Air Transport Operations and Infrastructures


The Department Air Transport Operations and Infrastructures examines operational concepts, planning processes and infrastructures with respect to their contribution to safe, passenger oriented, ecologic and economic air transport. Through integration of research on passenger behaviour, airlines, airports and air navigation service providers the department provides a comprehensive framework to derive requirements for future aircraft and to contribute from the operations perspective to the assessment of new technologies  from an operational perspective through integration of research on passenger behaviour, airlines, airports and air navigation service providers.

The term operations thereby comprises flight operations as the technical handling of flight missions, as well as the practices of stakeholders, which are economically operating businesses or utility maximizing passengers. The term infrastructure comprises the infrastructural frame required for safe operations in particular, for example the Air Traffic Service (ATS) route system. Hereby, modelling air transport operations is performed with respect to realistic operational constraints, for instance meteorological impact, ATM restrictions, and further regulatory policies (e.g. fuel planning).

The business models of airlines, airports and air navigation service providers as well as their planning and decision-making processes on a strategic, pre-tactical and operational level determine type and operational application of aircraft as well as the utilization of infrastructure on the ground and in the air. Conversely, the availability of new technologies, new regulations, changes of resource prices and demand fluctuations require operational stakeholders to react. Therefore, the department is developing models to enable a cross-departmental, holistic assessment of the technological effects on the overall system level. Different levels of detail - including approaches using deterministic methods, system dynamics and complex systems - and methods related to operations research are used for this purpose.

To determine the benefit of new aircraft concepts or technologies, it is not sufficient to consider existing airline networks and schedules as these are optimized on the basis auf current technologies. Hence, own and existing research and industrial models that can transparently comprehend the airline planning process are used. The models include network planning, segment-based decisions of passengers, fleet planning, aircraft rotation planning und the methods of prioritizing and modification in case of disturbances.

The air traffic flow management is one focal point of the department, because it is especially driven by the interaction of different operational stakeholders. It is essentially characterized by the initiation of measures to control the air traffic during high demand and adverse impact periods, for example by assigning departure slots. Additionally, it guarantees an optimal utilization of air transport infrastructure considering airspace and ground resources. For this purpose, the department possesses tools to model the reactions within the European ATM-network and to validate new solvers for efficient management.

Airports and the airport surrounding area are considered on a highly aggregated level within the department. The central aim is to quantify new airport technologies globally and to abstract the behaviour of different types of airports as functional nodes in the air transportation system. This is done in close collaboration with the DLR Institute of Air Transport and Airport Research and the DLR Institute of Flight Guidance, which are in charge in the context of airport and ATM research. On one hand the department applies detailed research results on an aggregated level and on the other hand returns research questions emerging from the system perspective.

Another focal point is the analysis of the benefit of innovative or even disruptive operational concepts in the context of the overall system. These concepts are primarily assessed in respect of their potential to reduce environmental impact and operating costs. Exemplary concepts are intermediate stop operations (ISO), civil formation flight, supersonic air transport and reduced crew operations. One component to evaluate such concepts is the existing methodology to create emission inventories with respect to ecological implications.

The department provides contribution to the DLR guiding concepts “Unmanned Freight Transport” and “Efficient Air Transport” with contributions to respective research projects.



Dipl.-Vw. Klaus Lütjens
Lufttransportbetrieb und –infrastrukturen
Telefon:+49 40 42878-4510
Telefax:+49 40 42878-2979
Email:Klaus Lütjens
Dipl.-Ing. Florian Linke
Lufttransportbetrieb und –infrastrukturen
Telefon:+49 40 42878-3675
Telefax:+49 40 42878-2979
Email:Florian Linke



URL for this article

Lufttransportbetrieb und –infrastrukturen



 

Die Abteilung Lufttransportbetrieb und –infrastrukturen untersucht Betriebskonzepte, Planungsprozesse und Infrastrukturen im Hinblick auf ihren Beitrag zum sicheren, passagierfreundlichen, ökologischen und ökonomischen Lufttransport. Durch die Integration der Forschung zu Passagierverhalten, Fluggesellschaften, Flughäfen und Flugsicherungsorganisationen liefert die Abteilung einen umfassenden Rahmen, um Anforderungen an zukünftige Luftfahrzeuge zu definieren und aus betrieblicher Sicht zur Bewertung neuer Technologien beizutragen.

Der Begriff Betrieb umfasst im Verständnis der Abteilung sowohl den Flugbetrieb im Sinne der technischen Abwicklung von Lufttransportmissionen als auch die Handlungen der Akteure als wirtschaftlich agierender Betrieb oder nutzenmaximierender Passagier. Der Begriff Infrastruktur beinhaltet hingegen vor allem den für einen sicheren Betrieb erforderlichen infrastrukturellen Rahmen, wie z.B. das Flugverkehrsstreckensystem. Die Modellierung des Flugbetriebs erfolgt dabei unter Berücksichtigung realer operationeller Randbedingungen, wie meteorologischer Einflüsse, ATM-Restriktionen und sonstiger regulativer Vorschriften (z.B. zur Kraftstoffplanung).

