DLR Logo
DLR Portal Home|Textversion|Newsletter|Imprint|Sitemap|Contact   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:Astrolab mission:The crews:STS-121 Crew

Crew during ascent: STS-121 Crew



In addition to ESA astronaut Thomas Reiter who will travel to the ISS on the Space Shuttle Discovery there are an additional six NASA astronauts who will take part in the STS-121Discovery mission.

Steven Lindsey is the Commander of STS-121. He has previously flown on three Shuttle missions (STS-87 and STS-95 as pilot and STS-104 as Commander. This mission included installation of the ISS Quest airlock). As Commander, Lindsey has overall responsibility for the on-orbit execution of the mission, Orbiter systems operations, and flight operations including landing the Orbiter.

Mark Kelly is the pilot on STS-121. This is his second Shuttle mission having been the pilot the on STS-108 mission. He will be responsible for systems operations and assisting in the rendezvous for docking to the Station. 

Steven Lindsey (Kommandant), Mark Kelly (Pilot), Michael Fossum (Mission Specialist 1). Credit: NASA.

Michael Fossum is Mission Specialist 1 on the STS-121 mission and as such will assist the commander and pilot, and Mission Specialist 2 with operations of the Space Shuttle systems. He will perform three EVAs, or spacewalks, during the mission together with Piers Sellers.

Lisa Nowak is Mission Specialist 2 on the STS-121 mission. Her role can be seen as the Flight Engineer during ascent and entry. In orbit, most of her tasks involve robotic operations. 

Lisa Nowak (Mission Specialist 2.), Stephanie Wilson (Mission Specialist 3.), Piers Sellers (Mission Specialist 4.). Credit: NASA. 

Stephanie Wilson is Mission Specialist 3. Her duties during the mission include robotic operations for unberthing and installing the Multi-Purpose Logistics Module, from the Shuttle cargo bay to the ISS and then back once unloaded. She will also support the robotics for the vehicle inspection and EVAs.

Piers Sellers is Mission Specialist 4. This is his second Shuttle mission having served on the STS-112 ISS assembly mission. He will perform three spacewalks during the mission together with Michael Fossum. These will test the 50-foot robotic arm extension as a work platform and testing Shuttle inspection and repair techniques.

 


Created: 19/07/2006 07:30:00
Copyright © 2014 German Aerospace Center (DLR). All rights reserved.

DLR Logo
DLR Portal Home|Textversion|Newsletter|Impressum|Sitemap|Kontakt   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:Astrolab-Mission:Die Mannschaft:STS-121 Crew

Mannschaft beim Hinflug: STS-121 Crew



Thomas Reiter wird zusammen mit sechs NASA-Astronauten, der Mannschaft der Space Shuttle Discovery-Mission STS-121, zur ISS fliegen.

Steven Lindsey ist der Kommandant von STS-121. Er flog bisher auf drei Shuttle-Missionen (bei STS-87 und STS-95 als Pilot; bei STS-104 als Kommandant). Bei der Mission STS-104 wurde die Luftschleuse Quest installiert. Als Kommandant hat Lindsey die Gesamtverantwortung an Bord für die Durchführung der Missionen, für den Betrieb der Systeme des Raumfahrzeugs und alle Flugoperationen einschließlich der Landung des Shuttle.

Mark Kelly ist der Pilot von STS-121. Dies ist seine zweite Shuttle-Mission. Er war bereits Pilot auf STS-108. Er wird für den Systembetrieb verantwortlich sein und das Rendezvous und Docking an der Raumstation unterstützen.

v.l.: Steven Lindsey (Kommandant), Mark Kelly (Pilot), Michael Fossum (Mission Specialist 1). Bild: NASA.

Michael Fossum ist Mission Specialist 1 und wird in dieser Funktion den Kommandanten und den Piloten sowie den Mission Specialist 2 beim Betrieb der Systeme des Space Shuttle unterstützen. Er wird drei Außenbordeinsätze zusammen mit Piers Sellers durchführen.

Lisa Nowak ist Mission Specialist 2. Ihre Rolle entspricht der des Flugingenieurs während des Aufstiegs und des Wiedereintritts. In der Umlaufbahn ist sie hauptsächlich für Roboteraufgaben verantwortlich.

v.l.: Lisa Nowak (Mission Specialist 2.), Stephanie Wilson (Mission Specialist 3.), Piers Sellers (Mission Specialist 4.). Bild: NASA. 

Stephanie Wilson ist Mission Specialist 3. Ihre Aufgaben während der Mission umfassen Roboteraktivitäten für das Ausladen des Multi-Purpose Logistics Modules (MPLM) aus dem Laderaum des Shuttle, seine Installation an der ISS sowie das Wiedereinladen des entladenen MPLM. Sie wird auch die Roboteraufgaben für die Inspektion des Shuttle und die Außenbordeinsätzen unterstützen.

Piers Sellers ist Mission Specialist 4. Es ist nach der ISS-Montagemission STS-112 sein zweiter Shuttle-Flug. Er wird drei Außenbordeinsätze zusammen mit Michael Fossum durchführen. Dabei wird eine 17 Meter lange Verlängerung des Roboterarms als Arbeitsplattform für die Inspektion und die Reparatur des Shuttle getestet.


Erstellt am: 19.07.2006 07:30:00 Uhr
Copyright © 2014 Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR). Alle Rechte vorbehalten.