The International Space Station ISS



 Columbus is part of the ISS
zum Bild Columbus is part of the ISS

The International Space Station (ISS) is the largest technology project of all time: an outpost of humanity in space. At the same time, it is a flying laboratory with outstanding possibilities for scientific and industrial research.

The ISS proves that peaceful international use of space is to the advantage of all its partners, in spite of the initial delays and technical problems. On the contrary, this ambitious project is continuing with enormous commitment from all taking part. It has been crewed now since 2 November 2000.

The huge orbiting laboratory which is the ISS includes contributions from the USA, Russia, Canada, Japan and the member states of the European Space Agency (ESA).

Germany is the foremost ISS partner of ESA in Europe. As largest financial contributer, the Federal Republic contributes 41 per cent of the European infrastructure and to the scientific use of the space station. The German Aerospace Center (DLR) coordinates the German ESA activities within the ISS programmes related to structure, enterprise and use of the station.

Germany contributes, among other things:

  • The Columbus Laboratory
  • The developement of the ATV (Automated Transfer Vehicle)
  • The planning and execution of the operations/logistics programme, including how the astronauts are used
  • The operation of the Columbus Contol Centre in Oberpfaffenhofen
  • The data management for the Russian module Zarya
  • The robotic arm (ERA) for the Russian part of the ISS

German scientists have been active since the beginning of the scientific use of the space station in 2001. Since that time they have accomplished numerous experiments onboard the ISS. These include in particular the investigation of the human equilibrium system, the breeding of protein crystals, basic physics (plasma research) and radiation-biological questions


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/iss/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1409/2069_read-3534/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Germany on the ISS (http://www.dlr.de/iss/en/Portaldata/19/Resources/dokumente/Broschuere_ISS-Nutzung.pdf)
Poster: The ISS (http://www.dlr.de/iss/en/Portaldata/19/Resources/dokumente/ISS_Poster.pdf)

Die Internationale Raumstation ISS



 Die ISS entfernt sich vom Space Shuttle Endeavour, Februar 2010
zum Bild Die ISS entfernt sich vom Space Shuttle Endeavour, Februar 2010

Die Internationale Raumstation ISS ist das größte Technologieprojekt aller Zeiten: ein "Außenposten" der Menschheit im All, zugleich ein fliegendes Labor mit exzellenten Möglichkeiten für Wissenschaft und industrielle Forschung.

Die ISS beweist, dass eine friedliche internationale Nutzung des Weltraums zum Vorteil aller Partner möglich und sinnvoll ist. Daran haben auch die zeitlichen Verzögerungen und technischen Probleme nichts geändert. Im Gegenteil: Das ambitionierte Projekt wird mit großem Engagement fortgeführt. Seit dem "Erstbezug" am 2. November 2000 forschen Astronauten auf der ISS.

Das "Großforschungslabor" ISS wird derzeit gemeinsam von den USA, Russland, den Mitgliedsstaaten der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA, Kanada und Japan betrieben.

Deutschland ist der wichtigste ISS-Partner der ESA in Europa. Als größter Beitragszahler finanziert die Bundesrepublik 41 Prozent der europäischen Infrastruktur und trägt maßgeblich zur wissenschaftlichen Nutzung der Raumstation bei. Die DLR Raumfahrt-Agentur koordiniert die deutschen Beiträge zu den ISS-Programmen der ESA bezogen auf Aufbau, Betrieb und Nutzung der Station. Hierzu gehören unter anderem:

  • das Forschungslabor Columbus
  • die Entwicklung des Logistik-Fahrzeugs ATV (Automated Transfer Vehicle)
  • die Planung und Durchführung des Nutzungs- und Betriebsprogramms, einschließlich des Astronauteneinsatzes
  • der Betrieb des Columbus-Kontrollzentrums in Oberpfaffenhofen
  • das Datenmanagementsystem für das russische Modul Zarya
  • der Roboterarm (ERA) für den russischen Teil der Station

Für Deutschland ist die Raumstation Gegenwart und Zukunft zugleich. Deutsche Wissenschaftler sind seit Beginn der wissenschaftlichen Nutzung der Raumstation im Jahr 2001 mit von der Partie. Sie haben seither zahlreiche Experimente beziehungsweise Experimentserien auf der ISS durchgeführt. Diese dienten insbesondere der Untersuchung des menschlichen Gleichgewichtssystems, der Züchtung von Proteinkristallen, der Grundlagenphysik (Plasmaforschung) und strahlenbiologischen Fragestellungen.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/iss/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1409/2069_read-3534/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.heavens-above.com/
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
ISS-Broschüre (http://www.dlr.de/iss/Portaldata/19/Resources/dokumente/Broschuere_ISS-Nutzung.pdf)
Poster: Die ISS (http://www.dlr.de/iss/Portaldata/19/Resources/dokumente/ISS_Poster.pdf)