Die Geschäftsmodelle von Fluggesellschaften, Flughäfen und Flugsicherungsdienstleistern sowie deren Planungs- und Entscheidungsprozesse auf strategischer, prätaktischer und operationeller Ebene bestimmen Art und Einsatz der Luftfahrzeuge sowie die Nutzung der Boden- und Luftrauminfrastrukturen. Umgekehrt führen die Verfügbarkeit neuer Technologien, neue Formen der Regulierung und die Veränderung von Ressourcenpreisen und Luftverkehrsnachfrage zu Reaktionen der am Betrieb beteiligten Akteure. Hierzu entwickelt die Abteilung Modelle, mit denen abteilungsübergreifend eine holistische Bewertung der Technologieeffekte auf Gesamtsystem-Ebene ermöglicht wird. Dabei kommen verschiedene Detaillierungsgrade von deterministischen bis hin zu systemdynamischen und komplexitätstheoretischen Ansätzen und Methoden des Operations Research zum Einsatz.

Für die Ermittlung des Nutzens neuer Flugzeugkonzepte und Technologien reicht es in der Regel nicht aus, bestehende Netze und Flugpläne von Fluggesellschaften zu Grunde zu legen, da diese für die bereits verfügbaren Technologien optimiert sind. Deshalb werden eigene Modelle entwickelt oder bestehende aus Forschung und Industrie genutzt, die insbesondere den Planungsprozess von Fluggesellschaften transparent nachvollziehen können. Dies beinhaltet Netzplanung, streckenbezogene Flugzeugauswahl, Flottenplanung, Flugzeug-Umlaufplanung und das Priorisierungs- und Anpassungsverhalten bei Störungen des Flugbetriebs.

Einen Schwerpunkt der Abteilung stellt die Luftverkehrsflusssteuerung dar, da diese in besonderer Weise von der Wechselwirkung der betrieblichen Akteure geprägt ist. Sie ist maßgeblich durch die Initiierung von Maßnahmen zur Steuerung der Luftverkehrsflüsse, z.B. durch Zuweisung von Start-Zeitfenstern, bei hohem Flugaufkommen oder Störungen gekennzeichnet und stellt eine optimale Ausnutzung der verfügbaren Luftverkehrsinfrastruktur im Luftraum und am Boden sicher. Hierzu verfügt die Abteilung über Werkzeuge zur Abbildung von Reaktionen im europäischen ATM-Netzwerk und zur Validierung neuer Löser für ein effizientes Management.

Bezogen auf die Flughäfen und den Flughafennahbereich wird von der Abteilung eine stark aggregierende Perspektive eingenommen, wobei das Ziel darin besteht, den Einfluss neuer Flughafentechnologien global zu quantifizieren und das Verhalten unterschiedlicher Klassen von Flughäfen als funktionale Knotenpunkte im Lufttransportsystem zu abstrahieren. Hier besteht ein enger Kontakt zu den in den Bereichen Flughafenforschung und ATM federführenden DLR-Instituten für Flughafenwesen und Luftverkehr und für Flugführung, um deren detaillierte Forschungsarbeiten auf aggregierter Ebene zu berücksichtigen und umgekehrt Forschungsfragen an diese zurückzuspielen.

Ein weiterer Forschungsschwerpunkt der Abteilung liegt auf der Analyse des Nutzens innovativer - teilweise revolutionärer Betriebskonzepte im Gesamtsystem. Zu diesen Konzepten, die primär hinsichtlich ihres Potentials zur Verringerung von Umwelteinträgen oder Betriebskosten untersucht werden, gehören u.a. der Mehrstufenbetrieb (Zwischenlanden auf der Langstrecke), der zivile Formationsflug, der Überschall-Lufttransport sowie Reduced Crew Operations. Ein Bestandteil der Bewertungsmethodik im Hinblick auf ökologische Implikationen dieser Konzepte stellt das in der Abteilung vorhandene Modellsystem zur Erstellung von Emissionskatastern dar.

Mit den genannten Forschungsschwerpunkten leistet die Abteilung insbesondere Beiträge zu den DLR-Leitkonzepten "Unbemannter Frachttransport" und "Leistungsfähiger Luftverkehr" und beteiligt sich an entsprechenden Projekten.
 

Mitarbeiter - Abteilung  "Lufttransportbetrieb und –infrastrukturen"                                       




 
Dr.-Ing. Florian Linke
Abteilungsleiter
Klaus Lütjens
Abteilungsleiter
 
Alexander Lau
Luftverkehrsflusssteuerung, Luftraummanagement, Flugmeteorologie

Bernd Liebhardt
Super Sonic Ops
Business Aviation

Niclas Dzikus
Flughafen-Luftseite,
nachhaltig. Fhf.-Betrieb,
ATM Performance Analysis

Katrin Kölker
Airline Network Design,
Market Model

Tobias Marks
Formationsflug, Sensorik, innovative Konzepte

Majed Swaid
HiWi, Flugplanung, Wind

   

Steffen Wenzel
Airline Tactical Processes
Aircraft Rotation Planning

 

 

Folgende TU-Mitarbeiter|innen sind ebenfalls in der Abteilung  "Lufttransportbetrieb und
–infrastrukturen"    tätig:

                Dipl.-Ing. Peter Bießlich
M.Sc. Amina Malik
Dipl.-Ing. Benjamin Lührs
Dipl.-Ing. Jan Berling
Dipl.-Ing. Dragana Radovanovic

 

Kontakt

Dr.-Ing. Florian Linke
Abteilungsleitung
Lufttransportbetrieb und –infrastrukturen
Telefon:+49 40 42878-3675
Telefax:+49 40 42878-2979
Email:Florian Linke

Dipl.-Vw. Klaus Lütjens
Abteilungsleitung
Lufttransportbetrieb und –infrastrukturen
Telefon:+49 40 42878-4510
Telefax:+49 40 42878-2979
Email:Klaus Lütjens



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/lk/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4465/7270_read-10969/