News

DLR's Falcon research aircraft deployed in Malaysia

November 2011

Favoured by severe weather conditions during the rainy season and the large-scale circulation of air masses in the western Pacific, short-lived natural chlorinated and brominated compounds compounds may be able to reach the stratosphere, and thus have an impact on the ozone layer. Particularly strong sources of these compounds are thought to exist in the tropical western Pacific. But the role of these natural halogen compounds in ozone depletion is largely unexplored. Answers are expected from the European-Malaysian project SHIVA (Stratospheric ozone: Halogen Impacts in a Varying Atmosphere) in which the DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics participates.

The Falcon set off for Malaysia on 9 November 2011 and will be on site for four weeks. Missions are planned, from Miri (Borneo) along the coastal regions of Malaysia, over the South China Sea, and over the southern Philippines. In addition small boats belonging to the Malaysian partners will be deployed to identify the main source regions of the ozone depleting substances. The German research vessel 'Sonne' will be taking measurements in the surface water and the air. The DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics is also participating in these measurements. At the same time, satellite data – for example, from the Envisat environmental satellite – will be used to capture the large-scale meteorological processes, the biological activity in the waters being studied and the distribution of ozone. The results of the campaign will be analysed with the help of numerical models, with the aim of predicting the future development of the ozone layer.

SHIVA is funded by the European Union and various national funding agencies in Europe and Malaysia. DLR is a partner in a European-Malaysian consortium consisting of 130 scientists from 17 institutions. The University of Heidelberg's Institute of Environmental Physics is coordinating the project. 

Link: http://shiva.iup.uni-heidelberg.de/

Contact: Dr. Hans Schlager

German Aerospace Center
Institute of Atmospheric Physics
Oberpfaffenhofen
82234 Wessling
Germany

Tel.: +49 8153 282510
Fax: +49 8153 281841


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/pa/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-32782/

Neues aus dem Institut

Einsatz des DLR-Forschungsflugzeugs Falcon in Malaysia

November 2011

Begünstigt durch die starken Gewitter während der Regenzeit und die großräumige Zirkulation der Luftmassen können über dem Westpazifik kurzlebige natürliche Chlor- und Bromverbindungen möglicherweise bis in die Stratosphäre gelangen und dort die Ozonschicht schädigen. Im tropischen Westpazifik werden besonders starke Quellen dieser Verbindungen vermutet. Die Rolle dieser natürlichen Halogenverbindungen beim Ozonabbau ist jedoch weitgehend unerforscht. Aufklärung verspricht das europäisch-malaysische Forschungsprojekt SHIVA („Stratospheric ozone: Halogen Impacts in a Varying Atmosphere“), an dem auch das Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre beteiligt ist.

Am 9. November 2011 startete die Falcon Richtung Malaysia um innerhalb von vier Wochen von Miri (Borneo) aus Messflüge entlang der Küstengebiete von Malaysia, über dem Südchinesische Meer und dem südöstlichen Gebiet der Philippinen durchzuführen. Zusätzlich zu den Falcon-Flügen finden auch Messungen mit Schiffen, unter anderem mit dem deutschen Forschungsschiff „Sonne“, statt, die in erster Linie die Hauptquellgebiete der ozonabbauenden Stoffe identifizieren sollen. Auch an diesen Messungen ist das DLR-Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre beteiligt. Gleichzeitig werden Satellitendaten beispielsweise des Umweltsatelliten ENVISAT genutzt, um die großräumigen meteorologischen Prozesse, die biologische Aktivität der untersuchten Gewässer sowie die Verteilung von Ozon zu erfassen. Die Ergebnisse der Kampagne werden mit Hilfe numerischer Modelle mit dem Ziel analysiert, die künftige Entwicklung der Ozonschicht vorherzusagen.

SHIVA wird aus Mitteln der Europäischen Union und verschiedenen nationalen Förderorganisationen aus Europa und Malaysia finanziert. Das DLR ist hier Partner in einem europäisch-malaysischen Konsortium bestehend aus 130 Wissenschaftlern aus 17 Institutionen. Die Projektkoordination liegt beim Institut für Umweltphysik der Universität Heidelberg.

Link: http://shiva.iup.uni-heidelberg.de/

 

Kontakt: Dr. Hans Schlager 

Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V.
Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre
Oberpfaffenhofen
82234 Wessling
Tel.: 08153/282510
Fax: 08153/281841

 

 


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/pa/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-32782/