Parabolic Flights

Preparations for the utilisation of ISS



Airbus A300 (Foto: Novespace)
.
Tempus (Foto: Novespace)
.
Tempus (Foto: Novespace)
.

In the MUSC, space experiments are qualified for their certification of flight readiness, their operation during flight is supported with the necessary infrastructure (e.g. with science reference models on ground, and ground support computing systems) and post successful mission, data is publicised in European archives. In parallel, future mission targets are being investigated and development of new experimental and measurement processes takes place. Concerning data systems, user-oriented data acquisition and command systems for experiments in space are provided.

The International Space Station, currently nearing its completion, is already the worlds largest research facility for experiments under microgravity conditions. The ground infrastructure required for the scientific utilisation of ISS facilities is distributed over various European User Support and Operations Centers (USOCs). Besides this, pilot experiments are tested on short-term microgravity missions in order to develop new facility concepts. With emphasis on the disciplines of bioscience and materials physics, the MUSC in Cologne is currently expanding the German USOC for support of research under microgravity conditions onboard the ISS.

In the frame of scientific and technological preparations of space station utilisation, various European parabolic flight campaigns with an Airbus A300 were conducted. Among others, a new method for electromagnetic levitation was verified, which is planned to be used in the European module in the future. Using the same method, initial scientific experiments under microgravity conditions could be carried out. The focus of these tests was to answer questions of materials science concerning the physical properties of alloy melts relevant to technical applications.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4536/7433_read-11192/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Tempus - Tiegelfreies Elektromagnetisches Prozessieren unter Schwerelosigkeit (http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4536/7433_read-11201/usetemplate-print/)
Liquid Diffusion under Low gravity III (http://www.dlr.de/rb/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4536/7433_read-11199/usetemplate-print/)

Parabelflüge

Vorbereitung zur Raumstationsnutzung



Airbus A300 (Foto: Novespace)
.
Tempus (Foto: Novespace)
.
Tempus (Foto: Novespace)
.

Im MUSC werden Weltraumexperimente für die Zertifizierung ihrer Flugbereitschaft qualifiziert, die Missionsdurchführungen mit geeigneter Bodeninfrastruktur (z.B. mittels Bodenmodellen der Fluganlagen und Bodenrechner) betreut und nach erfolgreicher Mission die Daten in europäischen Archiven veröffentlicht. Parallel werden zukünftige Missionsgelegenheiten vorbereitet und neue Experiment- und Messverfahren entwickelt. Im Bereich der Datensystementwicklungen werden nutzerorientierte Steuerungs- und Datenerfassungssysteme für Weltraumexperimente bereitgestellt.

Die im Aufbau befindliche Internationale Raumstation (ISS) wird zukünftig die größte Forschungsplattform für Experimente unter reduzierter Schwerkraft werden. Zur Vorbereitung der wissenschaftlichen Nutzung der ISS wird derzeit in Europa die notwendige Bodeninfrastruktur definiert und aufgebaut, daneben werden Pilotexperimente auf Kurzzeitmissionen unter Schwerelosigkeit getestet und neue Anlagenkonzepte entwickelt. Im MUSC in Köln wird mit Schwerpunkt auf die Disziplinen Biowissenschaften und Materialwissenschaften ein deutsches Nutzerunterstützungszentrum für die Forschung unter Schwerelosigkeit im Hinblick auf die ISS ausgebaut.

Im Rahmen der wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Vorbereitungen der Raumstationsnutzung wurden verschiedene europäische Parabelflugkampagnen mit einem Airbus A300 genutzt. Es konnte u.a. ein neues elektromagnetisches Levitationsverfahren verifiziert werden, das zukünftig im europäischen Raumstationsmodul zum Einsatz kommen soll. Mit dem gleichen System konnten erste wissenschaftliche Experimente unter den Bedingungen reduzierter Schwerkraft erfolgreich durchgeführt werden. Materialwissenschaftliche Fragestellungen über die physikalischen Eigenschaften von Schmelzen anwendungsrelevanter Legierungen standen im Mittelpunkt der Untersuchungen.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4536/7433_read-11192/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Tempus - Tiegelfreies Elektromagnetisches Prozessieren unter Schwerelosigkeit (http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4536/7433_read-11201/usetemplate-print/)
Liquid Diffusion under Low gravity III (http://www.dlr.de/rb/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4536/7433_read-11199/usetemplate-print/)