPS and INS. Without this compensation approach, phase errors and coherence degradations would occur which have strong impact on the interferomertric data quality.

Topographic motion compensation

During the development and refinement of the airborne repeat-pass processing strategy it was recognized that the usual approximations for motion compensation are not sufficient and that topography needs to be taken into account very precisely. This led to the development of a new algorithm, the so-called Precise Topography and Aperture dependent motion compensation (PTA) approach. It is based on short time FFT codes and thus makes effective use of the quasi linear azimuth time-frequency correspondence of the SAR signal. Its application is a pre-condition not only for processing airborne data in differential SAR interferometric mode, but also for repeat-pass SAR applications in hilly and mountainous areas in general.

Traffic Monitoring

The E-SAR system uses small antennas in order to avoid a gimble-based antenna steering configuration. This leads to an azimuth signal with a very high bandwidth associated with a correspondingly high PRF value.
During processing, usually only a small portion of the azimuth bandwidth (ca. 150Hz) is needed to obtain comparable resolutions in azimuth and range directions. The availability of a very high azimuth bandwidth (ca. 900 Hz in X-band) of the E-SAR system is beneficial for monitoring moving targets in the along-track interferometric mode, as the signal energy might be shifted outside the azimuth bandwidth used in the conventional processing. Therefore full azimuth bandwidth processing is required to allow MTI with sufficient accuracy. For this purpose, the E-SAR processor was extended to efficiently allow the allocation of enough memory and the generation of the corresponding phase filter functions. The result is a very high resolution image (up to 10cm in azimuth) and the associated along-track interferogram.
A part of such an image and the associated interferometric phase with a first indication of moving targets is shown below.

Full azimuth bandwidth E-SAR image in X-band (left) and corresponding along-track interferometric phase. Blue colour corresponds to zero phase and represents the stationary targets. The moving targets are shows in green, yellow and orange colours


Note that the resolution in range is limited by the bandwidth of the radar system of 100MHz and is by a factor of 15 worse than the resolution in azimuth. Further evaluation of these data sets is conducted as part of DLR’s TRAMRAD project and also within the TerraSAR-X traffic processor development .

Scientific topics under investigation

  • Airborne differential SAR interferometry
  • Airborne SAR tomography
  • Radar sounder data processing

Contact
Dr.-Ing. Rolf Scheiber
German Aerospace Center

Microwaves and Radar Institute
, SAR Technology
Tel: +49 8153 28-2319

Fax: +49 8153 28-1449

E-Mail: Rolf.Scheiber@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/hr/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2326/3776_read-5688/

Signalverarbeitung



Voll polarimetrisches E-SAR - Bild von Oberpfaffenhofen, DLR-Einrichtungen in der Bildmitte. Das Farbkomposit wurde aus zwei dual-polarisierten Datensätzen in C-band (HH-grün, HV-rot, VV-blau) generiert.

Synthetic-Apertur-Radar-Systeme (SAR-Systeme) erfordern eine aufwändige Signalverarbeitung, um aus den Daten die gewünschten Informationen zu extrahieren. Räumliche Auflösung sowie radiometrische und interferometrische Kalibriergenauigkeiten haben dabei direkten Einfluss auf die Messung und die Ableitung physikalischer Parameter.

Die Entwicklung neuer Algorithmen zur Bereitstellung der gewünschten Information und zur Verbesserung der Qualität ist ein fließender Prozess. Zusätzlich stellt der steigende Umfang an akquirierten und prozessierten E-SAR - Daten hohe Anforderungen an eine effiziente Algorithmenentwicklung. Über 300-400 Datatakes wurden in den letzten 4 Jahren erflogen. Dies entspricht ca. 1GB an Rohdaten pro Datatake und noch einmal 1GB pro prozessiertem Datenprodukt.

E-SAR Prozessor

Der E-SAR-Prozessor beinhaltet:

  • den Extended Chirp Scaling (ECS)-Algorithmus zur Bilderzeugung (hochauflösend, phasenerhaltend, genaue Bewegungskorrektur, keine Interpolationen).
  • interferometrische Prozessierungsmodule für Single- und Repeat-Pass-SAR-Interferometrie.
  • Radiometrische und polarimetrische Kalibrierung.
  • Geokodierungsmodule für SAR-Bilddaten und digitale Höhenmodelle (DEMs).
  • Segmentierungs- und Mosaikierungsmodule.

