Aktuelles

6th project meeting for ISS MSL-EML at DLR Cologne



On 28/02/2014 an Ariane-rocket with ATV-5 will carry the materials science laboratory electromagnetic levitation unit (MSL-EML) to the International Space Station (ISS). The experiment module will be installed in the European science laboratory Columbus at the ISS. It allows for the investigation of thermophysical properties of liquid metals and their solidification under weightlessness and without any contact with container walls.


On July 4th to 6th 2012, the sixth investigator working group (IWG) meeting was held at the Institute of Materials Physics in Space, DLR in Cologne. Scientists from Europe, USA and Asia, representatives from industry (Astrium), staff members of the Microgravity User Support Center (MUSC), and representatives of the space agencies ESA and DLR meet to discuss and coordinate the current
scientific and technical issues of EML.


I.Egry und D.Matson vor dem EDR EML Trainings-Modul

I.Egry and D.Matson in front of EDR EML Trainings Model at EAC, Cologne

Prof. Ivan Egry announced his decision to retire from his longstanding leadership of the IWG, after a dedicated and fruitful tour of duty.
Douglas Matson, associate professor at Tufts University in Medford (United States) was elected as his successor. As deputy spokesman, Stefan Klein from the Institute of Materials Physics in Space was selected.


In addition, the participants visited the training model of the experiment at the neighboring European Astronaut Centre (EAC) where the astronauts are trained for the installation and operation of the planned missions.

 


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/mp/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1620/6111_read-34866/

Aktuelles

Sechstes Projekttreffen für ISS MSL-EML am DLR in Köln-Porz



Am 28.02.2014 soll eine Ariane-Rakete mit ATV-5 das materialwissenschaftliches Labor zur Elektromagnetischen Levitation (MSL-EML) auf die internationale Raumstation (ISS) bringen. Das Experimentmodul wird im europäischen Wissenschaftslabor COLUMBUS auf der ISS installiert. Es ermöglicht, thermophysikalische Eigenschaften von Metallschmelzen und Vorgänge bei deren Erstarrung ohne Kontakt zu Behälterwänden unter Schwerelosigkeit zu untersuchen.

Vom 4. bis zum 6. Juli 2012 tagten internationale Partner auf dem sechsten Treffen der Forscherarbeitsgruppe (IWG - investigator working group) im Institut für Materialphysik im Weltraum am DLR in Köln-Porz. Darunter befanden sich Wissenschaftler aus Europa, den USA und Asien, Vertreter aus Industrie (Astrium), des Nutzerzentrums für Weltraumexperimente (MUSC), sowie Vertreter der Weltraumagenturen von ESA und DLR. Dabei wurden der aktuelle Fortschritt und das weitere Vorgehen koordiniert.

I.Egry und D.Matson vor dem EDR EML Trainings-Modul
I.Egry und D.Matson vor dem EDR EML Trainings Model
Der langjährige und engagierte Sprecher der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft, Ivan Egry, gab aus Altersgründen seinen Rücktritt bekannt. Seine Nachfolge tritt Douglas Matson, Associate Professor an der Tufts University in Medford (USA), an. Als stellvertretender Sprecher wurde Stefan Klein vom Institut für Materialphysik im Weltraum gewählt.

Außerdem hatten die Teilnehmer Gelegenheit das Trainingsmodell des Experiments im benachbarten Europäischen Astronautenzentrum zu besichtigen. An diesem werden die Astronauten für den Einbau und die Bedienung der Anlage geschult.


 


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/mp/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1620/6111_read-34866/