MUPUS

28 July 2009

 MUPUS PEN (right, with golden hammering mechanism on top) and TM (left, small silver box) in their flight configuration on the Philae balcony.
zum Bild MUPUS PEN (right, with golden hammering mechanism on top) and TM (left, small silver box) in their flight configuration on the Philae balcony.
MUPUS (Multi purpose Sensors for Surface and Subsurface Science) is a scientific experiment onboard the Rosetta Lander Philae. The main science goals of MUPUS are:

  • to determine the thermal and mechanical properties of the outer layers of the comet's nucleus
  • to determine the energy balance at the comet’s surface and the adjacent boundary layers
  • to understand mechanisms of cometary activity
  • to derive the pristineness of the material in the outer layers, in support of cosmochemical observations

To achieve these goals the experiment consists of three different sensors which are controlled by a central electronics unit. The PEN (penetrator) is basically a hollow rod of 35 cm length which will be deployed at a distance of about 1.5 m from the landing module and inserted into the cometary soil by means of an electromagnetic hammering mechanism. During the insertion, progress per stroke is measured to provide data on the mechanical properties of the comet’s surface. Fixed to the inside of the rod are 16 temperature sensors made from Titanium and sputtered on a Kapton foil. These sensors provide a temperature depth profile of the comet’s surface layer as a function of local time and perihelion distance. Furthermore, the sensors can also be used in a heating mode which allows active measurement of the thermal conductivity depth profile. The PEN measurements are supplemented by surface-temperature measurements with the infrared sensor TM (Thermal Mapper) and measurements by temperature sensors inside the two anchoring harpoons of Philae which might penetrate to a depth of 1.5 m into the soil (depending on the soil properties). The TM sensor head is mounted on a strut of the Philae Lander at a height of about 1 m above the surface and measures the emitted thermal radiation from an area of ~1 m2 in 4 wavelength channels between 5 and 25 µm using thermopile detectors. Due to the nearly negligible gravitational force of the comet, anchoring harpoons are required to fix the Lander safely to the ground. Each of the harpoons contains a temperature sensor and an accelerometer, thus they also serve a scientific purpose as part of the MUPUS experiment. During the anchoring process, during which the harpoons are shot into the surface, the deceleration of the harpoons will be measured by the MUPUS accelerometers, providing additional data on the mechanical properties of the landing site down to the final depth of the anchors.

The MUPUS experiment was designed and built by an international consortium under the lead of the Principal Investigator (PI) T. Spohnfrom the Institute for Planetology (IfP) of the University of Münster, with major contributions from IfP (PI, science and management), SRC Warsaw (system and mechanical engineering, PEN hardware, electronics), DLR Berlin (DPU and TM), and IWF Graz (anchor sensors).

The Asteroids and Comets Department has been involved in MUPUS from the start of the project in 1994 with two scientific Co-I’s and the development of the IR sensor head TM. After the MUPUS-PI, T. Spohn, became Director of the DLR Institute for Planetary Research in Berlin in 2004 the project management and operations planning tasks for the whole experiment were transferred to the Asteroids and Comets Department.




URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/pf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-174/319_read-18906/

MUPUS

28. Juli 2009

 MUPUS PEN (rechts, mit vergoldenem Hammermechanismus aufgesetzt) und TM (links, kleine silberfarbene Box) in ihrer Flugkonfiguration auf dem Balkon des Rosetta Landers Philae.
zum Bild MUPUS PEN (rechts, mit vergoldenem Hammermechanismus aufgesetzt) und TM (links, kleine silberfarbene Box) in ihrer Flugkonfiguration auf dem Balkon des Rosetta Landers Philae.
MUPUS (Multi purpose Sensors for Surface and Subsurface Science) ist ein Experiment auf dem Rosetta Lander Philae. Die wichtigsten wissenschaftlichen Ziele von MUPUS sind:

  • die Bestimmung der thermischen und mechanischen Eigenschafen der äußeren Schichten eines Kometen
  • die Bestimmung der Energiebilanz der kometaren Oberfläche sowie der Grenzschichten
  • die Mechanismen kometarer Aktivität zu verstehen
  • Aussagen über die Ursprünglichkeit der Materie zu treffen und damit die kosmochemischen Experimente des Philae Landers zu unterstützen

Zur Erreichung dieser Ziele besteht das Experiment aus drei verschiedenen Sensoren, die von einer gemeinsamen Zentralelektronik kontrolliert werden. Der PEN (Penetrator) ist im wesentlichen ein Glasfiber Hohlrohr mit einer Länge von 35 cm und einem Durchmesser von 1 cm, das in einem Abstand von 1.5 m vom Landemodul in den kometaren Boden mittels eines integrierten Elektrohammer-Mechanismus eingebracht werden soll. Während des Eindringens wird der Fortschritt pro Hammerschlag gemessen, woraus Rückschlüsse auf die mechanischen Eigenschaften des Kometenbodens gezogen werden können. Auf der Innenseite der PEN Röhre sind 16 Titan Temperatursensoren angebracht, die durch „Sputtering“ auf eine Polyimidfolie hergestellt wurden. Diese Sensoren messen das Temperaturtiefenprofil des Kometen als Funktion der Tageszeit und des heliozentrischen Abstands. Darüber hinaus können diese Sensoren auch als Heizer benutzt werden, was die aktive Messung eines Tiefenprofils der Wärmeleitfähigkeit ermöglicht. Die PEN Messungen werden ergänzt durch die Messung der Oberflächentemperatur mit dem Infrarotsensor TM (Thermal Mapper) sowie durch die Messung von Temperatursensoren in den beiden Anker-Harpunen, die bis zu 1.5 m tief in den Boden eindringen können (je nach Beschaffenheit des Materials). Der TM-Sensorkopf ist auf einer Strebe des Philae Landemoduls in einer Höhe von etwa 1 m über dem Boden angebracht, und misst die emittierte Wärmestrahlung von einem ungefähr 1 m2 großen Messfleck in 4 Wellenlängenkanälen zwischen 5 µm und 25 µm mit Thermosäulen-Detektoren. Auch wenn es die Hauptaufgabe der Anker-Harpunen ist, den Philae Lander trotz der kaum wahrnehmbaren Schwerkraft sicher auf dem Kometenboden festzuhalten, so enthält jede Harpune zusätzlich einen Temperatursensor sowie ein Akzelerometer und dient damit als Teil von MUPUS auch einem wissenschaftlichen Zweck. Während des Einschusses in den Boden wird die Abbremsung der Harpunen mit den Akzelerometern gemessen, wodurch Daten über die mechanischen Eigenschaften des Kometen bis zur maximalen Eindringtiefe der Harpunen gewonnen werden können.

Das MUPUS Experiment wurde durch ein internationales Konsortium unter der Führung des „Principal Investigators“ (PI) T. Spohn vom Institut für Planetologie (IfP) der Universität Münster entwickelt und gebaut. Wesentliche Beiträge zum Experiment wurden vom IfP (PI, Wissenschaft, Management), vom SRC Warschau (System-Engineering und Konstruktion, PEN Sensoren und Elektronik), DLR Berlin (Zentralrechner und TM) sowie dem IWF Graz (Ankersensorik) geleistet.

Die Abteilung für Asteroiden und Kometen war in MUPUS vom Start des Projektes im Jahr 1994 an mit zwei wissenschaftlichen Co-I’s sowie der Entwicklung des IR-Sensorkopfes TM involviert. Nachdem der PI T. Spohn 2004 als Direktor an das Institut für Planetenforschung des DLR in Berlin wechselte, übernahm die Abteilung zusätzlich die Aufgaben des Projektmanagements und der Operationsplanung für das Gesamtexperiment.




URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/pf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-174/319_read-18906/