Verbunden mit der Forderung nach hoher Auflösung und exakter Bewegungskompensation und hinsichtlich vieler Flugkampagnen im Ausland wurde die E-SAR-Prozessiersoftware darauf ausgerichtet, auf jeweils einzelnen LINUX-PC's zu laufen und dabei auf gemeinsame Datenarchive für Rohdaten und prozessierte Daten zuzugreifen. Auch bei Einsätzen außerhalb Europas (Indien, Indonesien, Tunesien) bewährte sich dieses Konzept, welches eine Prozessierung und Quality-Checks vor Ort erlaubt.

E-SAR-Prozessierung, Datenprodukte und Datenarchivierungsstrategie

E-SAR Datenprodukte

Der E-SAR-Prozessor erlaubt derzeit die Erzeugung folgender operationeller Produkte:

  • Polarimetrische Multilook- und Singlelook (SLC) -Daten in Slant-Range-Geometrie: Radar Geometry Images (RGI product).
  • Geokodierte, höhenmodellkorrigierte Daten: Geocoded Terrain Corrected Data (GTC product).
  • Höhenmodelle: Digital Elevation Models (DEM product)
  • Repeat-Pass interferometrische Daten (RP-InSAR product: master & slave RGI products)

Zum Zwecke der Langzeitarchivierug wird jedes Datenprodukt ins Data Ingestion and Management System DIMS des Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum (DFD) des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen übertragen, welches einen weltweiten Zugriff über EOWEB bietet.

Neueste Entwicklungen

  • DEM-Generierung
  • Flugzeuggetragene Repeat-Pass-SAR-Interferometrie
  • Topographische Bewegungskompensation
  • Verkehrsüberwachung

Digital elevation model of Lago Maggiore area obtained from single-pass
interferometric E-SAR data in X-band (WGS-84, UTM zone 32)
DEM - Generierung

Digitale Höhenmodelle (DEMs) sind eines der E-SAR-Standardprodukte. Großflächige Abbildungen stellen jedoch eine Herausforderung dar, welches sich aus der relativ kleinen Streifenbreite von nur 3,5 Kilometern ergibt. Folglich wird ein Mosaikverfahren benutzt, um größere Höhenmodelle zu erzeugen. Mit der Möglichkeit Daten am Lago Maggiore (Italien) zu akquirieren, wurde die Mosaikprozedur dahingehend erweitert, dass von nun ab eine interative Topographie-abhängige Korrektur von Restbewegungsfehlern durchgeführt wird. Ein Höhenmodell über ein Gebiet von 15x15 km wurde aus 15 verschiedenen Überflügen generiert. Die horizontale Schrittweite beträgt 2m bei einer Höhengenauigkeit von besser als 2m (rms) an flachen und besser als 5m (rms) an steilen Hängen. Die generelle Höhenvariation ist ca. 1500m, schwarze Stellen im Modell entsprechen der See-Oberfläche (fehlende Höheninformation da kein Signal verfügbar). 

Flugzeuggetragene Repeat-Pass SAR Interferometrie

Für die Repeat-Pass SAR-Interferometrie wurde eine spezielle Verarbeitungskette implementiert, die eine extrem hohe Komplexität der Datenverarbeitung mit sich bringt. Eine hoch-genaue Verarbeitung der Daten ist jedoch Grundvoraussetzung für die Erzeugung hoch-qualitativer Pol-InSAR-Produkte, die als Input für modell-basierte Inversionsalgorithmen dienen (mehr Details unter Pol-InSAR).

Die Qualität der Standard-Datenverarbeitung flugzeuggetragener SAR-Systeme ist stets begrenzt durch die Genauigkeit der zur Verfügung stehenden Navigationsdaten, mit deren Hilfe die Bewegung des Trägers (Flugzeug) korrigiert wird (Stand der Technik ist eine Kombination aus Inertial- und GPS-Sensoren). Obwohl die relative Genauigkeit, mit der gut fokussierte Bilder erzielt werden können schon sehr gut ist, wird die absolute Genauigkeit durch das differentielle GPS-Signal begrenzt, das in der Größenordnung von ca. 5 bis 10 cm liegt (Nimmt man L-Band als Trägerfrequenz und Zwei-Wege-Verzögerung des Radarsignals an, so beträgt dies ca. einen interferometrischen Phasenzyklus, d.h. einen Sprung um 2 Pi). Ganz offensichtlich reicht diese Genauigkeit nicht für Repeat-Pass SAR-Interferometrie aus. Eine robuste Schätzung der Restbewegungen wurde daher entwickelt – basierend auf der so-genannten Multi-Squint-Methode. Die Restbewegungsfehler (in horizontaler und vertikaler Richtung) zwischen den beiden geflogenen Tracks der interferometrischen Datenakquisitionen werden direkt aus den interferometrischen SAR-Daten geschätzt. Ein Beispiel dazu ist unten gezeigt:

Restbewegungsfehler – gemessen und korrigiert in der Repeat-Pass-Verarbeitung. Eine fast perfekte Kompensation der Fehler ist bereits nach 3-4 Iterationen erreicht. Dies entspricht einer Korrektur von Restbewegungen des Flugzeugs mit Millimetergenauigkeit.

