News

50 years Institute of Atmospheric Physics

June 2012

The DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics celebrates its 50th anniversary. The institute was founded on 1 July 1962 from two precursory institutes, the Institute of Aviation Meteorology and the Institute of Airspace Research. This event will be acknowledged by a scientific colloquium on 29 June 2012 with contributions by invited speakers from different countries.

By this occasion scientists and colleagues of the institute have summarized the research area of the institute and many results in a book titled “Atmospheric Physics – Background, Methods, Trends”. The book is edited by Prof. Schumann and will be published by Springer.

The anniversary also marks a transition in the leadership of the institute. On 30 June 2012 Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schumann retires from his position as the director of the institute after almost 30 years. From 1 July Prof. Dr. Markus Rapp will be the new director. Prof. Rapp is also appointed as a professor for atmospheric physics at the Ludwig-Maximilians university of Munich.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/pa/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-34620/

Neues aus dem Institut

50 Jahre Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre

Juni 2012

Das Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) feiert sein 50. Jubiläum. Das Institut wurde am 1. Juli 1962 aus zwei Vorgängerinstituten gegründet, dem Institut für Flugmeteorologie und dem Institut für Flugraumforschung. Mit einem wissenschaftlichen Kolloquium mit Beiträgen von internationalen Gastrednern wird dieses Ereignis im DLR Oberpfaffenhofen am 29. Juni 2012 gewürdigt.

Wissenschaftler und Kollegen des Instituts, mit Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schumann als Herausgeber, haben aus diesem Anlass das Forschungsgebiet des Instituts und viele der Ergebnisse in einem Buch "Atmospheric Physics – Background, Methods, Trends" zusammengefasst. Das Buch wird zum Jubiläum im Springer Verlag erscheinen.

Das Jubiläum markiert zudem einen Einschnitt in der Leitung des Instituts. Am 30. Juni 2012 scheidet Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schumann als Direktor des Instituts nach fast 30 Jahren in dieser Position aus. Ab 1. Juli ist Prof. Dr. Markus Rapp Direktor des Instituts für Physik der Atmosphäre. Prof. Rapp wird zugleich zum Professor für Atmosphärenphysik an die Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München berufen.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/pa/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-34620/