SESAME - Surface Electric Sounding and Acoustic Monitoring Experiment



 Lander Philae with SESAME sensors
zum Bild Lander Philae with SESAME sensors

SESAME is a complex of a dozen sensors, which are accommodated at different places on the lander, and a dedicated data processing unit. It will measure physical properties of the comet.

SESAME comprises the instruments Comet Acoustic Surface Sounding Experiment (CASSE), Dust Impact Monitor (DIM), and Permittivity Probe (PP).

The integration of SESAME components as well as the development of the CASSE instrument were coordinated by the former Institute of Space Simulation of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in Cologne in collaboration with the engineering company of von Hoerner & Sulger GmbH. The flight software of SESAME was developed at the department of Nuclear Chemistry of Cologne University.

The operation of the instruments and the interpretation of the data are planned and executed by the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in close cooperation with scientists from several European countries.


CASSE - Comet Acoustic Surface Sounding Experiment

 CASSE Transmitter
zum Bild CASSE Transmitter

The CASSE instrument shall investigate the cometary surface by acoustic sounding methods. To this end, the soles of the Lander feet will be used as transmitters and receivers of elastic waves. The landing gear of Philae is a tripod, where each foot has two soles that can move vertically with respect to the leg and the other sole. This ensures good ground contact of both even on a rough surface.

The acoustic transmitter and receiver system of CASSE has two principal operation modes:

  • Passive listening: listen to acoustic emissions of the comet itself like a seismometer. Such emissions may comprise release of thermal stresses, particle impacts, and quakes. Sounds form Philae experiments may also be recorded. The hammering mechanism of the MUPUS experiment is of special interest, since it represents a strong source at a known position.
  • Perform actively, like a sonar, a sounding of the cometary subsurface structure and to determine elastic constants. An analysis of echoes from the underground might allow to deduce the subsurface structure, e.g. any layering.
 CASSE Receiver
zum Bild CASSE Receiver

One of the soles of each foot contains a piezo-electric transmitter, which excites acoustic vibrations of the sole. These vibrations can be recorded by piezo-electric accelerometers. In each of the other three soles of Philae. Temperature-dependent resistors (PT1000 type) will measure the sensor temperatures.

CASSE was developed at the former DLR Institute of Space Simulation and was built in collaboration with the engineering company of von Hoerner & Sulger GmbH (electronics). The transmitters were developed by the Fraunhofer Institute for Nondestructive Testing (IZFP), Saarbrücken. The CASSE sensors are commercial tri-axial accelerometers, type 4506, from the Brüel & Kjaer company. The CASSE instrument is operated by the DLR Institute of Planetary Research.
 

Properties of CASSE:  
Sounding frequency 0.1 to 6 kHz
Receiving frequency < 100 kHz
Temperature range (up to 12 channels simultaneously) -160 to +100°C
Mass 550 g (without soles)
Power 1250 mW


Links:
https://vh-s.de/
http://www.izfp.fraunhofer.de/

 

DIM - Dust Impact Monitor

The Dust Impact Monitor does not investigate the cometary surface directly; rather it registers the signals of impacting cometary particles on the sensor cube.

 DIM Sensor: The three active sides with piezo plates are visible
zum Bild DIM Sensor: The three active sides with piezo plates are visible

The sublimation of the volatile constituents of the cometary surface - mainly water ice – carries away dust and ice particles with sizes ranging from micrometer to centimeter. If their initial velocity is too small to leave the cometary gravitational field, they fall back to the cometary surface.

The DIM sensor cube, which is mounted at the upper edge of the balcony of Philae, registers impacting particles from three directions with piezo plates and the electronics analyses the signals with respect to their wave-form (amplitude and contact duration). From this data and plausible assumptions of the particle density one can deduce the masses of the particles, their velocities, number, directional distribution and the time dependence of these parameters. From these data one can deduce the starting velocities of the particles that are correlated with the outgassing velocity and the flux of the cometary gases.

DIM was developed and built at the Atomic Energy Research Institute (EK) of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (MTA) in Budapest. Now the Max-Planck-Institute of Solar System Research (Göttingen, Germany) takes care of the DIM instrument.

