Microgravity User Support Center (MUSC)



 

Rosetta Lander (PHILAE) Control Center
.
Columbus (ISS) Control Center

The Microgravity User Support Center (MUSC) in Cologne is a co-operative facility of two scientific institutes, Aerospace Medicine, Materials Science and Space Operations and Astronaut Training. MUSC operates major equipment for the scientific use of space in the disciplines of materials science, biological and extraterrestrial sciences and technology. The center qualifies space experiments for their certification of flight readiness, supports operation during flight with the necessary infrastructure (e.g. with on ground science reference models of flight units, and ground support computing systems) and after each successful mission makes archived data accessible for users throughout Europe. In parallel, future mission targets are being investigated and development of new experimental and measurement processes takes place. Concerning data system development, user-oriented command, data acquisition and archiving systems for space experiments are provided.

MUSC runs two control centers, the PHILAE Control Center (LCC) and the ISS Control Center for facility operations on board the International Space Station (ISS).

The control center for the comet Lander PHILAE commenced operations on March 2nd, 2004 with the successful launch of the European ROSETTA mission. Over the long period of the piggyback flight on the parent probe ROSETTA and for the comet landing foreseen to be on 12.11.2014, the PHILAE Control Center (LCC) is responsible for the operation of the Lander. After PHILAE lands on the comet surface, LCC will support the scientists by remotely controlling experiments.

The International Space Station (ISS) is the world’s largest research facility for experiments under microgravity conditions. The ground infrastructure required for the scientific utilization of ISS facilities is distributed over various European User Support and Operations Centers (USOCs). With emphasis on the disciplines of biological sciences and materials physics, the MUSC in Cologne implemented the German USOC for support of research under microgravity conditions on board the ISS. Besides this, pilot experiments are tested on short-term microgravity missions in order to develop new facility concepts.


Contact
Prof. Dr. Rainer Willnecker
German Aerospace Center

Space Operations and Astronaut Training

Tel: +49 2203 601-3563

Fax: +49 2203 61471

E-Mail: Rainer.Willnecker@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4535/7529_read-11300/

Nutzerzentrum für Weltraumexperimente (MUSC)



 

Rosetta Lander (PHILAE) Kontrollzentrum
.
Anlagenkontrollzentrum für die Internationale Raumstation (ISS)

Das Nutzerzentrum für Weltraumexperimente (MUSC) in Köln ist ein Zusammenschluss aus zwei wissenschaftlichen Instituten, Raumfahrtmedizin, Materialphysik im Weltraum und der Einrichtung Raumflugbetrieb und Astronautentraining. Das MUSC betreibt Großgeräte zur wissenschaftlichen Nutzung des Weltraums in den Disziplinen Materialwissenschaften, Biowissenschaften, Technologie und Extraterrestrik. Im MUSC werden Weltraumexperimente für die Zertifizierung ihrer Flugbereitschaft qualifiziert, die Missionsdurchführungen mit geeigneter Bodeninfrastruktur (z.B. mittels Bodenmodellen der Fluganlagen und Bodenrechner) betreut und nach erfolgreicher Mission die Daten in europäischen Archiven veröffentlicht. Parallel werden zukünftige Missionsgelegenheiten vorbereitet und neue Experiment- und Messverfahren entwickelt. Im Bereich der Datensystementwicklung werden nutzerorientierte Steuerungs- und Datenerfassungssysteme für Weltraumexperimente bereitgestellt.

Im MUSC werden zwei Kontrollzentren betrieben, das PHILAE Kontrollzentrum und das Anlagenkontrollzentrum für die Internationale Raumstation (ISS).

Das Kontrollzentrum für die Kometenlandesonde PHILAE hat seinen Betrieb im MUSC am 2. März 2004 mit dem erfolgreichen Start der europäischen Mission ROSETTA aufgenommen. Während des Langzeitfluges der Sonde auf dem ROSETTA Orbiter und der im Jahr 2014 geplanten Kometenlandung ist das Kontrollzentrum verantwortlich für die Steuerung der Sonde und wird die beteiligten Wissenschaftler bei den ferngesteuerten Experimentdurchführungen betreuen.

Die Internationale Raumstation (ISS) ist die größte Forschungsplattform für Experimente unter reduzierter Schwerkraft. Die Bodeninfrastruktur für die wissenschaftliche Nutzung der ISS-Anlagen wird von Europäischen Raumfahrtnutzer-Unterstützungszentren (USOCs) betrieben. Im MUSC entstand mit Schwerpunkt auf die Disziplinen Biowissenschaften und Materialwissenschaften das deutsche USOC für die Forschung unter Schwerelosigkeit auf der ISS. Zudem werden Pilot-Experimente auf Kurzzeit-Missionen durchgeführt, um neue Anlagen-Konzepte zu entwickeln.


Kontakt
Prof. Dr. Rainer Willnecker
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumflugbetrieb und Astronautentraining

Tel: +49 2203 601-3563

Fax: +49 2203 61471

E-Mail: Rainer.Willnecker@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4535/7529_read-11300/