Institute of Aerospace Medicine



The Institute of Aerospace Medicine investigates central life science questions with regard to aviation, space flight, and traffic. It focuses its research particularly on the medicine and psychology of aviation and space, as well as traffic. The institute’s central concern is to maintain the health and productivity of those directly or indirectly involved, including pilots, flight attendants, passengers, astronauts, truck drivers, and residents.

Tasks and Goals

The Institute of Aerospace Medicine, with its Hamburg-based Aviation and Space Psychology division, is part of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in Cologne-Porz.

In the highly technological environment of the future, people will be even more mobile—both on Earth and in space. And they must remain equally healthy and effective in both of those environments. Our Institute of Aerospace Medicine provides for this by developing long-term solutions to increase the effectiveness and efficiency of the system of interdependent effects between humans, machines, and the environment. The institute makes important contributions to the medical areas of prevention, individualization and remote care so as to meet the demands people face, both in today’s society and that of the future. With its new large-scale life science research facility, envihab: (environmental habitat) the institute lives up to DLR’s research expertise at the highest international level. The exceptional overall modular design – in both its architecture and conceptual form – allows for the investigation of research areas which go far beyond medical research tasks. It enables the investigation of complex questions within closed life-support systems, and interactions between humans and the environment. Significant contributions to the solution of increasingly pertinent environmental problems on Earth can therefore be made. Concrete solutions can also be provided for the future of aviation and space travel.

In a variety of working groups, projects, and collaborations, our six divisions investigate the effects of weightlessness on basic functions of the human body. We also develop measures to counteract the effects of weightlessness – such as loss of bone and muscle mass – on humans during long-term stays in space.

Another significant aspect of our work is the selection of suitable personnel (pilots, astronauts, and air traffic controllers) and the development, from a psychological point of view, of the relevant scientific instruments.

Furthermore, we address questions of how people adjust to living in extreme environments and are involved in the search for life in space.

We collaborate with national and international partners from the areas of science, research, and industry, as well as with governmental departments and agencies.

Quality Management

Most Institute for Aerospace Medicine divisions, as well as its management and administration, are DIN EN ISO 9001:2008 or DIN EN ISO 13485 certified. This ensures that the standards for the development and production of medical products have been met.

Organization chart (update: 1/2014)

German Aerospace Center DLR
Institute of Aerospace Medicine
Linder Höhe
D-51147 Cologne
Phone: +49 2203 601-3115
Fax: +49 2203 69 52 11
E-Mail: medizin@dlr.de


Contact
Prof. Dr. med. Rupert Gerzer
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Aerospace Medicine
, Management
Tel: +49 2203 601-3115

Fax: +49 2203 695211

E-Mail: Rupert.Gerzer@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/me/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1754/2380_read-3753/

Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin



Das Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin befasst sich mit zentralen lebenswissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen im Hinblick auf Luft- und Raumfahrt und Verkehr. Die Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen demnach insbesondere in der Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin und -psychologie sowie im Verkehr. Zentrales Anliegen des Instituts ist die Erhaltung der Gesundheit und Leistungsfähigkeit der direkt oder indirekt Beteiligten wie Piloten, Flugbegleiter, Passagiere, Astronauten, Kraftfahrer und Anwohner.

Aufgaben und Ziele

Das Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin ist Teil des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) in Köln-Porz mit seiner Abteilung für Luft- und Raumfahrtpsychologie in Hamburg.

Der Mensch wird künftig noch mehr als bisher in einer hoch technisierten Umgebung mobil sein, sowohl auf der Erde als auch im Weltraum. Dabei soll er gleichermaßen gesund wie leistungsfähig bleiben. Unser Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin trifft Vorsorge auf diesem Gebiet, indem es langfristig zu einer Effektivitäts- und Effizienzsteigerung des Wirkungssystems Mensch-Maschine-Umwelt beiträgt. Damit leistet unser Institut einen wichtigen Beitrag, den Anforderungen der heutigen und zukünftigen Gesellschaft an den Menschen gerecht zu werden. Mit der neuen lebenswissenschaftlichen Großforschungsanlage :envihab (environmental habitat) wird das Institut den Forschungskompetenzen des DLR auf international höchstem Niveau gerecht. Durch das einzigartige baulich und inhaltlich modulare Gesamtkonzept ermöglicht :envihab Forschungsbereiche abzudecken, die weit über medizinische Forschungsaufgaben hinausgehen. Damit können wir uns auch komplexen Fragestellungen eines geschlossenen Lebenserhaltungssystems und der Wechselwirkung zwischen Mensch und Umwelt widmen, um entscheidend zur Lösung immer bedeutsamer werdender Umweltprobleme auf der Erde beizutragen und der zukünftigen Luft- und Raumfahrt konkrete Lösungen zur Verfügung zu stellen.

In verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen, Projekten sowie Kooperationen unserer sechs Abteilungen untersuchen wir die Wirkung von Schwerelosigkeit auf grundsätzliche Funktionen des menschlichen Körpers und entwickeln Maßnahmen, die bei Langzeitaufenthalten im Weltraum den Auswirkungen von Schwerelosigkeit auf den Menschen – wie Verlust an Knochen und Muskelmasse – entgegenwirken.

Eine weitere wesentliche Aufgabe unserer Arbeit ist die Auswahl von geeignetem Personal (Piloten, Astronauten, Fluglotsen) und die Entwicklung des dafür benötigten wissenschaftlichen Instrumentariums aus psychologischer Sicht. Des Weiteren befassen wir uns mit der Frage nach der Anpassung von Leben an extreme Umwelten und beteiligen uns an der Suche nach Leben im All.

National wie international kooperieren wir mit Partnern aus Wissenschaft, Forschung und Industrie sowie Ministerien und Agenturen.

Qualitätsmanagement

Das Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin (ME) ist mit fast allen wissenschaftlichen Abteilungen, sowie Management und Administration, nach DIN EN ISO 9001:2008 und nach DIN EN ISO 13485 zertifiziert. So wurde die Voraussetzung für die Entwicklung und Herstellung von Medizinprodukten geschaffen.

Organigramm (Stand: 1/2014)

DLR
Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin
Linder Höhe
D-51147 Köln
Telefon: +49 2203 601-3115
Telefax: +49 2203 69 52 11
E-Mail: medizin@dlr.de


Kontakt
Prof. Dr. med. Rupert Gerzer
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Luft- und Raumfahrtmedizin
, Institutsleitung
Tel: +49 2203 601-3115

Fax: +49 2203 695211

E-Mail: Rupert.Gerzer@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/me/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1754/2380_read-3753/