News

Aviation-induced cirrus cover detected from diurnal cycle over North Atlantic

August 2012

Figure 1: Air traffic distribution in the North Atlantic (colored). The box over the North Atlantic identifies the region investigated. It lies within the circle of Meteosat visibility (figure by DLR).

 

Figure 2: Cirrus cover (white) over the North Atlantic as derived with the MeCiDa method from Meteosat data. The scenes show an example with observed cirrus cover before and after passage of the eastbound traffic on a specific day. The noon scene shows additional cirrus cover, obviously caused by aviation. The grey polygon includes the North Atlantic flight corridor considered (figure by DLR).

 

Figure 3: Diurnal cycles of air traffic density (red, right axis) and cirrus cover (black, left axis) in western and eastern parts of the North Atlantic traffic corridor (figure by DLR).

Linear cirrus clouds of ice particles, so-called contrails, are often visible behind cruising aircraft. In cold and humid air masses they grow and persist and often become indistinguishable from natural cirrus clouds after some time. Contrails have been identified from their linear structure in satellite data. However, the total amount of cirrus cover could only be estimated from model simulations. For the first time the cover by aviation-induced cirrus clouds was observed from Meteosat satellite observations using traffic data provided by EUROCONTROL.

Air traffic over the North Atlantic follows a systematic time pattern (see animation). Every morning hundreds of airliners cruise from North America to Europe and return to North America in the early afternoon. The same pattern has been detected in the diurnal cycle of cirrus cover. Scientists of DLR, the Germany Aerospace Center, have used this pattern to quantify the amount of aviation-induced cirrus cover and its dynamical time scales for the first time.

The geostationary Meteosat Second Generation (MSG) satellites, established under cooperation between EUMETSAT and the European Space Agency (ESA), carries the Spinning Enhanced Visible and InfraRed Imager (SEVIRI), which has the capacity to observe the Earth in 12 spectral channels. Cirrus cover was derived from infrared data of the SEVIRI Instrument every 15 minutes with about 5 km horizontal resolution for eight years of observations. For this purpose a new Meteosat Cirrus Detection Algorithm MeCiDA2 is used which was developed jointly with the University Munich. Air traffic density data were provided by the European air traffic control center EUROCONTROL with high spatial and temporal resolution for several weeks in 2004.

The satellite measurements and traffic data were used to derive the mean diurnal cycles of cirrus cover and air traffic density. Both show a double wave in time with maxima at early morning and early afternoon.

The double wave for cirrus follows the double wave for air traffic with a delay of a few hours. Such a delay time is to be expected and corresponds to the time during which contrails spread to maximum width and thickness. Because of different flight directions, the maxima are closer together in the east part of the North Atlantic than in the west part. This east-west double wave pattern is unique for aviation and therefore serves as fingerprint to identify aviation contributions to cirrus. Cover and air traffic can be related by a linear response model. From the data and the model a mean aviation-induced cirrus cover of 1-2 % is derived with typical delay times of 2-4 h. The derived cover is larger than estimated so far with models. The cover amplitude and the delay time can be used to test the modeling of contrail dynamics.

The results have just been published in a paper of Geophysical Research Letters. In a follow-on paper, the authors quantify also the climate impact caused by these additional cirrus clouds. Results will be reported in a few months when the next paper is published. The results show warming and cooling effects depending on daytime, weather, and underground. This offers new chances for mitigation of the aviation climate effect.

Reference

Graf, K., U. Schumann, H. Mannstein, and B. Mayer (2012), Aviation induced diurnal North Atlantic cirrus cover cycle, Geophys. Res. Lett., 39, doi:10.1029/2012GL052590.


Contact
Kaspar Graf
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Atmospheric Physics
, Remote sensing of the atmosphere
Tel: +49 8153 28-2571

Fax: +49 8153 28-1841

E-Mail: Kaspar.Graf@dlr.de
Prof.Dr.-Ing. Ulrich Schumann
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Atmospheric Physics

Tel: +49 8153 28-2584

Fax: +49 8153 28-1841

E-Mail: ulrich.schumann@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/pa/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-35237/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.agu.org/journals/gl/gl1216/2012GL052590/

Neues aus dem Institut

Luftverkehr über dem Nordatlantik verursacht messbaren Tagesgang von Zirruswolken.

August 2012

Abbildung 1: Verteilung des Luftverkehrs über dem Nordatlantik (farbig). Das graue Viereck umfasst den betrachteten Teil des Flugkorridors im Nordatlantik. Es liegt innerhalb des Sichtkreises des Meteosat. (Abbildung vom DLR)

 

.

Abbildung 2: Zirrusbedeckung (weiß) über dem Nordatlantik abgeleitet mittels MeCiDA2 aus Meteosat-Daten zu einem Termin kurz vor und kurz nach Durchgang des morgendlichen Luftverkehrs von Amerika nach Europa. Das graue Viereck umfasst den betrachteten Teil des Flugkorridors im Nordatlantik (Abbildung vom DLR). Man erkennt, dass sich zusätzliche Wolken gebildet haben.

