Thermal probe for measuring surface heat flow



Planetary heat flow

The surface planetary heat flow is one of the key quantities characterizing the thermal state of a planet and significantly influences tectonic, magmatic and geological processes present on the surface. Its value is intimately connected to the bulk concentration of radioactive, heat producing elements in the planetary interior and its spatial variability gives clues to the style of mantle heat transport.

While heat flow measurements are routinely done on Earth, the only successful heat flow measurements on other planetary bodies have so far been performed by astronauts during the Apollo 15 and 17 missions to the Moon. A measurement of the planetary heat flow requires two independent measurements to be made, i.e., the thermal conductivity and the temperature gradient need to be known. This requires access to the planetary sub-surface, which usually requires drilling and is in general a task demanding huge amounts of resources in terms of payload mass and power.

Heat flow probes

Figure 1: Schematics of the probe consisting of the tractor mole, payload compartment, instrumented tether and the support system

The Institute of Planetary Research is involved in the development of in-situ heat flow probes, one of which – MUPUS, the Multi-Purpose Sensor - is currently onboard ESA’s Rosetta mission on its way to the comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. Active development is currently ongoing for HP3, the Heat flow and Physical Properties Package, which was originally designed for Mercury, but is now being adapted for measurements on Mars and the Moon. HP3 consists of a tractor mole, which houses a hammering mechanism that achieves the soil advancement and pulls behind a payload compartment, and a flat print cable. Both elements can be equipped with different sensors (Figure 1) and it is currently foreseen to measure the soil’s thermo-physical and electrical properties. The system has flight-heritage from the subsurface soil sampling tool PLUTO, which was part of the lost ESA-Lander Beagle 2, and was pre-developed during ESA funded precursor studies. Because soil penetration is achieved by means of a hammering mechanism no drilling is required, making this a relatively light-weight solution which can be operated purely robotically.

Theoretical modeling

The department of planetary physics is involved in the HP3 laboratory program and theoretical studies of the planetary near surface layers. Among other things, Finite Element Models are used to study the thermal environment at possible landing sites and to help in the experiment design and data analysis (Figures 2a and b). The current emphasis lies on modeling the Martian regolith in preparation for ESA’s ExoMars mission, but with the upcoming International Lunar Network (ILN), the Moon is also moving into focus.

Contact: Dr. Matthias Grott

Figures 2a and b: Finite element model used to study the effects of lander-shadowing on the subsurface temperatures. Left: Schematic model setup. Right: Resulting temperature perturbation two Martian years after landing.

Selected publications

  • Spohn, T., A.J. Ball, K. Seiferlin, V. Conzelmann, A. Hagermann, N.I. Kömle, G. Kargl, 2001. A heat flow and physical properties package for the surface of Mercury, Plan. Space Sci., 49, 14-15, 1571-1577.
  • Spohn, T., K. Seiferlin, A. Hagermann, J. Knollenberg, A.J. Ball, M. Banaszkiewicz, J. Benkhoff, S. Gadomski, W. Gregorczyk, J. Grygorczuk, M. Hlond, G. Kargl, E. Kührt, N. Kömle, J. Krasowski, W. Marczewski, J.C. Zarnecki, 2007. Mupus – A Thermal and Mechanical Properties Probe for the Rosetta Lander Philae Space Sci. Rev., 128, 1-4, 339-362, doi:10.1007/s11214-006-9081-2.
  • Grott, M., J. Helbert and R. Nadalini, 2007. The thermal structure of Martian soil and the measurability of the planetary heat flow. J. Geophys. Res., 112, E09004, doi:10.1029/2007JE002905.
  • Grott, M., 2008. Thermal disturbances caused by lander shadowing and the measurability of the martian planetary heat flow. Planetary and Space Science (57), Elsevier, S. 71 - 77, DOI 10.1016/j.pss.2008.11.005


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/pf/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4888/8113_read-13245/

Thermalsonde zur Messung des Oberflächenwärmeflusses



Oberflächenwärmefluss

Der Oberflächenwärmefluss ist ein Schlüssel für die Charakterisierung des thermischen Zustands eines Planeten und besitzt einen beträchtlichen Einfluss auf Plattentektonik, Magmatismus und geologische Prozesse, welche auf der Oberfläche stattfinden. Die Stärke des Wärmeflusses ist eng mit der Konzentration von radioaktiven, Wärme produzierenden Elementen im planetaren Inneren verbunden und die räumliche Variabilität lässt Schlüsse über die Art des Wärmetransports im Mantel zu.

