News

'Atmospheric Physics' – a distinguished book about atmospheric research

January 2013

The Institute of Atmospheric Physics (IPA) at DLR celebrated its 50th anniversary in 2012. On this occasion, a book titled 'Atmospheric Physics: Background – Methods – Trends' has been published. Editor is Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schumann who led the institute from 1992 to 2012. The book should bring a better understanding of the diverse subject areas and capabilities within the institute to a wide readership. The goal is to reach the many people who come into contact with atmospheric physics in their work, be this in science, education, a wide range of institutions or the numerous partners collaborating with the Institute of Atmospheric Physics. The book has now received its first award – on 9 January 2013, at the conference of the American Meteorological Society, Atmospheric Science Librarians International announced that the book had received an honorable mention in the Science category 'Best Books of the Year' for its outstanding topical contributions.

The subhead 'Background – Methods – Trends' reveals the three-tiered structure of the book, which benefits greatly from a clear arrangement in a total of 51 chapters and 877 pages. In the first section, the authors knowledgeably set out the status of research in atmospheric physics and chemistry. The composition of the atmosphere is described in one chapter, as are the scattering of light by air molecules, the greenhouse effect and the complex processes that occur in thunderstorms. Results obtained and discoveries made at the Institute are frequently referred to in the individual subject areas.

The second part of the book gives a multifaceted insight into the various measurement and simulation methods used at the Institute to gain a deeper understanding of the atmosphere and its processes. Here, the reader learns about exciting techniques such as taking lightning measurements during storms or detecting ice particles in clouds from space. The Institute's broad competence in simulating atmospheric processes up to the scale of the Earth system is explained as well.

Also included in this comprehensive work are the DLR Falcon and High Altitude and Long Range (HALO) research aircraft and there is a chapter on the events surrounding the eruption of the Eyjafjallajökull volcano in spring 2010. These two subject areas open the third section of the book, which is about the scientific 'trends' in atmospheric research. The authors manage to describe the measurement of the ash cloud over Europe and the effects of shutting down almost the entire European air space in 2010 in a knowledgeable, gripping and generally understandable way. The interesting insights given will be accessible to lay readers as well. Other current hot topics affecting society are discussed as well. The impact of aviation and surface transport on global climate is covered, as is the future development of the ozone layer.

'Atmospheric Physics' is published by Springer as part of DLR's series of books entitled 'Research Topics in Aerospace'.

Contact:

Prof. Schumann

Links:

Springer-Verlag GmbH, Heidelberg

Atmospheric Science Librarians International


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/pa/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-36024/

Neues aus dem Institut

"Atmospheric Physics" - ein ausgezeichnetes Buch über die Atmosphärenforschung

Januar 2013

Das Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre (IPA) des DLR feierte 2012 sein 50-jähriges Bestehen. Zum Jubiläum ist das Buch "Atmospheric Physics: Background - Methods - Trends" erschienen. Herausgeber ist Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schumann, der von 1982 bis 2012 Leiter des Instituts war. Mit diesem Buch werden die vielfältigen Themen und die Leistungsfähigkeit unseres Instituts einer breiten Leserschaft näher gebracht. Es richtet sich vor allem an Menschen, die bei ihrer Arbeit mit der Atmosphärenphysik in Berührung kommen, sei es in der Wissenschaft, im Lehrbetrieb, in verschiedensten Institutionen oder bei den zahlreichen Kooperationspartnern des Instituts für Physik der Atmosphäre. Nun erhielt das Buch bereits eine erste Auszeichnung: Die American Science Librarians International prämierte das Buch am 9. Januar 2013 auf der Tagung der American Meteorological Society für seine herausragenden aktuellen Beiträge.

Der Untertitel "Background - Methods - Trends" verrät bereits die dreistufige Gliederung des englischsprachigen Buches, das mit seinen insgesamt 51 Kapiteln auf 877 Seiten sehr von seiner klaren Struktur profitiert. Im ersten Teil stellen die Autoren fundiert den Stand der Forschung in Atmosphärenphysik und -chemie dar.Die Zusammensetzung der Atmosphäre wird dabei ebenso in einem Kapitel beschrieben, wie die Lichtstreuung durch Luftmoleküle, der Treibhauseffekt oder die komplexen Prozesse bei Gewittern. Kontinuierlich werden am Institut gewonnene Ergebnisse und Erkenntnisse zu den einzelnen Themen dargestellt.

Der zweite Teil des Buches gibt einen vielfältigen Einblick in die verschiedenen Mess- und Simulationsmethoden, die das Institut zum tieferen Verständnis der Atmosphäre und ihrer Prozesse anwendet. Der Leser lernt spannende Techniken wie Blitzvermessungen bei Gewittern oder die Eispartikeldetektion von Wolken aus dem Weltraum kennen. Zudem ist die breite Kompetenz des Instituts, atmosphärische Prozesse bis hin zum System Erde zu simulieren, dargestellt.

Nicht fehlen dürfen in solch einem Gesamtwerk die DLR-Forschungsflieger Falcon und HALO (High Altitude and Long Range Research Aircraft) ebenso wenig wie ein Kapitel über die Ereignisse rund um den Vulkanausbruch des Eyafiallajökull im Frühling 2010. Forschungsflieger und Vulkanausbruch eröffnen den dritten Teil des Buches über die wissenschaftlichen "Trends" in der Atmosphärenforschung. Den Autoren gelingt es, die Vermessung der Aschewolke über Europa und die Ereignisse rund um die Schließung fast des gesamten Europäischen Luftraums fundiert, spannend und allgemeinverständlich darzustellen. Dazu werden weitere brennende Themen unserer Zeit mit gesellschaftlicher Reichweite besprochen. Der Einfluss von Luftfahrt und Verkehr auf das Weltklima finden sich ebenso darunter wie die zukünftige Entwicklung der Ozonschicht.

"Atmospheric Physics" ist im Springer-Verlag in der DLR-eigenen Buchreihe "Research Topics in Aerospace" erschienen.

Kontakt:

Prof. Schumann

Links:

Springer-Verlag GmbH, Heidelberg

Atmospheric Science Librarians International


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/pa/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2342/6725_read-36024/