Properties of DIM  
Measuring limits:  
    Particle radii Teilchenradien 0,2 to 5 mm
    Particle massesTeilchenmassen 3 • 10-8 to 5 • 10-4 kg
    Particle velocitiesTeilchengeschwindigkeiten 0,25 to 2 ms-1
Mass 405 g
Power ≤ 170 mW


Links:
Dust Impact Monitor (MPS)
Dust Impact Monitor (MTA-EK)

 

PP - Permittivity Probe

The Permittivity Probe shall determine the water ice content in the cometary surface layer and its variation with time.

 PP electrode (brown mesh) below the hammering mechanism of the MUPUS-Pen experiment
zum Bild PP electrode (brown mesh) below the hammering mechanism of the MUPUS-Pen experiment

To this end PP employs the quadrupole technique, where two electrodes, connected with an AC generator, induce a variable current into the cometary matter. Two additional electrodes detect the resulting voltage variation and phase shift with respect to the injected current. There are three transmitter electrodes on the Philae cometary lander (one in a lander foot and the other two close to be integrated into the sensors of the experiments MUPUS-Pen and APXS). The two receiving electrodes are mounted into the soles of the remaining two feet (see CASSE page). Using the variable geometry of different transmitter electrode-combinations, one can infer the complex permittivity down to a depth of about 2 m.

PP electrode (brown mesh) below the hammering mechanism of the MUPUS-Pen experiment

Thus one can determine the electrical conductivity and the relative permittivity. These material parameters react quite sensitively to the amount of polar molecules, especially water, and their temperature. Using these data one can calculate the water content of the surface, which can vary during one comet day and with the distance of the comet to the sun, and possibly also with the water-vapor production rate. From this it is possible to describe the outgassing behavior and to infer the composition of the comet.

Operating in passive mode, the PP instrument can detect plasma waves with frequencies up to 10 kHz, which originate from the interaction of the solar wind with the emitted cometary particles and gas and are a measure of the cometary activity.

PP was developed and built at the Finnish Meteorological Institute (FMI), Helsinki, in collaboration with the Finnish engineering company Environics Oy and the ESA technology center ESTEC. FMI operates the PP instrument now.
 

Properties of PP  
Sounding frequency 0,01 to 10 kHz
Receiving frequency 20 up to 40 kHz
Mass 270 g
Power ≤ 320 mW


Link:
Permittivity Probe (FMI – Finnish Meteorological Institute)


Contact
Klaus Seidensticker
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Planetary Research
, Asteroids and Comets
Tel: +49 2203 601-3104

Fax: +49 2203 61768

E-Mail: Klaus.Seidensticker@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/pf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1371/1868_read-10525/

SESAME - Surface Electric Sounding and Acoustic Monitoring Experiment



SESAME ist ein Instrumentenkomplex mit insgesamt einem Dutzend Sensoren sowie einer eigenen Datenverarbeitungseinheit, welche an verschiedenen Stellen von Philae angebracht sind und physikalische Eigenschaften des Kometen erfassen können.

 Die Landesonde Philae mit den SESAME Sensoren
zum Bild Die Landesonde Philae mit den SESAME Sensoren

SESAME besteht aus den Instrumenten Comet Acoustic Surface Sounding Experiment (CASSE), Dust Impact Monitor (DIM) und Permittivity Probe (PP).
Die Integration der SESAME Komponenten sowie die Entwicklung des Instrumentes CASSE wurden vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) im früheren Institut für Raumsimulation, Köln-Porz, koordiniert und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Firma von Hoerner & Sulger GmbH durchgeführt. Die Software zur Steuerung von SESAME wurde in der Abteilung Nuklearchemie an der Universität zu Köln entwickelt.

Der Betrieb der Instrumente und die Auswertung der Daten werden vom Institut für Planetenforschung in Zusammenarbeit mit Wissenschaftlern aus mehreren europäischen Ländern geplant und durchgeführt.

