DLR Logo
DLR Portal Home|Textversion|Newsletter|Imprint|Sitemap|Contact   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:Astrolab mission:Experiments:Radiation biology

Radiation biology



The MATROSHKA experiment, measuring radiation both inside and outside the ISS
zum Bild The MATROSHKA experiment, measuring radiation both inside and outside the ISS

MATROSHKA: a phantom on board the ISS Measuring space radiation and its effects

For the past 18 months, a phantom has been living on the outside of the International Space Station (ISS). Now, however, it’s keeping the ISS crew company. But we’re not talking about a peculiar kind of space ghost – our phantom is a scientific experiment called MATROSHKA for measuring the radiation level inside and outside the ISS. The ‘phantom’ is in fact a special dummy. The system for the experiment was developed and built by DLR.

By measuring the radiation dose received by astronauts both inside and outside the ISS, it is possible to gauge the risk posed by cosmic radiation to the human body. The findings from this experiment could help us develop countermeasures to provide suitable protection against cosmic radiation.

The ‘phantom dummy’, consisting of a head and upper body, looks rather like a human torso. Active and passive radiation detectors have been positioned at over 800 points inside the dummy, some of which are located in simulated human organs. These sensors have already provided us with valuable data which are now being analysed by a team of scientists. To simulate the protection provided by a spacesuit, during its stay on the outside of the ISS the dummy was encased in a carbon fibre container.

Koordinator: G. Reitz (DLR Köln)

Astronauts’ exposure to radiation - CHROMOSOME-2

 Multi-fluorescent chromosome map of a cell
zum Bild Multi-fluorescent chromosome map of a cell

When a human being spends extended periods in space, the rate of mutation of their chromosomes may be accelerated because of the level of radiation, resulting in an increased risk of cancer. Findings obtained so far from the astronauts and cosmonauts onboard the ISS have shown that long sojourns in space result in a significant increase in the rate of mutation, whereas short-term crews do not demonstrate any such change. Analysis of blood samples taken after the crews return to Earth indicates the presence of effective repair mechanisms, suggesting that the radiation risk for astronauts is acceptable.

Scientists at the University of Essen plan to use a new set of methods to study in more detail the mutagenic (mutation-causing) radiation exposure of ISS crew-members. The chromosomes of certain defence cells in the astronauts’ blood will be studied to see what changes occur. This method is already used on Earth to gauge the mutagenic effect of environmental toxins on humans

Coordinator: C. Johannes (Universität Essen)


Created: 12/07/2006 14:20:00
Copyright © 2014 German Aerospace Center (DLR). All rights reserved.

DLR Logo
DLR Portal Home|Textversion|Newsletter|Impressum|Sitemap|Kontakt   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:Astrolab-Mission:Experimente:Strahlungsbiologie

Strahlungsbiologie



Das Experiment MATROSHKA zur Messung der Strahlenbelastung innerhalb und außerhalb der ISS
zum Bild Das Experiment MATROSHKA zur Messung der Strahlenbelastung innerhalb und außerhalb der ISS

Ein Phantom auf der ISS – MATROSHKA: Messung der Weltraumstrahlung und ihrer Wirkung

Anderthalb Jahre lang befand sich ein Phantom an der Außenwand der Internationalen Raumstation ISS. Jetzt leistet es der Besatzung in der Station Gesellschaft: Hierbei handelt es sich jedoch nicht um eine besondere Art von Weltraum-Spuk, sondern um ein ernsthaftes Experiment namens MATROSHKA zur Messung der Strahlenbelastung innerhalb und außerhalb der ISS. In Wirklichkeit ist das "Phantom" eine Spezialpuppe. Entwickelt und gebaut wurde die Experimentalanlage vom DLR.

Durch die Messung der Strahlendosis, die auf die Astronauten inner- und außerhalb der ISS einwirkt, lassen sich die Risiken kosmischer Strahlung für den menschlichen Körper einschätzen. Die Erkenntnisse aus diesem Experiment könnten dazu beitragen, Gegenmaßnahmen zu entwickeln, die einen geeigneten Schutz gegen die kosmische Strahlung darstellen.

Die "Phantompuppe" selbst – mit Kopf und Oberkörper – ähnelt einem menschlichen Torso. Innerhalb der Puppe befinden sich an über 800 Positionen, unter anderem auch in verschiedenen simulierten menschlichen Organen, aktive und passive Strahlungsdetektoren. Diese Sensoren haben bereits wertvolle Daten geliefert, die jetzt von den beteiligten Wissenschaftlern ausgewertet werden. Um die Schutzwirkung des Raumanzugs zu simulieren, umgab die Puppe während ihres Aufenthalts außerhalb der ISS ein Behälter aus Kohlefaser.

Koordinator: G. Reitz (DLR Köln)

Strahlenbelastung von Astronauten - CHROMOSOME-2

 Multi-fluoreszierende Chromosomenkarte einer Zelle
zum Bild Multi-fluoreszierende Chromosomenkarte einer Zelle

Langzeitaufenthalte des Menschen im Weltraum können aufgrund der Weltraumstrahlung zu erhöhten Mutationsraten von Chromosomen führen. Dies ist letztendlich ein Indiz für ein erhöhtes Krebsrisiko. Die bisherigen Ergebnisse von ISS-Astronauten und Kosmonauten zeigen in der Tat eine signifikante Erhöhung der Mutationsrate für die Langzeitbesatzung, während für die Kurzzeitcrews keine Veränderungen festgestellt wurden. Nachfluguntersuchungen der Blutproben ergeben Hinweise auf effektive Reparaturmechanismen, so dass das Strahlenrisiko für die Astronauten akzeptabel ist.

Mit Hilfe neuer Methoden wollen die Wissenschaftler von der Universität Essen genauere Erkenntnisse über die Mutationen auslösende (mutagene) Strahlenbelastung von ISS-Astronauten gewinnen. Hierzu werden die Chromosomen von bestimmten Abwehrzellen im Blut der Astronauten auf Veränderungen untersucht. Diese Methodik findet auf der Erde zur Erfassung der mutagenen Belastung durch Umweltgifte beim Menschen bereits ihre Anwendung.

Koordinator: C. Johannes (Universität Essen)


Erstellt am: 12.07.2006 14:20:00 Uhr
Copyright © 2014 Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR). Alle Rechte vorbehalten.