System Analysis Air Transport



Complex systems such as the air transportation system are characterized by a substantial number of components and interactions among the system elements. Therefore it is challenging to conclude a priori on the impact and added value of new technologies, hence, of changes to the system.  

Technology assessment sheds light on the impact and quantifies the added value of innovations to the air transportation system on the basis of technical, ecological and economical criteria.

Monetary Assessment of Technologies

Technical and operational innovations within the air transportation system serve primarily to increase the monetary profit of flight operations. Monetary technology assessment translates  technical and operational parameters into a monetary unit. By doing so the comparison of  technology alternatives becomes feasible. Cost-benefit models allow for estimating the accumulating costs within the full life-cycle of a technical system. This comprises of the phases research & development, manufacturing, operation including maintenance and finally disposal.

Sustainability

Besides pure monetary assessment the department of »System Analysis Air Transportation« as well provides assessment of sustainability of technical innovations following ISO 14040. Together with the monetary assessment this facilitates the design and optimisation of eco-efficient air transportation system concepts.

Flexible Assessment Architecture

Prime goal of the chosen assessment approach is to offer a flexible assessment architecture applicable to a wide range of use cases. The developed framework contributes to more efficiently transfer research outcome into industrial application. For this purpose research results are mapped with “real-world”-requirements within the air transportation a regular basis.

This requires a systems engineering approach for modelling the air transportation system in a holistic manner. Technology assessment therefore essentially puts the maxim of the institute and at the same time the demand to the institute: »Seeing the big Picture« into practice.


Contact
Dipl.-Ing. Oliver Pape
Lufttransportsysteme
, Systemanalyse Lufttransport
Tel: +49-40 42878 2082

Fax: +49-40 42878 2979

E-Mail: Oliver.Pape@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/lk/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4479/13998_read-35538/

Systemanalyse Lufttransport



 

Komplexe Systeme wie das Lufttransportsystem zeichnen sich durch eine Vielzahl von Komponenten und komplexer Zusammenhänge zwischen den einzelnen Systemelementen aus. Entsprechend schwierig ist es, im Vorfeld Aussagen über die Auswirkungen und den Wert von gezielten Systemänderungen zu treffen.

Die Technologiebewertung erfasst und bewertet den Mehrwert von Innovationen im Lufttransportsystem auf Basis von technischen, ökonomischen, ökologischen Aspekten.

Monetäre Bewertung von Technologien

Technische und betriebliche Innovationen im Lufttransportsystem dienen in erster Linie dazu, die wirtschaftliche Effektivität des Flugbetriebs zu steigern. Die ökonomische Technologiebewertung übersetzt dazu technische und operationelle Größen in einen Geldwert. So werden Alternativbetrachtungen zwischen unterschiedlichen technischen Entwicklungen möglich. Über Kosten-Nutzen Modelle lassen sich die entstehenden Kosten in den Lebensphasen eines technischen Systems abschätzen. Diese reichen von Forschung & Entwicklung über Herstellung, Betrieb und Wartung bis zur Entsorgung.

Ökologische Nachhaltigkeit

Neben der rein monetären Bewertung von Technologien wird in der Gruppe auch Bewertung der ökologischen Nachhaltigkeit von Innovationen durchgeführt. Schadstoff- und Lärmemissionen stehen dabei im Zentrum der Betrachtungen. Diese Parameter sind Grundlage zur Entwicklung und Optimierung von öko-effizienten Lufttransportkonzepten.

Flexible Bewertungsarchitektur

Ziel der am Institut verfolgten Strategie zur Technologiebewertung ist es, eine flexible Bewertungsarchitektur für eine große Bandbreite von Fragestellungen anzubieten. Die Bewertungsumgebung trägt unter Anderem dazu bei, den Übergang von Forschungsergebnissen in die industrielle Entwicklung effizienter zu gestalten. Dazu werden die Forschungsergebnisse regelmäßig an den realen Erfordernissen im Lufttransportsystem gespiegelt.

Dies erfordert einen Systemansatz, der das Lufttransportsystem als Ganzes abbildet. Technologiebewertung verkörpert daher notwendigerweise den Anspruch und Leitspruch des Instituts: Das Ganze denken.


Kontakt
Dipl.-Ing. Oliver Pape
Lufttransportsysteme
, Systemanalyse Lufttransport
Tel: +49 40 42878 2082

Fax: +49 40-42878-2979

E-Mail: oliver.pape@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/lk/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4479/13998_read-35538/