Während Wärmeflussmessungen routinemäßig auf der Erde durchgeführt werden, wurden die einzigen bisher erfolgreichen Wärmeflussmessungen auf anderen planetaren Körpern von Astronauten während der Apollo 15 und 17 Missionen auf dem Mond durchgeführt. Eine Messung des planetaren Wärmeflusses erfordert zwei unabhängige Messungen, d.h. die thermische Konduktivität und der Temperaturgradient müssen bekannt sein. Dazu müssen die Schichten unter der Oberfläche zugänglich sein, was für gewöhnlich nur durch Bohrungen möglich ist. Dies ist im allgemeinen eine Aufgabe, für die Ressourcen wie Nutzlastmasse und Kraft in großen Mengen benötigt werden.

Abb. 1: Schema der Sonde, bestehend aus dem "tractor mole", dem Instru-mentenbehälter, dem instrumentierten Seil und dem Förderungssystem

Thermalsonden

Das Institut für Planetenforschung ist an der Entwicklung von in-situ Wäremflusssonden beteiligt, eine dieser Sonden - MUPUS (Multi-Purpose Sensor) - ist zur Zeit an Bord von ESAs Rosetta mission auf dem Weg zu dem Kometen 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko. Zur Zeit wird das HP3 (Heat flow and Physical Properties Package) entwickelt, welches ursprüngliche für Merkur entworfen und nun für Messungen auf dem Mars und Mond angepasst wurde. HP3 besteht aus einem sogenannten "tractor mole", welcher den hämmernden Mechanismus für die Erdförderung enthält und einen Instrumentenbehäter hinter sich herzieht, sowie einem flachen Druckerkabel. Beide Elemente können mit verschiedenen Sensoren ausgestattet werden (Abbildung 1) und sind zu Zeit für die Messung der thermo-physikalischen und elektrischen Eigenschaften der Erde vorgesehen. Der raumflugerprobte Vorläufer dieses Systems, PLUTO, war Teil des verlorengegangenen ESA-Landers Beagle 2. Das System wurde während ESA-geförderter Vorgängerstudien vorentwickelt. Da die Erdeindringung über den hämmernden mechanismus erfolgt werden keine Bohrungen benötigt. Damit ist das HP3 eine relativ leichtgewichtige Lösung welche rein durch Roboter bedient werden kann.

Theoretische Modellierung

Die Abteilung der Planetenphysik ist an dem HP3 Laborprogramm und an theoretischen Studien über die Schichten nahe der planetaren Oberflächen beteilgt. Unter anderem werden Finite Elemente Modelle für die Untersuchung der thermischen Umgebung an möglichen Landeplätzen und für den experimentellen Entwurf sowie für die Datenanlyse benutzt (Abbildungen 2a und b). Der aktuelle Schwerpunkt liegt bei der Modellierung des Marsregoliths vorbereitend für ESAs ExoMars Mission. Dank des bevorstehenden International Lunar Networks (ILN) rückt der Mond jedoch ebenso ins Blickfeld.

Kontakt: Dr. Matthias Grott

 

Abbildungen 2a und b: Finite Elemente Modell, wie es für die Untersuchung der Effekte von Lander-Schatten auf die Untergrundtemperaturen benutzt wird. Links: Schematischer Modellaufbau. Rechts: Resultierende Temperaturstörungen zwei Marsjahre nach der Landung.

 

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Spohn, T., A.J. Ball, K. Seiferlin, V. Conzelmann, A. Hagermann, N.I. Kömle, G. Kargl, 2001. A heat flow and physical properties package for the surface of Mercury, Plan. Space Sci., 49, 14-15, 1571-1577.
  • Spohn, T., K. Seiferlin, A. Hagermann, J. Knollenberg, A.J. Ball, M. Banaszkiewicz, J. Benkhoff, S. Gadomski, W. Gregorczyk, J. Grygorczuk, M. Hlond, G. Kargl, E. Kührt, N. Kömle, J. Krasowski, W. Marczewski, J.C. Zarnecki, 2007. Mupus – A Thermal and Mechanical Properties Probe for the Rosetta Lander Philae Space Sci. Rev., 128, 1-4, 339-362, doi:10.1007/s11214-006-9081-2.
  • Grott, M., J. Helbert and R. Nadalini, 2007. The thermal structure of Martian soil and the measurability of the planetary heat flow. J. Geophys. Res., 112, E09004, doi:10.1029/2007JE002905.
  • Grott, M., 2008. Thermal disturbances caused by lander shadowing and the measurability of the martian planetary heat flow. Planetary and Space Science (57), Elsevier, S. 71 - 77, DOI 10.1016/j.pss.2008.11.005

URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/pf/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4888/8113_read-13245/