News

Increase of Arctic pollution due to climate change – IPA investigates emission sources in the Arctic

30 August 2012

Increase of Arctic pollution due to climate change – IPA investigates emission sources in the Arctic

Impacts of global warming lead to an increase of pollution import into the polar region, as well as to an enhancement of local emissions in the Arctic. Since the 1960s, the Arctic Ocean ice cover has decreased by 50%. Transpolar shipping and hydrocarbon resource extraction therefore is expected to heavily increase in the foreseeable future. Transport of pollution into the polar region already is enhanced, mainly due to import of Siberian and North American biomass burning emissions. Within the framework of the ACCESS project (Arctic Climate Change, Economy and Society), scientists of the Institute of Atmospheric Physics performed in-situ measurements in the Arctic in July 2012.

The Falcon was based in Andoya, northern Norway, and conducted 13 research flights studying Arctic pollution. Thereby emissions and distributions of trace compounds were measured including nitrogen oxides, hydrocarbons, sulfuric dioxide, and particulate matter, e.g. black carbon. During low-level flights, emissions of different vessel types (passenger-, cargo and fishery ships) and of oil platforms located in the Norwegian Sea were analyzed. These measurements will be used to study primary emitted pollutants and formation of secondary trace gases and particles in the exhaust gas. For the first time, airborne in-situ measurements were conducted in close vicinity of offshore oil facilities in the Arctic.

During large-scale flights above the Barents Sea, also pollution originating from Russian industrial areas located in the Arctic, as well as from Siberian biomass burning source regions was sampled. The Falcon measurements will be used to improve emission inventories and to validate model simulations. This will help to improve model predictions of future Arctic pollution and warming.

Figure 1: DLR Falcon in Andoya before take-off for a research flight in the Arctic.

Figure 2: View from the cockpit of the DLR Falcon while approaching oil and gas extraction facilities in the Norwegian Sea.

Figure 3: Large-scale atmospheric pollution layer observed from the Falcon over the Barents Sea, originating from industrial areas of the Kola Peninsula.

Figure 4: Investigated oil platform in the Norwegian Sea.

Contact: Dr. Hans Schlager 

German Aerospace Center
Institute of Atmospheric Physics
Oberpfaffenhofen
82234 Wessling
Germany

Tel.: 08153/282510
Fax: 08153/281841


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/pa/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-35239/

Neues aus dem Institut

Zunehmende Verschmutzung der Arktis infolge des Klimawandels – IPA erforscht Schadstoffquellen

30. August 2012

Zunehmende Verschmutzung der Arktis infolge des Klimawandels – IPA erforscht Schadstoffquellen

Der Klimawandel führt zu einer Zunahme des Importes von Schadstoffen in die Nordpolarregion sowie zu einem Anstieg der lokalen Emissionen in der Arktis. Die Eisbedeckung im Nordpolarmeer hat seit den 1960 Jahren bereits um 50 Prozent abgenommen. Dadurch wird in absehbarer Zeit der transpolare Schiffsverkehr und die Gas- und Ölförderung in der Arktis stark zunehmen. Der Eintrag von Schadstoffen in die Nordpolarregion von Quellen außerhalb der Arktis ist bereits angestiegen. Hier sind insbesondere die Emissionen von Waldbränden in Nordamerika und Sibirien zu nennen. Im von der Europäischen Union geförderten Projekt ACCESS (Arctic Climate Change, Economy and Society) führten Wissenschaftler des Instituts für Physik der Atmosphäre im Juli 2012 Schadstoffmessungen mit dem Forschungsflugzeug Falcon in der Arktis durch.

Die Falcon war in Andoya, Nordnorwegen, stationiert und untersuchte bei 13 Messflügen die Emissionen und Verteilung von gasförmigen Verbindungen, wie z.B. von Stickoxiden, Kohlenwasserstoffen undSchwefeldioxid, sowie von Partikeln, wiez.B. Ruß. Im Tiefflug wurden die Emissionen von verschiedenen Schiffstypen (Fracht- und Passagierschiffe, Fischerboote) und vonÖlplattformen in der Norwegischen See analysiert. Dabei geht es um primär emittierte Schadstoffe und sekundär in den Abgasfahnen gebildete Gase und Partikel. Die Messungen nahe der Ölplattformenwaren dabei die ersten dieser Art.

Bei großräumigen Flügen über der Barentssee konnten zudem Emissionen von arktischen Industriegebieten sowie von Waldbränden aus Russland nachgewiesen werden. Die Falcon-Messdaten dienen zur Verbesserung der Emissionskataster und zur Überprüfung von Modellsimulationen. Damit werden verlässlichere Vorhersagen zur künftigen Entwicklung der Schadstoffbelastung und Klimaänderung in der Nordpolarregion möglich sein.

Abbildung1: DLR Falcon in Andoya, kurz vor dem Start zu einem Messflug in die Nordpolarregion

Abbildung 2: Anflug der DLR Falcon auf Gas-und Ölförderanlagen in der Norwegischen See.

Abbildung 3: Großräumige Schadstoffschicht über der Barentssee von Industrieanlagen auf der russischen Halbinsel Kola.

Kontakt:

Dr. Hans Schlager 

Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V.
Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre
Oberpfaffenhofen
82234 Wessling
Tel.: 08153/282510
Fax: 08153/281841


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/pa/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-35239/