Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre



Director: Prof. Dr. Markus Rapp

Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre (IPA)

The Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre is located in the DLR Campus Oberpfaffenhofen.

It focusses on the research of the physical and chemical processes of the atmosphere.

About 140 people work in the institute. It is structured in five departments.

The institute investigates the physics and chemistry of the atmosphere from the surface up to the mesosphere. The knowledge of dynamical, cloud physical, and chemical processes constitute the basis for many aerospace applications. On both, regional and global scales the relevant processes and changes of the state of the atmosphere are quantified and systematically investigated using remote sensing, research aircraft, and computational models.

The research program of the institute is centred around weather and climate processes which are of strategic importance for the development of air traffic: wake vortices, weather information for on-time air traffic management as well as the climatic impact of aircraft emissions, contrails, and their effect on cirrus clouds.

Novel lidar technologies are developed, tested and applied in order to obtain profiles of wind, ozone, and water vapour. These are fed into current projects of the European Space Agency (ESA). New sensors for the trace gases methane and carbon-dioxide are being developed. Innovative methods for the three-dimensional radiative transport and the processing of satellite data are used to determine the radiative properties of clouds. Research aircraft (Falcon, HALO) and model simulations provide important in-sights for research concerning troposphere and stratosphere from the polar regions right into the tropics.


In the transport research area the emphasis lies on an evaluation of the environmental and climate impacts exerted by ships, trains, and automobiles.


Contact
Prof.Dr. Markus Rapp
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Atmospheric Physics
, Head of the Institute
Tel: +49 8153 28-2521

Fax: +49 8153 28-1841

E-Mail: Markus.Rapp@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/pa/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2350/3476_read-5207/

Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre



Institutsdirektor: Prof. Dr. Markus Rapp

Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre (IPA)

Das Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre befindet sich im DLR Standort Oberpfaffenhofen.

Zu seinen Aufgaben zählt die Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Physik und Chemie der Atmosphäre.

Das Institut hat circa 140 Mitarbeiter und ist in fünf Abteilungen gegliedert.

Das Institut erforscht die Physik und die Chemie der Atmosphäre vom Erdboden bis in die Mesosphäre. Die Kenntnis der dort ablaufenden dynamischen, wolkenphysikalischen und chemischen Prozesse ist Grundlage für vielfältige Anwendungen in der Luft- und Raumfahrt. Sowohl auf regionaler wie auf der globalen Skala werden die maßgeblichen Mechanismen und Veränderungen in der Atmosphäre mit Fernerkundung, Messflugzeugen und Rechenmodellen quantifiziert und systematisch untersucht.

Im Mittelpunkt der Forschungsarbeiten stehen Wetter- und Klimaprozesse, die für die weitere Entwicklung des Luftverkehrs strategisch wichtig sind: Wirbelschleppen, Wetterinformation für einen pünktlichen Luftverkehr sowie die Klimawirkung von Emissionen und Kondensstreifen und deren Wirkung auf Zirruswolken.

Im Bereich Raumfahrt werden neue Lidar-Technologien zur Vermessung von Wind-, Ozon- und Wasserdampfprofilen entwickelt, erprobt und angewandt, die in laufende Projekte der Europäischen Raumfahrtagentur (ESA) einfließen. Neuartige Sensoren für die Spurengase Methan und Kohlendioxid befinden sich in der Entwicklung. Mit neuen Methoden zum dreidimensionalen Strahlungstransport und der Auswertung von Satellitendaten werden Strahlungseigenschaften von Wolken abgeleitet. Forschungsflugzeuge (Falcon, HALO) und Modellrechnungen liefern wichtige Erkenntnisse bei der Erforschung der Troposphäre und der Stratosphäre von den Polregionen bis in die Tropen.

Innerhalb der Verkehrsforschung geht es vor allem um die Bewertung der Umwelt- und Klimawirkungen von Schiffs-, Bahn- und Straßenverkehr.


Kontakt
Prof. Dr. Markus Rapp
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre

Tel: +49 8153 28-2521

Fax: +49 8153 28-1841

E-Mail: Markus.Rapp@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/pa/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2350/3476_read-5207/