Die ursprünglichen Restbewegungsfehler liegen in der Größenordnung von 3-5cm, welches der Genauigkeit des Navigationssystems entspricht, das auf differentiellem GPS und Inertialdaten basiert. Ohne diese Kompensationsmethode würde es zu Phasenfehlern und einer Verminderung der Kohärenz kommen. Dies hätte eine direkte, massive Auswirkung auf die Qualität des interferometrischen Produkts.

Topografische Bewegungskompensation

Während der Entwicklung und Verfeinerung der Repeat-Pass-Datenverarbeitung wurde außerdem erkannt, dass die üblichen Annahmen bei der Bewegungskompensation nicht ausreichen und dass die vorliegende Topografie in den Prozess mit eingebunden werden muss. Dies führte zur Entwicklung eines neuen Algorithmus – der so-genannten Präzisen Topografie- und Apertur-abhänigen Bewegungskompensation (PTA). Diese basiert auf Kurzzeit-FFT-Codes und macht damit Gebrauch von der quasi-linearen Zeit-Frequenz-Entsprechung des SAR-Signals. Ihre Anwendung ist eine Vorbedingung nicht nur zur differentiellen SAR-Datenverarbeitung flugzeuggetragener Systeme im interferometrischen Mode, sondern sogar für Repeat-Pass SAR-Anwendungen in hügeligen und bergigen Gebieten generell.

Verkehrsüberwachung

Das E-SAR-System nutzt kleine Antennen, um die Konfiguration einer ‚Gimble’-basierten Antennensteuerung zu vermeiden. Dies führt zu einem Azimutsignal mit sehr hoher Bandbreite, welches wiederum mit einem hohen PRF-Wert (Puls-Wiederholfrequenz) verbunden ist. Während der Datenverarbeitung wird üblicherweise nur ein kleiner Teil der verfügbaren Azimutbandbreite genutzt um vergleichbare Auflösungen in Azimut wie in Range zu erreichen. Die Verfügbarkeit einer sehr großen Azimutbandbreite (ca. 900 Hz im X-Band) beim E-SAR-System ist aber sehr von Vorteil bei der Beobachtung von Bewegtzielen im Along-Track-Interferometrie-Modus, da deren Signalenergie durch die Bewegung auch nach Regionen außerhalb der üblicherweise prozessierten Bandbreite verschoben sein kann. Deshalb ist die Verarbeitung der vollen Bandbreite nötig, um MTI (Moving Target Indication) mit ausreichender Genauigkeit zu erlauben. Zu diesem Zweck wurde der E-SAR-Prozessor erweitert, um möglichst effizient genügend Speicher zur Verfügung zu stellen und um die entsprechenden Phasenfilterfunktionen generieren zu können. Das Ergebnis ist ein sehr hoch aufgelöstes SAR-Bild (bis zu 10cm Auflösung in Azimut) und dem zugehörigen Along-Track-Interferogramm.

Der Teil eines solchen Bildes mit zugehörigem Interferogramm sowie einer ersten Markierung von Bewegtzielen ist unten dargestellt.

Ein E-SAR-Bild mit voller Azimutbandbreite in X-Band (links) mit zugehöriger interferometrischer (Along-Track) Phase. Die blaue Einfärbung entspricht der Nullphase und repräsentiert die stationären Ziele. Bewegtziele sind in grün, gelb und orangenen Farben dargestellt.


Beachten Sie, dass die Auflösung in Entfernungsrichtung durch die Bandbreite von 100 MHz des Radarsystems vorgegeben wird. Sie ist um einen Faktor 15 schlechter als die Auflösung in Flugrichtung. Eine weitere Auswertung solcher Datensätze wird im Zuges des DLR TRAMRAD-Projektes durchgeführt, aber auch zur Entwicklung des TerraSAR-X – Verkehrsprozessors genutzt.

Weitere derzeitige wissenschaftliche Themen

  • Differentielle SAR-Interferometrie flugzeuggetragener SAR-Systeme
  • SAR-Tomografie flugzeuggetragener SAR-Systeme
  • Datenverarbeitung von Radar-Soundern

Kontakt
Dr.-Ing. Rolf Scheiber
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme
, SAR Technologie
Tel: +49 8153 28-2319

Fax: +49 8153 28-1449

E-Mail: Rolf.Scheiber@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/hr/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2326/3776_read-5688/