Die Abteilung Asteroiden und Kometen des Institutes für Planetenforschung wird im SESAME-Experiment durch den PI Klaus Seidensticker vertreten.

 

CASSE - Comet Acoustic Surface Sounding Experiment

 CASSE Transmitter
zum Bild CASSE Transmitter

Das Instrument CASSE wird mittels akustischer Methoden die Kometenoberfläche untersuchen. Dabei werden die Sohlen der Landerfüße, die Schallwellen in das Oberflächenmaterial einkoppeln und empfangen können, sowohl als Sender als auch als Empfänger benutzt. Das Landegestell von Philae ist ein Dreibein, wobei jeder Fuß zwei Sohlen hat, die gegeneinander in der Höhe beweglich sind, um einen möglichst guten Bodenkontakt auch auf einer rauen Kometenoberfläche zu erzielen.

Das akustische Sende- und Empfangssystem von CASSE bietet zwei Messmöglichkeiten:

  • passiv, ähnlich einem Seismometer, in den Kometen hineinzuhorchen und Geräuschquellen, verursacht durch thermische Spannungen, seismische Effekte, Partikeleinschläge oder andere Instrumente von Philae, zu orten. Von besonderem Interesse ist der Hammermechanismus des MUPUS-Experiments, der ein sehr starkes akustisches Signal an einer bekannten Position erzeugen wird.
  • aktiv, ähnlich einem Echolot, eine Sondierung der Oberflächenschichten durchzuführen und elastische Konstanten zu ermitteln. Neben den auf dem direkten Weg gelaufenen Signalen erlaubt die Analyse von Echos aus dem Untergrund Rückschlüsse auf die Schichtung der Kometenkruste.
 CASSE Empfänger
zum Bild CASSE Empfänger

In jeweils einer Sohle der drei Lander-Füße sind piezo-elektrische Wandler (Transmitter) eingebaut, welche die Sohle zu akustischen Schwingungen anregen. Die Signale werden mit ebenfalls piezo-elektrischen Beschleunigungsmessern (Akzelerometer) in den anderen drei Sohlen der Landesonde Philae in drei Achsen registriert. Temperaturabhängige Widerstände (Bauweise PT1000) auf jedem Sensor messen deren Temperatur.

CASSE wurde am ehemaligen Institut für Raumsimulation entwickelt und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Firma von Hoerner & Sulger (Elektronik) gebaut. Die verwendeten Transmitter wurden durch das Institut für zerstörungsfreie Prüfverfahren (IZFP) der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft in Saarbrücken konzipiert und gefertigt. Die verwendeten Akzelerometer sind kommerzielle dreiachsige Sensoren vom Typ 4506 der Firma Brüel & Kjaer. Das Instrument CASSE wird vom Institut für Planetenforschung des DLR betreut.
 

Eigenschaften von CASSE  
Sendefrequenz 0,1 bis 6 kHz
Empfangsfrequenz < 100 kHz
Temperatur-Messbereich (maximal 12 Kanäle gleichzeitig) -160 ... +100°C
Masse 550 g (ohne Sohlen)
Leistung 1250 mW


Links:
https://vh-s.de/
http://www.izfp.fraunhofer.de/

 

DIM - Dust Impact Monitor

Der Dust Impact Monitor untersucht nicht direkt die Oberfläche des Kometen; vielmehr werden die Signale, die durch den Aufprall kometarer Teilchen auf einem Sensor-Würfel entstehen, registriert.

 DIM Sensor: Sichtbar sind die drei aktiven, mit Piezo-Platten belegten Seiten.
zum Bild DIM Sensor: Sichtbar sind die drei aktiven, mit Piezo-Platten belegten Seiten.

Bei der Sublimation der flüchtigen Stoffe auf der Kometenoberfläche - hauptsächlich Wassereis - werden Staub- und Eisteilchen von Mikrometer- bis Zentimetergröße mitgerissen. Reicht deren Startgeschwindigkeit nicht aus, um das Schwerefeld des Kometen zu verlassen, fallen die Teilchen wieder auf die Kometenoberfläche zurück.

