Dear visitors,



Unser Planetensystem
Solar System Overview

the Institute of Planetary Research carries out and supports research programs on the internal structure, formation and evolution of the planets, their moons, and asteroids and comets. Techniques employed include remote sensing and in-situ investigations using instruments carried on spacecraft, astronomical observations from the ground, theoretical modeling, and laboratory experiments.

Current investigations include the early history of Mars, the Venusian atmosphere, near-Earth asteroids, the Saturnian Satellites Titan and Enceladus and the results of recent comet observations. The institute contributes to the search for extrasolar planets.

For the purposes of these investigations it is necessary to study and develop the technical means by which scientific data can be gathered via space missions and methods for the processing and quantitative evaluation of large amounts of data collected from spacecraft and ground-based telescopes. The work of the institute, which is carried out in close co-operation with other German and foreign research facilities, involves concept studies, the development of instruments and their calibration, the operation of instrumentation on spacecraft, observations with ground-based and orbiting telescopes, and the acquisition, reduction, analysis, archiving and distribution of scientific data.



Contact
Prof.Dr. Tilman Spohn
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Planetary Research
, Management and Infrastructure
Tel: +49 30 67055-300

Fax: +49 30 67055-303

E-Mail: Tilman.Spohn@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/pf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-149/243_read-492/

Sehr geehrte Gäste,



Unser Planetensystem
Unser Planetensystem

das Institut für Planetenforschung befaßt sich mit der Erforschung unseres Sonnensystems, insbesondere im Hinblick auf Ursprung, Entstehung und Entwicklung von Planeten, deren Monden und planetaren Kleinkörpern (Asteroiden und Kometen), durch Mittel der Fernerkundung auf Raumfahrzeugen und vom Boden (Observatorien), durch Laborexperimente und In-situ-Untersuchungen sowie durch theoretische Modellierungen.

Dies beinhaltet thematisch die Erforschung der Zusammensetzung, der Struktur und des Alters planetarer Krusten, die Erforschung des inneren Aufbaus planetarer Körper, die Untersuchung der chemischen Zusammensetzung und physikalischer Oberflächencharakteristiken sowie der abgelaufenen geologischen Prozesse und der Wechselwirkung der Oberflächen mit den Atmosphären, als auch die Erforschung der Entwicklungsgeschichte planetarer Körper in Raum und Zeit.

Zur Realisierung dieser planetenwissenschaftlichen Themen sind die Erarbeitung der wissenschaftlich-technischen Grundlagen moderner Fernerkundungsexperimente und Meßverfahren sowie die Entwicklung von Methoden zur Prozessierung und quantitativen Auswertung von Fernerkundungsdaten Aufgaben des Institutes. Die Durchführung der Experimente und Missionen, beginnend mit der Idee, über Konzeptstudien, Geräteentwicklung und Kalibration, Experimentdurchführung und Datenerfassung, bis hin zur vollständigen Datenreduktion und der planetenwissenschaftlichen Datenauswertung, der Datenarchivierung und -verteilung, geschieht in enger Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Forschungseinrichtungen im In- und Ausland.


Kontakt
Prof.Dr. Tilman Spohn
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung
, Leitung und Infrastruktur
Tel: +49 30 67055-300

Fax: +49 30 67055-303

E-Mail: Tilman.Spohn@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/pf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-149/243_read-492/