 

.
Abbildung 3. Mittlere Tagesgänge der Flugverkehrsdichte (rot, rechte Achse) und Zirrus-Bedeckungsgrad (schwarz, linke Achse) im West- und Ost-Teil des Nord Atlantik Flugkorridors (Abbildung vom DLR).
Erstmals gelang es, den von Flugzeugen verursachten Beitrag zur Zirrusbewölkung aus Beobachtungen zu bestimmen. Hinter Flugzeugen sieht man häufig linienförmige Zirruswolken aus Eispartikeln, sogenannte Kondensstreifen. In feuchter Luft breiten sich Kondensstreifen aus und sind nach einiger Zeit kaum von natürlichen Zirruswolken zu unterscheiden. Bisher hat man Kondensstreifen anhand ihrer linienförmigen Struktur im Satellitenbild detektiert. Immer schon war klar, dass man damit nur einen kleinen Teil aller durch Flugzeuge verursachten Zirruswolken erkennen kann.

Über dem Nordatlantik pendelt der Luftverkehr jeden Tag regelmäßig zwischen Amerika und Europa hin und her (siehe Animation). Am frühen Morgen fliegen hunderte von Verkehrsflugzeugen von Nordamerika nach Europa. Gegen Mittag fliegen sie von Europa zurück nach Nordamerika. Dieses Muster, quasi ein Fingerabdruck des Luftverkehrs, ist auch in der Bewölkung über dem Nordatlantik zu erkennen. Anhand dieses Fingerabdrucks haben Wissenschaftler des Instituts für Physik der Atmosphäre des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen nun erstmals den Beitrag des Luftverkehrs zur Bewölkung in seinem Betrag und in seiner zeitlichen Dynamik im mittleren Tagesgang quantifiziert.

Dafür benutzten die Wissenschaftler Daten der geostationären Meteosat Second Generation (MSG) Satelliten, die in Kooperation von EUMETSAT und ESA betrieben werden. An Bord der MSG Satelliten befindet sich das Instrument SEVIRI, welches die Erde in zwölf Spektralbereichen beobachtet. Mit den Infrarotkanälen dieses Instruments konnten sie die Zirrusbewölkung über dem Atlantik alle 15 Minuten mit etwa 5 km räumlicher Auflösung über acht Jahre messen. Dazu wurde ein neuer Meteosat Cirrus Detection Algorithm MeCiDA2 benutzt, der zuvor in Kooperation mit dem Meteorologischen Institut der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München entwickelt worden war. Von der europäischen Flugkontrolle EUROCONTROL standen Informationen über die Flugverkehrsdichte über dem Atlantik mit hoher zeitlicher und räumlicher Auflösung für einige typische Wochen zur Verfügung. Aus den Messdaten für 2912 Tage haben die Wissenschaftler einen mittleren Tagesgang der Bewölkung abgeleitet.

Der Tagesgang der Bewölkung zeigt das gleiche Muster wie der mittlere Tagesgang des Luftverkehrs. Beide zeigen eine Doppelwelle als Funktion der Tageszeit mit Maxima am Morgen und am frühen Nachmittag. Die Tageswelle der Bewölkung folgt der des Luftverkehrs mit einer Verzögerung von 2-4 Stunden. Diese Verzögerung ist die Zeit, in der Kondensstreifen ihre maximale Breite und Dicke erreichen. Aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Flugrichtungen liegen die Maxima im Osten zeitlich dichter beieinander als im Westen des Nordatlantiks. Dieses Muster ist ein eindeutiger Fingerabdruck des Luftverkehrs. Mit Hilfe eines einfachen Modells wurden der Bedeckungsgrad und der Verkehr in Beziehung gesetzt. Damit wurde ermittelt, dass der Luftverkehr den mittleren Zirrus-Bedeckungsgrad über dem Nordatlantik um 1 bis 2 Prozent erhöht. Dieser Betrag ist größer als bisher mit Modellrechnungen geschätzt.

Die Ergebnisse sind jetzt in einem Aufsatz in Geophysical Research Letters publiziert. In einer Folgearbeit haben die Wissenschaftler auch die Klimawirksamkeit der Zirruswolken bestimmt. Hierüber wird in einigen Monaten zu berichten sein, wenn die entsprechende Publikation erscheint. Da der Klimaeffekt je nach Tageszeit, Wetter und Flugstrecke stark schwankt, kann man den Klimaeffekt des Luftverkehrs durch entsprechende Routenwahl minimieren.

Referenz

Graf, K., U. Schumann, H. Mannstein, and B. Mayer (2012), Aviation induced diurnal North Atlantic cirrus cover cycle, Geophys. Res. Lett., 39, doi:10.1029/2012GL052590.


Kontakt
Kaspar Graf
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre
, Fernerkundung der Atmosphäre
Tel: +49 8153 28-2571

Fax: +49 8153 28-1841

E-Mail: Kaspar.Graf@dlr.de
Prof.Dr.-Ing. Ulrich Schumann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre

Tel: +49 8153 28-2584

Fax: +49 8153 28-1841

E-Mail: ulrich.schumann@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/pa/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-35237/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.agu.org/journals/gl/gl1216/2012GL052590/