Space Physiology
Head: Prof. Dr. med. Jörn Rittweger

Gravity and Cyclic GMP Levels in Melanocytic Cells



Human melanocytes function as a pivotal protective barrier against ultraviolet irradiation and oxidative stress by generating the radical-scavenging pigment melanin. In addition, several studies indicate that melanocytes are able to secrete a wide range of signal molecules. They also function in local immune reactivity as antigen-processing and antigen-presenting cells. Moreover, melanocytes in vivo are permanently targeted by mechanical stimuli, e.g., mechanical forces from external sources and mechanical forces via muscle contraction and growth processes. Recent data suggest that melanocytes are able to sense mechanical forces and transform them into biochemical signals.

Guanosine 3’,5’-cyclic monophosphate (cyclic GMP, cGMP) has emerged as a major focus in signal transduction research. Cyclic GMP is synthesized from guanosine 5’-triphosphate via activation of guanylyl cyclase (GC) that exists in a soluble form (sGC), the prime target for signaling activity of nitric oxide (NO), and in membrane-bound isoforms, that are ligands for natriuretic peptides as well as enterotoxins and guanylin. Mediating most of the effects of NO and of the natriuretic peptides, cyclic GMP plays an important role in smooth muscle relaxation, neutrophil degranulation, inhibition of platelet aggregation, neural communication in the brain, and several other physiological and/or pathophysiological processes, including inflammation and cancer. In previous studies we found that NO may modulate the adhesion of human melanocytes to extracellular matrix components such as fibronectin [Ivanova K, Le Poole IC, van den Wijngaard R, Gerzer R, Das PK. (1997). Effects of nitric oxide on the adhesion of melanocytes to extracellular matrix components. J Pathol, 183:469-476]. We recently found that normal human melanocytes and nonmetastatic melanoma cell lines express predominantly sGC, which appears to be associated with melanogenesis. In contrast, no nitric-oxide-sensitive guanylyl cyclase, but upregulated activities of the membrane isoforms of GC (GC-A and GC-B) were found in metastatic melanoma cells [Ivanova K, Das PK, van den Wijngaard R, Lenz W, Klockenbring T, Malcharzyk V, Drummer C, Gerzer R. (2001). Differential expression of functional guanylyl cyclases in melanocytes: Absence of nitric-oxide-sensitive isoform in metastatic cells. J Invest Dermatol, 116:409-416]. These results suggest that the differential expression of functional GC may be correlated with the metastatic potential.

As the risk for the development of cancer in human space flight is still not understood, we investigated whether cyclic GMP turnover is altered under variable gravity conditions. The results of our studies demonstrate for the first time that nonmetastatic melanoma cell lines respond to a long-time exposure (24 h) to hypergravity (2xg and 5xg) with elevated cyclic GMP extrusion, whereas metastatic cells remain insensitive [Ivanova K, Hamidi Zadeh N, Block I, Das PK, Gerzer R. (2002). Gravity and cyclic GMP levels in melanocytic cells. J Gravit Physiol, 9 (1): 271-272]. Thus, cyclic GMP appears to be important in the adaptation process of human melanocytes to gravitational stress.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/me/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1935/2759_read-4236/

Weltraumphysiologie
Leitung: Prof. Dr. med. Jörn Rittweger

Schwerkraftsensitivität von Melanozyten, erstmals nachgewiesen durch Konzentrationsänderungen des Botenstoffes cGMP



Epidermale humane Melanozyten sind zur Untersuchung der Effekte schwacher Umweltreize (Strahlung und Gravitation) sehr gut geeignet, da sie die Hautzellen sind, die das Pigment Melanin produzieren. Die Melanine haben allgemein eine protektive Rolle, können aber auch an der Entstehung von Hautkrebs und anderen Hauterkrankungen beteiligt sein. Weiterhin ist bekannt, dass die Melanozyten in die lokale Immunreaktion involviert sind. Zusätzlich sind die humanen Melanozyten in vivo permanent mechanischen Reizen, z.B. während des Wachstums und bei Muskelkontraktionen, ausgesetzt, die sie in biochemische Signale umwandeln.

Zyklisches Guanosin-3´,5´-monophosphat (cGMP) ist ein Botenstoffmolekül, welches an einer Vielzahl wichtiger Regulationsmechanismen, wie Relaxation der glatten Muskulatur, Hemmung der Aggregation von Thrombozyten und Melanogenese beteiligt ist. Die Bildung von cGMP wird aus Guanosin-5´-triphosphat durch Guanylylzyklasen (GC) katalysiert, die entweder gelöst im Zellplasma (Zytosol) oder als membrangebundene Isoformen vorkommen. Die lösliche GC (sGC) ist ein heterodimeres (a,ß) Hämprotein, welches durch Stickstoffmonoxid (NO) aktiviert wird, während die partikulären Isoformen durch natriuretische Peptide stimuliert werden. Unsere bisherigen Untersuchungen zeigen, dass NO die Wechselwirkungen zwischen humanen Melanozyten mit Komponenten der extrazellulären Matrix (z. B. Fibronektin) modulieren kann [Ivanova K, Le Poole IC, van den Wijngaard R, Gerzer R, Das PK. (1997). Effects of nitric oxide on the adhesion of melanocytes to extracellular matrix components. J Pathol, 183:469-476]. Weiterhin demonstrieren die Befunde, dass metastasierende humane Melanomzellen im Gegensatz zu nichtmetastasierenden Melanozyten keine NO-sensitive sGC exprimieren. Dagegen wurde eine erhöhte Aktivierung der partikulären Isoformen der GC durch natriuretische Peptide in hochmetastasierenden Melanozyten festgestellt [Ivanova K, Das PK, van den Wijngaard R, Lenz W, Klockenbring T, Malcharzyk V, Drummer C, Gerzer R. (2001). Differential expression of functional guanylyl cyclases in melanocytes: Absence of nitric-oxide-sensitive isoform in metastatic cells. J Invest Dermatol, 116:409-416]. Dies deutet auf eine mögliche Beziehung zwischen der unterschiedlichen Expression der verschiedenen GC und dem Metastasierungspotential hin.

Um zu klären, ob Astronauten nicht nur durch die erhöhte Strahlung, sondern auch durch die Schwerelosigkeit einem erhöhten Krebsrisiko ausgesetzt sind, wurden die Effekte von Hypergravitation auf die Funktion humaner Melanozyten und Melanomzellen mit unterschiedlichem Metastasierungspotential untersucht. Bei Hypergravitation (2xg und 5xg für 24 h) wurde eine erhöhte Ausscheidung von cGMP aus nichtmetastasierenden Melanomzellen im Vergleich zu 1xg-Kontrollen festgestellt. In metastasierenden Melanomzellen wurden keine Veränderungen der cGMP-Spiegel erkannt [Ivanova K, Hamidi Zadeh N, Block I, Das PK, Gerzer R. (2002). Gravity and cyclic GMP levels in melanocytic cells. J Gravit Physiol, 9(1): 271-272]. Diese Ergebnisse liefern zum ersten Mal Hinweise dafür, dass cGMP eine Rolle bei der Adaptation humaner Melanozyten an Stress-Bedingungen spielen könnte, die durch erhöhte Schwerkraft erzeugt wurden.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/me/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1935/2759_read-4236/