The German Aerospace Center (DLR) is a major scientific partner in the Mountain Wave Project (MWP) and provided a special version of its Modular Airborne Camera System (MACS) for MWPs Himalaya expedition in 2013/2014.




+++ 12.09.2014: Omega Tau Podcast online +++ 12.07.2014: New expedition video on youtube +++ 09.04.2014: MACS-Himalaya at ILA Berlin Air Show 2014 - Hall 4, Stand 4301 +++ 29.01.2014: Successfull completion of expedition in Nepal +++ 28.01.2014: Scan flights over Mount Everest, Khumbu Glacier and Khumbu Valley +++ 23.01.2014: First flight of scientific aircraft over Kali Ghandaki valley +++ 22.01.2014: Arrival of scientific equipment in Pokhara +++


You'll find current impressions from Nepal in our Aeronautics Blog.




Besides the airborne camera system the DLR will also contribute their expertise of image processing to derive various 3D data products. The results will be used for glacier monitoring and surface modeling of topographically challenging terrain around Annapurna and Mt. Everest.

Figure 1    Scientific Aircraft with MACS-Himalaya Wing Pod (Image: Lothar Schwark)

Following scientific applications are addressed using MACS-Himalaya in the Nepal campaign 2013/2014:

  • Determination of probability indicators for landslides in previously affected areas (i.e. Seti River basin).
  • Derivation of a 3D model of the rescue route between Lukla and Mount Everest based on high quality image data.
  • Support of ICIMOD’s existing Mountain GeoPortal – an Earthquake Emergency Management and Response System for Kathmandu Valley.
  • Ice cover analysis and hydrologic modeling for glaciated areas and adjacent valleys.

Digital Elevation Models and True Ortho Mosaics with exceptional resolution and highest accuracy even in deep valleys will be derived after the flight campaign using DLR developed image processing technologies. These products are required for region-specific disaster management, disaster prevention and disaster risk assessment.

Figure 2    MACS-Himalaya airborne camera system

The fully automated camera system is integrated into an wing pod of a Stemme S10 VTX motor glider. While made for altitudes of 20km (approx. 65.000ft) during the Nepal campaign flight altitudes of up to 10km are expected. Operating several cameras simultaneously, an overall aperture angle of approx. 120deg is gained providing high resolution imagery of slopes.




29.01.2014: Successfull completion of expedition in Nepal



28.01.2014: Scan flights over Mount Everest, Khumbu Glacier and Khumbu Valley


23.01.2014 - First flight of scientific aircraft over Kali Ghandaki valley

 MACS-Himalaya Video DE


05.11.2013 - Shipping of scientific equipment from Berlin to Nepal


29.10.2013 - Launch of scientific aircraft from Strausberg to Nepal


21.08.2013 - Final test flight in the Alps


09.07.2013 - Test fligts in the Greater Aachen area


25.03.2013 - Maiden flight of airborne camera system in Strausberg


In collaboration with



Dipl. Ing. Jörg Brauchle
Institute of Optical Sensor Systems
, Sensor Concepts and Applications
Tel: +49 30 67055-274

Fax: +49 30 67055-385

URL for this article

MACS-Himalaya



Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ist wissenschaftlicher Partner im Mountain Wave Project (MWP) und hat für die Himalaya-Kampagne 2013/2014 eine angepasste Variante seines modularen Luftbildkamerasystems MACS (Modular Airborne Camera System) zur Verfügung gestellt.

 

Aktuelles

 

+++ 12.09.2014: Omega Tau Podcast online +++ 12.07.2014: Neues Expeditionsvideo auf Youtube online +++ 09.04.2014: MACS-Himalaya kommt auf die ILA 2014 - Halle 4, Stand 4301 +++ 29.01.2014: Abschluss der Expedition in Nepal +++ 28.01.2014: Erfolgreiche Befliegung von Mount Everest, Khumbu Gletscher und Khumbu Valley +++ 23.01.2014: Erstflug des Forschungsflugzeugs im Kali Ghandaki Tal +++

 

Im Aeronautics Blog schildert Jörg Brauchle seine Eindrücke aus Nepal.

 

 

Hintergrund

Im Rahmen der Expedition wird das DLR neben dem Kamerasystem seine Expertise im Bereich der 3D-Auswertung von Luftbildaufnahmen einbringen. Die Ergebnisse werden im Anschluss für unterschiedliche Anwendungen wie Gletscheruntersuchungen oder geomorphologische Analysen verwendet.

Abb. 1    Forschungsflugzeug mit MACS-Himalaya Luftbildkamerasystem (Bild: Lothar Schwark)

Folgende wissenschaftliche Themen sollen mit Hilfe des Kamerasystems adressiert werden:

  • Ableitung von Indikatoren für die Wahrscheinlichkeit von Hangrutschungen in gefährdeten Gebieten wie dem Seti-Tal
  • Erzeugung eines 3D-Modells der Rettungsroute zwischen Lukla und dem Mount Everest aus hochauflösenden Luftbilddaten
  • Bereitstellung von Basisdaten für das bestehende Mountain GeoPortal der Forschungseinrichtung ICIMOD
  • Analyse der Eis- und Schneebedeckung und hydrologische Modellierung des Schmelzwasserabflusses

Im Anschluss an die Kampagne werden digitale Oberflächenmodelle und kartenprojizierte Luftbilddaten in hoher Auflösung und Lagegenauigkeit erstellt. Dafür kommen im DLR entwickelte Verfahren und Technologien zum Einsatz. Diese Daten sind Grundlage für eine Gefährdungsanalyse, und damit für Bevölkerungsschutz und Katastrophenmanagement.

 

Abb. 2    MACS-Himalaya Luftbildkamerasystem
 

Das vollständig automatisch arbeitende Kamerasystem wird im Außenlastbehälter eines Motorseglers Stemme S10 VTX integriert. Es ist ausgelegt auf den Betrieb in Flughöhen bis zu 20 km. In Rahmen des Himalaya-Einsatzes werden voraussichtlich Flughöhen über 10 km erreicht werden. Durch den Einsatz mehrerer Kameramodule wird ein Bildwinkel von ca. 120° abgedeckt. Somit ist auch die hochauflösende Abbildung von Berghängen gewährleistet.

 

Meilensteine

 

29.01.2014: Abschluss der Expedition in Nepal

 

 

28.01.2014: Erfolgreiche Befliegung von Mount Everest, Khumbu Gletscher und Khumbu Valley

 

23.01.2014 - Erstflug des Forschungsflugzeugs im Kali Ghandaki Tal

 MACS-Himalaya Video DE

 

05.11.2013 - Verschiffung der Ausrüstung nach Nepal

 

 29.10.2013 - Abflug des Forschungsflugzeugs von Strausberg nach Nepal

  

21.08.2013 - Generalprobe in den Alpen

 

 09.07.2013 - Testflüge im Großraum Aachen

 

25.03.2013 - Erstflug des Kamerasystems bei Strausberg

 

In Kooperation mit

        

 


Kontakt
Dipl.-Ing. Fahrzeugtechnik Jörg Brauchle
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Optische Sensorsysteme
, Sensorkonzepte und Anwendungen
Tel: +49 30 67055-274

Fax: +49 30 67055-602

E-Mail: Joerg.Brauchle@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/os/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-7043/15149_read-37477/