Mit dem an der Oberseite von Philae befestigten Sensor-Würfel werden die auftreffenden Teilchen aus drei Richtungen mit Piezo-Platten registriert und das Signal in der Elektronik in Bezug auf seine Profilform (Amplitude und Kontaktdauer) analysiert. Aus diesen Daten und plausiblen Annahmen für die Teilchendichte können die Massen der Teilchen, ihre Geschwindigkeiten, Anzahl, Richtungsverteilung und der zeitliche Verlauf dieser Parameter ermittelt werden. Hieraus lassen sich wiederum Rückschlüsse auf die Startgeschwindigkeit der Teilchen, die mit der Entweichgeschwindigkeit und dem Fluss der Kometengase korreliert ist, ziehen.

DIM wurde am Forschungsinstitut für Atomenergie der ungarischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (MTA) in Budapest entwickelt und gebaut. Es wird jetzt vom Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung (Göttingen) betreut.
 

Eigenschaften von DIM  
Messbereich:  
    Teilchenradien 0,2 bis 5 mm
    Teilchenmassen 3 • 10-8 bis 5 • 10-4 kg
    Teilchengeschwindigkeiten 0,25 bis 2 ms-1
Masse 405 g
Leistung ≤ 170 mW


Links:
Dust Impact Monitor (MPS)
Dust Impact Monitor (MTA-EK)

 

PP - Permittivity Probe

Das Instrument Permittivity Probe soll den Wassereisgehalt in der kometaren Oberflächenschicht und seine Veränderung mit der Zeit bestimmen.

 PP-Elektrode (braunes Gitter) unterhalb des Hammermechanismus des Experiments MUPUS-Pen.
zum Bild PP-Elektrode (braunes Gitter) unterhalb des Hammermechanismus des Experiments MUPUS-Pen.

PP verwendet dazu die Quadrupoltechnik, bei der zwei Elektroden, verbunden mit einem Wechselstromgenerator, einen variablen Strom im Kometenboden induzieren. Zwei weitere Elektroden registrieren die resultierende Spannung und die Phasenverschiebung gegenüber dem eingespeisten Strom. Insgesamt gibt es auf Philae drei Sendeelektroden (in einem Landerfuß und auf den Experimenten MUPUS PEN und APXS) und zwei Empfängerelektroden (in den beiden übrigen Landerfüßen (siehe CASSE)). Durch die veränderbare Geometrie der vier Elektroden lassen sich Rückschlüsse auf die räumliche Verteilung des Wassereises im Oberflächenmaterial bis zur einer Tiefe von 2 m ziehen.

Auf diese Weise werden die elektrische Leitfähigkeit und die Permittivitätszahl des Kometenmaterials ermittelt. Diese Materialparameter reagieren sehr empfindlich auf das Vorhandensein von polaren Molekülen, im besonderen von Wasser, sowie deren Temperatur. Deshalb kann der Wassergehalt der Oberflächenschicht in Abhängigkeit von der Entfernung des Kometen zur Sonne und im Verlauf eines Kometentages gemessen werden. Dies liefert Hinweise auf das Ausgasungsverhalten und somit auf die Zusammensetzung des Kometen.

Im passiven Modus kann dieses Instrument Plasmawellen, die durch die Wechselwirkung des Sonnenwindes mit den ionisierten kometaren Molekülen entstehen, bis zu einer Frequenz von 10 kHz registrieren.

PP wurde am Finnischen Meteorologischen Institut (FMI), Helsinki, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Technologiezentrum ESTEC der ESA entwickelt und gebaut und wird heute vom FMI betreut.
 

Eigenschaften von PP:  
Sendefrequenz: 0,01 bis 10 kHz
Empfangsfrequenz: 20 kHz
Masse: 270 g
Leistung: ≤ 320 mW

 

Link:
Permittivity Probe (FMI – Finnish Meteorological Institute)


Kontakt
Klaus Seidensticker
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung
, Asteroiden und Kometen
Tel: +49 2203 601-3104

Fax: +49 2203 61768

E-Mail: Klaus.Seidensticker@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/pf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1371/1868_read-10525/