Aeronautical Communications



Future Communications Infrastructure (FCI) for civil aviation

The Aeronautical Communications Group designs and evaluates digital wireless communications systems for civil aviation. These systems are designated for the following application areas: Air-Traffic Control (ATC), Air-Traffic Management (ATM), Airline Operational Control (AOC) as well as command and control of Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS) and their integration into civil airspace.

One core working area of the team is the design and validation of the future international aeronautical communications system LDACS (L-band Digital Aeronautical Communications System). LDACS has been developed in main parts at DLR and is foreseen for standardization within the next years. Being a high-performant, high-rate data link, LDACS enables modern ATM applications as currently being developed within the international ATM projects SESAR (Europe) and NextGen (US). The communications systems LDACS has the potential to be extended towards navigation and surveillance. The further development of LDACS towards an integrated CNS (Communications, Navigation, Surveillance) solution is another core working area of the team.

Besides their work on ground-based communications with LDACS, the team also designs and evaluates concepts for direct communications between aircraft, i.e. Air-to-Air (A2A) communications. Together with the Satellite Networks Department, who is covering satellite-based communications to the aircraft, the networking of the different data link technologies into a heterogeneous, IPv6-based aeronautical internet is advanced. Linking the aircraft via different communications media to the infrastructure on ground enables new multilink and redundancy approaches.

The Aeronautical Communications Group is actively working in different committees and boards, e.g. the Future Communications Infrastructure Task Force (FCI-TF) of Eurocontrol, the Communications Panel and the Navigation Systems Panel of ICAO. In the latter two, the team acts as advisor to DFS.

Research Topics of the Team

  • A/G and A2A communications
    • OFDM-based system design
    • Optimization of OFDM receiver techniques
    • Interference mitigation
    • Coding
    • Synchronization
    • Coexistence with other CNS systems
    • Robust and efficient multiple-access, especially in self-organizing networks
    • Aircraft-based surveillance
  • LDACS extension towards navigation
    • Use of LDACS signals for ranging
    • LDACS as ranging sensor for APNT (Alternative Positioning, Navigation, and Timing)
    • Increased ranging accuracy
  • LDACS extension towards surveillance
    • Use of LDACS signals as „radar signals“ – feasibility study
    • Non-cooperative radar concept
    • MIMO (Multiple-Input Multiple-Output) radar
  • Channel modelling
    • A2A channel model
    • A/G channel model (especially also for APNT)
  • DLR-Vision „Networking the Sky“
    • Heterogeneous, IPv6-based aeronautical internet
    • Mobility, Handover, Routing
    • Multilink concept
  • Robust and secure communications at physical layer (see project ARIEL)
  • Integration of UAS into civil airspace through CNS (see project UFO)

Contact
Dr.-Ing. Michael Schnell
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Communications and Navigation
, Communications Systems
Tel: +49 8153 28-2858

Fax: +49 8153 28-1871

E-Mail: Michael.Schnell@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/kn/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4134/6606_read-9563/

Aeronautische Kommunikation



Zukünftige Kommunikationsinfrastruktur für die zivile Luftfahrt

Die Gruppe „Aeronautische Kommunikation“ entwickelt digitale Funksysteme für die zivile Luftfahrt. Anwendungsbereiche für diese Funksysteme sind die Luftverkehrskontrolle (Air-Traffic Control, ATC), das Luftverkehrsmanagement (Air-Traffic Management, ATM), die operationelle Fluglinienkommunikation (Airline Operational Control, AOC) sowie Steuerung und Kontrolle von unbemannten Flugsystemen (Unmanned Aerial Systems, UAS) und deren Einbindung in den zivilen Luftraum.

Einen Schwerpunkt der aktuellen Arbeiten bildet die Entwicklung und Validierung des zukünftigen weltweiten Flugfunksystems im L-Band LDACS (L-band Digital Aeronautical Communications System). LDACS wurde federführend vom DLR entwickelt und soll in einigen Jahren zur Standardisierung gebracht werden. Als leistungsfähiger Datenlink ermöglicht LDACS die modernen ATM-Verfahren umzusetzen, die aktuell in den großen, internationalen Projekten SESAR (Europa) und NextGen (USA) entwickelt werden. Das Kommunikationssystem LDACS besitzt das Potenzial auch Aufgaben der Navigation und Überwachung zu übernehmen. Die Weiterentwicklung von LDACS zum integrierten CNS-System (Communications, Navigation, Surveillance) ist ein weiterer Themenschwerpunkt in der Arbeitsgruppe.

Neben den Arbeiten zur bodengestützten Kommunikation (Air-Ground, A/G) mit LDACS werden auch Konzepte und Übertragungsverfahren für die direkte Flugzeug-Flugzeug (Air-to-Air, A2A) Kommunikation entwickelt. Gemeinsam mit der Abteilung Satellitennetze, die die satellitengestützte Kommunikation zum Flugzeug abdeckt, wird die Vernetzung der verschiedenen Datenlinks in ein heterogenes, auf IPv6 basierendes Luftfahrtinternet vorangetrieben („Vernetzung des Himmels“). Die Anbindung des Flugzeugs an die Bodeninfrastruktur über verschiedene Kommunikationsmedien ermöglicht neue Multilink- und Redundanzansätze.

Die Gruppe „Aeronautische Kommunikation“ ist in verschiedenen Gremien tätig, u.a. als Mitglied in der „Future Communications Infrastructure Task Force“ (FCI-TF) von Eurocontrol und als Berater der DFS im „Communications Panel“ und im „Navigation Systems Panel“ der ICAO.

Forschungsthemen der Arbeitsgruppe

  • A/G und A2A Kommunikation
    • OFDM-basierter Systemdesign
    • Optimierung OFDM-Empfänger
    • Verfahren zur Interferenzunterdrückung
    • Codierung
    • Synchronisation
    • Koexistenz mit bestehenden CNS-Systemen
    • Robuste und effiziente Zugriffsverfahren, insbesondere in selbstorganisierenden Netzen
    • Leistungsfähige Verfahren zur flugzeugbasierten Überwachung
  • Erweiterung LDACS um Navigationskomponente
    • LDACS-Signale zur Entfernungsmessung (Ranging)
    • LDACS als Sensor für APNT (Alternative Positioning, Navigation, and Timing)
    • Verfahren zur Verbesserung der Ranging-Genauigkeit
  • Erweiterung LDACS um Überwachungskomponente
    • LDACS-Signale als „Radarsignale“ – Machbarkeitsstudie
    • Nicht-kooperatives Radarkonzept
    • MIMO (Multiple-Input Multiple-Output) Radar
  • Kanalmodellierung
    • A2A Kanalmodell
    • A/G Kanalmodell (insbesondere auch für APNT)
  • DLR-Vision „Vernetzung des Himmels“
    • Heterogenes Luftfahrtinternet, basierend auf IPv6
    • Mobilität, Handover, Routing
    • Multilink-Konzept
  • Robuste Kommunikation und Security auf der physikalischen Schicht (siehe Projekt ARIEL)
  • CNS-Anbindung von UAS zur Integration in den zivilen Luftraum (siehe Projekt UFO)

Kontakt
Dr.-Ing. Michael Schnell
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation
, Nachrichtensysteme
Tel: +49 8153 28-2858

Fax: +49 8153 28-1871

E-Mail: Michael.Schnell@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/kn/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4134/6606_read-9563/